Big High, Pathetic Low

My last post (Week 21) was supposed to go up a week ago, but for some reason, wordpress stuck it in my ‘Draft’ file and I didn’t realize it ’til Saturday.  So it’s actually been a week since then.

Friday was the big Anatomy Scan!  Woohoo!  It was so awesome.  Everything checks out ok!  All the necessary organs were there, no signs of a cleft palate or club feet or any of those things I never even thought about looking for.  They were really sweet about avoiding the whole gender issue for me, but I know everyone was looking and trying to figure it out! 

Mom, Dad, Troy and Troy’s mom Marilyn all came.  We looked so funny all filing in the room together!  Other couples gave us a funny look.  I guess it’s not usually a big family affair. 🙂  Of all of them, I’m so, so excited my dad got to be there.  He’s never seen a baby on an ultrasound before!  He kept asking questions and talking the whole time.  We’re lucky we got such a patient u/s tech!  He was so mesmerized!  I’m so happy he got to be a part of it. 

We brought the wrong kind of DVD’s to the appointment, but they were so sweet to give us one and make a DVD for us.  Troy made copies for everyone.  When I get home tonight, I’ll make a post of it and you can just skip that post if you’d like to.  Without asking me, Troy posted clips of it on FB.  I don’t FB much, so I didn’t even think about it, but it freaked me out a little.  I’m so glad he’s so excited about the baby, but it just seems to be tempting fate, you know?  I think I’m just being paranoid.

Does anyone know when the 3rd trimester starts?  I was so focused on getting to the second, I didn’t even think about the 3rd.  I’ll have to google it.  ‘Cause Google knows everything, right?

So … my pathetic low … I had my first all-out pregnancy hormone melt-down.  We’re still unpacking and the house looks a lot better but it still feels chaotic to me.  I’m anal, so having a messy house really distracts me.  Add to that, we’ve had company every weekend for about two months now.  We needed it – I couldn’t have made it through this move without my mom helping us pack and dad organizing the movers and all the help Troy’s parents have given us.  But I guess I was getting more overwhelmed than I realized.

I also managed to twist my right knee somehow, so it taking me longer than ever to do simple things.  Reaching the floor is an almost impossible goal right now.  I asked Troy to help with picking up and keeping the house clean and the laundry so I could get some unpacking done.  His focus is on his study and the garage – his two major hang-outs.  So the rest of the house is pretty much my responsibility.  But it seemed like every time I got up, I had to start with picking up his socks, putting mulitiple pairs of shoes away, doing his dishes, the laundry …. all those things took all my energy, so I just couldn’t get to unpacking.

It was ugly.  I actually THREW flip-flops.  I’ve never thrown anything!  I told him if I was going to be a full-time maid to a 40 year old man who couldn’t pick up his own shoes, I was quitting working.  There was much yelling and hysterical crying.  WAY over-blown for the actual subject matter.  Absolutely embarrassing.

Fortunately, I have a sweet husband who apologized and took the blame for everything.  And I betcha he’ll pick up his own flip-flops for a while. 🙂  Mom came over later with my nephew Cayle and we organized the garage and cooked hot dogs on the grill.  It turned out to be a really nice evening.  I confided in mom that I’d had a completely over-blown hormonal response to a minor spat, and she just said, “Oh, honey, just wait – it all happens again when you go through menopause.” 

Later while we were getting ready for bed I told Troy what mom said.  He just froze for a minute then said, “I love you babe, but I may have to leave you about then.”  Poor guy.  I’m sure there’ll be more to come…he’ll leave those dirty socks on the living room coffee table again eventually…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lifebytheday
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 14:23:22

    LOL, I love it! And I’m so impressed you made it to week 21 before having a meltdown!! I’ve already had two 😉

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 08, 2010 @ 15:03:56

      lol you know, it’s so embarrassing now I don’t think I could’ve had the guts to post about it if you all hadn’t led the way … 😉 Good to know I’m not crazy all by myself!:)

      Reply

  2. Amber
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 16:24:14

    I can’t exactly remember how many times I was crazy during pregnancy and those fits have been worse since I had Paisley. So don’t feel bad! Your hormones are out-of-control right now… 🙂

    I’m glad the ultrasound went well and there were no parts shown that you didn’t want to see!

    Reply

  3. Katie
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 17:13:42

    Aww.. first melt-down! Sorry to say that it most likely will happen again BEFORE menopause. Just wait until baby is here and you’ve got hormones PLUS no sleep. It’s a doozy! Glad to hear the scan went well!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 08, 2010 @ 17:39:04

      Argh! Please tell me it gets better, not worse! I fear what’ll happen when I’m sleep-deprived. I’m a cranky, cranky girl when I don’t get my 8 hours!

      Reply

  4. babybaker
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 18:27:37

    congrats on a great scan! i’m glad there were no indicators of gender given away!

    don’t worry about the meltdown. you are entitled to a few of those in your hormonal state! you’re growing a human!

    Reply

  5. Jessica
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 18:30:51

    Glad the scan went well and the baby is healthy!! I have meltdowns like that and I can’t blame it on pregnancy maybe I’ll just blame it on all the meds pumping through my system!! LOL!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 09, 2010 @ 12:36:36

      Oh, girl, you should’ve seen the meltdowns when I was on Clomid! It was bizarre! Fortunately the Gonal F didn’t hit me the same way. I don’t think Troy could’ve gone on trying as long as we did if all the drugs made me react the way Clomid did!

      Reply

  6. Low Fat Lady
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 18:44:36

    Yea for a good scan 🙂

    Reply

  7. Aisha
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 23:11:47

    Great high!!!! Yay on a healthy baby- may God watch over you and your budding new family. And for the low- your’e pregnant hon- its the one time we’re totally ALLOWED to act that way, its okay 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

