95 Days

Tomorrow (Sunday) will be 6 1/2 months, or 95 days left.  I’m starting to think maybe I should be getting the nursery together …

I finally finished all of the unpacking and decorating the house since the move!  All of the pictures are hung, vases out, etc.  The last room to come together was the spare room (except for the nursery, which is still a work in progress).  Moo came along to keep the mattresses under control ’til we got the bed together.

I got this!

Why would you lay it flat?

See? It works just fine like this.

Later Mom, Dad and my nephews Cayle and Andon came by to help Troy and me decorate for Christmas.  We put up a big tree in the living room, reindeer and sleigh on the entertainment center, and my Willow Tree nativity on the fireplace.  Mom and I are HGTV addicts, and last year we loved it when they’d decorate for Christmas by hanging ornaments from the ceiling above the tree.  So we decided to try it this year.  It would’ve looked better if our ceilings were higher, but I think it’s really pretty!  We all had a blast doing it, anyways! 

Dad hung the ornaments from the ceiling with thumbtacks while Cayle, Andon and I tied the ornaments to the tacks with fishing line.  The sparkly balls kept bumping the side of Dad’s face, and by the end, he looked like he had dipped his head in glitter.  

Well, Andon mostly provided the comic relief.  I wish I had half his energy.

teddy bears on a sleigh ride

I just love reindeer and moose Christmas decorations.  I always get a great deal on them at Coldwater Creek after the holidays.  I also put up a shorter (4.5 ft) tree upstairs in the TV room.  Troy decorated it with all his favorite Star Trek, Star Wars and Simpsons ornaments.  They talk every so often, so we’ll be sitting there watching TV or just walking by and out of the blue the Borg will announce, “Have a Merry Christmas.  Resistance is futile.”  My poor child is doomed to geekdom.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 00:12:51

    You’re getting so close!!! I love the way you hung the ornaments from the ceiling- we may borrow that idea…. 🙂 And it cracks me up that your ornaments randomly talk. Too funny!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 01:18:01

      My favorite one they did on HGTV was hanging only white, silver and clear ornaments from the ceiling. It looked like it was snowing! So pretty! 🙂
      The tree upstairs always startles the crap out of me. Especially when Worf demands we have a Happy Holidays loudly in Klingon!

      Reply

  2. Kari
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 02:34:55

    OMG double digits!! Congrats!! I love the decorating!! I can’t wait to see nursery pictures when you begin.

    Reply

  3. Low Fat Lady
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 10:07:01

    Moo is too cute 😉 I love how he finds a way to sit on everything. Very pretty tree 😉

    Reply

  4. Pie
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 11:37:57

    How festive! I love the ornaments from the ceiling. You know I’m fully in support of getting that nursery done early – now that I know better, hahaha. Get cracking!

    And good kitty for being such a good helper. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 22:38:17

      Ever since reading your latest updates in the blog all I can think about is getting the nursery done! After work tomorrow Troy is going to hang the curtains. I gotta get Troy and his step-dad Jim motivated to get the shelf built next!

      Reply

  5. linds
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 14:39:19

    I love the pics of Moo – sooo cute! 🙂
    And the Christmas decorations are fabulous – I need to get started!!

    Reply

  6. Aisha
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 00:01:35

    I spent my entire pregnancy so terrified I did not decorate my nursery- and you know what? Once your little babe is here you will be TOO BUSY to have time to do it, so I am applauding your wisdom- decorate now! Once you’re deep in the third trimester- you will be toooo exhausted to even consider decorating! (at least I was).

    PS: Thank you for the hearty belly laugh thanks to your comment on my last post! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 07, 2010 @ 14:47:14

      And to think I used to carry around my husband’s old Blackbery in a ziplock baggie ’cause the keys would fall off. I’d stick ’em back in to make a call. Now I can’t live without my fancy/schmancy iPhone! 🙂
      We’ve got the budget set to finish the nursery in January. I’m getting excited to see it all done!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

