Week 21

21 Weeks!  It still seems unreal.  Got to see the baby last week, and all looks good!  It was wiggling so much, they had to chase it around to catch the heartbeat.  This Friday is the big anatomy scan!  Even though we don’t want to find out the gender, I can’t wait to get a good long look at it.  I still can’t feel it – I sometimes feel a funny, rolling feeling that is probably it, but I can’t be sure.  It’s probably due to my size.  Hopefully I’ll really start feeling it soon.  So the ultrasounds are especially nice since I still don’t have movements to reassure me.  My folks and my MIL are going to get to come, as well as Troy.  I’m so excited – MIL hasn’t seen it since it was just a couple months, and dad has never seen a baby on a sonogram. 

The nausea and constipation have let up quite a bit.  I’m still consistent with the prunes and Colace every day, but the Zofran is just intermittent now, maybe every other day instead of twice a day.  My OB Dr. Breen sent me to see a GI doc, and he reassured me that the Pepcid was the best choice and was perfectly safe for the baby.  I do still have to take it religiously twice a day.  Even if I have a good day with now heartburn or burping, if I don’t take it, I’ll be up in the middle of the night with the pain and burning.  Sometimes it gets so bad it starts the vomiting, but as long as I keep up with the doses I feel pretty normal.

We’re finally officially moved into the new house!  It feel so big!  The cats and dogs just tear up and down the stairs after each other.  The Frenchies are so top-heavy, they pretty much roll down the stairs.  It’s just too funny!  One of the hard parts of moving is they have a limit on how many pets we can have.  Two of our Abyssinian cats, Poppy and Annie, are actually my parents’ cats.  They brought them to stay with us when they had to evacuate due to hurricane Katrina, and for one reason or another, they’ve ended up staying with us ever since.  I asked my folks if they’d be able to take them back, and they were willing.  But my brother’s kids just adore Annie, so Chris and Joanne (brother and SIL) decided to take her.  And my FIL Jim and Poppy have this weird bond.  Whenenver they visit, she’s all over him, all the time, and he loves it!  He’s been hinting that he wants her for years, so he was ecstatic to get to finally take her home with him!  He’s retired, and she’s going to be spoiled rotten, having her own human pamper her all day long.  I sure do miss having the two of them around the house, but I couldn’t have hoped for better homes.

So now we’re down to adopted kitty Moo, my Abby Lila (who is 10 now!), and Frenchies Dude and Dobby.  I miss fostering kittens, too!  Hopefully we can get back to it after the baby is born.  For now, Troy is irritated enough with having all the poop-scooping duties, so he put a temporary hold on fostering.

On Sunday we saw the new zombie series on AMC, The Walking Dead.  I LOVE me a good zombie movie – now I get a whole series!  So cool!  I loved it!  Other than the occasional Pawn Stars, Family Guy or Psych, I never seem to get to watch TV anymore.  I guess it’ll be good practice for when the baby comes.

Speaking of, I have a crib!  And a changing table!  Oh – and a rocking chair!  The first two are from Jim n Marilyn (FIL and MIL).  They’re garage sale experts, and I think that’s where they got them.  I LOVE them!  The rocking chair is my mom’s that she brought back from when we lived in the Philippines.  I’m gonna get some red cushions for it.  All I need now is a dresser!  Jim and Troy are going to make one of those cube shelves, and I’m going to get red and white baskets to go in some of the cubes.  I love it that it’ll be made by family with love! 🙂

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meinsideout
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 05:12:23

    So happy for you! Things sound marvelous! Now how about some belly pics?

    Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 06:07:05

    Glad things are going well with the pregnancy and the new house. You should post some pics of your house. My husband put walking dead on our dvr. We haven’t watched it yet though.

    Reply

  3. Hope
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 06:52:19

    Thanks for the support. I spoke to the OOP at UHC and it looks like I’m going to get it worked out. Yay! Why do you have to switch fertility Dr’s? Is this something I need to start thinking about now? Cause I think we’re going to try for #2 at around 6 months.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 06, 2010 @ 20:58:39

      We’re on the same timetable! I’ll be forty shortly after the baby is born, and I’d like to start trying for #2 before I turn 41. Argh, it sounds so pretentious to say that. I’m really not convinced I’m going to make it home with the first one! Still doesn’t seem real.
      United’s explanation is that the Tx Fertility Center uses an andrology/embryology lab, Austin IVF, that is out-of-network. Apparently, up ’til now, they were the only lab in Austin so we were re-imbursed at the in-network level. Now a new IF center has opened up, and they offer andrology services in Austin, so if we still want to use our benefits we have to switch. And frankly, without insurance’s help, there’ll be no #2! So actually, all of that is Austin-specific so I’m thinkin’ you don’t have anything to worry about.

      Reply

  4. Kari
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 15:23:15

    Hooray!! Can’t wait to hear about Friday!! That was my favorite u/s!! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:00:17

      This update was actually supposed to post on Tuesday the 2nd, but for some reason wordpress put it in my ‘Draft’ file instead of posting it and I didn’t realize it ’til today! So actually, I’ve had the anatomy scan, and it was awesome! I’ll post about it shortly.

      Reply

  5. wopchr
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 18:35:46

    So I’m driving today and a car pulls up next to me at the stoplight and the plates said “IMSTACY” and it so made me think of you and wonder how you were doing and then I saw your update!
    Pictures of house, please?
    Pictures of you, please?
    🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:02:05

      You shoulda tailed her ’til she got out of the car then stole her plates for me! Everybody just wants to be me… 😉 Oh well, she spelled her name wrong. 🙂
      I’ll do pics tomorrow, I promise!

      Reply

  6. Aisha
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 19:47:52

    Just love hearing these happy updates from you STacey- yay yay yay- youv’e been my IF sister since the beginning and it brings me no small measure of joy to read these awesome updates from you.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:03:29

      It still seems like I’m writing about someone else’s life. Doesn’t seem like it could be me! 🙂 We need new Waleed pics on your blog! Most adorable, pinch-able cheeks, ever! 🙂

      Reply

  7. Jessica
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 20:30:26

    Glad you are feeling better and the baby is doing well!!

    Reply

  8. babybaker
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 18:38:25

    sounds like everything is falling into place perfectly! so happy for you! i can’t wait to hear about friday’s scan! so exciting!

    Reply

  9. athena
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 08:15:26

    woohooo!! 😀 hooray for moving! hooray for your anatomy scan!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

