Highlights

I complain a lot about the symptoms of pregnancy, but I’d also like to point out there have been a lot of highlights.  The main one of course being pregnant.  At all.  It seemed unreal when we first saw a heartbeat, especially for a procedure I had no hope whatsoever would work (our 2nd IVF was converted to our 4th IUI).  Seeing the baby get noticeably bigger each ultrasound.  Seeing it move for the first time on the screen.  Feeling it move and actually knowing that it was the baby and not gas.  Seeing my stomach move on the outside.  And just this week, Troy felt it on the outside for just a split second for the first time.

But some side effects are overwhelming, like the intense nausea I battled the first 4 1/2 months.  And the side-effects of the cures can be just as bad, like the constipation that the nausea relief (Zofran) brings.  Despite a regimented routine of 2 Colace and 2 prunes a day, sometimes the constipation gets really bad and I’ll go days without relief.

BFF Judy and I finally set a date to hang out together and go Christmas shopping on the 17th.  It’s our tradition every year – we spend a day together, eat out, get our nails done.  Even though we do exchange little gifts, it’s really the time together that is our gift to each other.  But this year it’s been extra hard to carve the time out.  In fact, we could only manage half a day, Friday morning.  I half-seriously whined, “every time we make plans to get together you blow me off to go out with your younger, hipper friends.”

Now to be fair, we both just went through a move.  And she has to leave Friday afternoon to meet up with her niece, who is getting married the next day.  And we live on opposite ends of town.  And we’re both in really different places in our lives – but we always have been, really.  Judy is 8 years older than me, and she had her son young.  When we first met 15ish years ago, I was a swinging single that just wanted to get out there and meet a guy and she was a single mom going through a very humiliating divorce.  Now, the tables have turned – I’m the one who just wants to stay home and go to bed early, and Judy is the swinging single.  Her son has left for college, and in the past year she lost 60 lbs and damn, she looks hot.  So she SHOULD be out there partying with her more energetic peeps!

Judy’s highlights over the past week:  hearing a new band that absolutely rocked; catching a late movie she’d wanted to see with her young, hot, body-building roommate; going out with girlfriends for a massage; having friends from out of town stay for a few days; winning $250 at bingo then having the group thrown out of the bingo hall for partying too loud.

When today marked my 5th day since my last moment of relief, out of desperation I ate 6 prunes and took 3 Colace.   Finally, gruesome, painful, sweet, heavenly relief.  And then I realized,

My highlight of the week:  pooping.

Run, Judy, run!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aisha
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 16:44:39

    Constipation afflicted me too. What helped: Activia yogurt and prunes. Activia takes a few weeks to really see the effects of, but once you do? MAGIC- and I even stopped the activia after about 6 weeks and the benefits remained. My friends swear by flax seed- I just never did it but I’m sure its great.

    And hey- I felt guilty about not loving pregnancy ( I actually had expected to love it ) but we did not want to get pregnant to be pregnant, we wanted to get pregnant to have a BABY- its okay if you don’t like being nauseous, constipated, having acid reflux, indigestion etc etc etc. lol

    Almost there!!!!! :0D

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 10:23:26

      I don’t know why, I totally thought pregnancy was going to be all sparkles and rainbows. I had no idea how hard it was! Maybe it’s because I’m older. But you have a really good point – it’s the baby that was my goal, not pregnancy! You’re totally right!
      And there are parts of it I love, like feeling the baby move, getting excited as I get bigger…;)

      Reply

  2. Pie
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 17:07:36

    LOL! Ahh, how our priorities shift. Downing tequilla shots at a bar versus downing prune juice in your bathroom? Eh, I’d take the bathroom at this point in my life too. I think its the “been-there-done-that” phenomenon, like you I had my party days when I was young, and now am happy to be at home, and your friend had the opposite.

    And it’s amazing, isn’t it, how your bowels can really affect your whole outlook on life? Yogurt is a good thing too.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 10:41:45

      I’m definitely picking up yogurt at the grocery store this weekend! I miss the idea of crazy girls’ night out with tequila shots, but the thought of actual alcohol doesn’t appeal at all! And I’m a girl who LOVED a great Mexican Martini! Things are definitely a-changin’!

      Reply

  3. Low Fat Lady
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 17:11:24

    LOL glad you finally got some relief. I have ibs so I’m kinda looking forward to the constipation to see if I can eat more salads and things with fiber.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 10:43:53

      I wonder if that would work or if the same foods would still irritate your tummy? It would be awesome if you got to try some new things for a few months!

      Reply

  4. lifebytheday
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 17:12:27

    LOL!! Sorry hun…but thanks for the laugh! 😉

    Reply

  5. My Bumpy Journey
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 21:05:01

    It is funny how the priorites shift huh? I hope she does understand. 😦 I am all for the hightlight of any day being POOPING. LOOL

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 10:46:28

      She really does understand. I miss spending time with her, but I’m so glad she’s really getting to enjoy life! After many hard years, she really deserves it! And she’s always there for me!

      Reply

  6. sweet georgia
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 10:29:24

    Thanks for the laugh! I can relate to the shifting priorities and have to say I’m in full on nesting mode at the moment – I don’t really want to go anywhere.

    Enjoy your half day together!

    Reply

  7. Katie
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 23:27:33

    I didn’t have sparkles and rainbows during my pregnancy! All that hard work to get pregnant and then it’s even MORE discomfort and pain?! Ah well, it’s so worth it in the end. I’m loving following your journey and can’t believe how fast it seems to go!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 11, 2010 @ 00:05:37

      It DOES seem fast all of the sudden, doesn’t it? All those years of waits … waiting for AF to start, two week waits, waiting for the next test results … now it seems to be hurtling forward. It’s a nice change, though. 🙂

      Reply

  8. wopchr
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 21:30:42

    Ok, I’m late, but just saying congrats on the fabulous pooping!

    I can’t wait to meet this baby!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

