Promised Pics

My new-to-me Kia!  It’s sparkly chocolate brown and reminds me of those little Hershey’s Nugget chocolates.

The only thing I really wanted in a new car was plenty of room for a car seat and at least 3 adults (me, Troy and mom), a built-in connection for my iPod and four doors.  My old Ford only had 2 doors and I figured that was going to be a pain in the ass with a car seat.  Fortunately our new car had all that and more!  I had never considered leather seats or a sunroof.  They just didn’t seem necessary.  But since I peed myself while puking and driving, I’m a fan of leather seats.  And sunroofs are the awesomest car inventions, ever!  The weather in Texas is just perfect these days for opening the sunroof and windows and cranking up the tunes while commuting.  Note the sunroof – and ignore the cranky husband who is trying to tell me, get in the car already or we’ll be late!

Little does he know, he’s sitting right where I peed the day before. So there, Grumpy.  (It took me a few days to admit to this event, even to hubby.)

Here we are on the way to Port Aransas.  We forgot to leave space for the doggies on the way to the vet, so they were completely squished in by my feet.  They love to board at the vet’s – the staff treats them like superstars while they’re there.

Are we there yet?

The view from our favorite room at the hotel.  Every time we go I wonder, “Why don’t we live here?”

Just a skip and a jump to the beach

Troy and Dad took a charter boat trip to go deep sea fishing with about 30 other people.  They had a great time!

the harbor at dawn

the boat they took out to fish

dawn from the boat

Dad caught 4 fish!

After a long day at sea 🙂

Since Troy didn’t catch any fish during the fishing boat trip, he decided to fish from shore.  We headed to the local bait shop for fresh bait.  The clerk didn’t want to part with any of the bait so we had to wait for the humans to show up. 🙂  They said the cats just sit on the side of the tanks and scoop out little fish and shrimp, which is why they’re just the biggest cats I’ve ever seen!

What bait? I'm not telling you where it is...

Then we headed for the shore where I settled in the surf to soak up some sun and Troy’s fruitless effort to catch a fish carried on…

With all these poles, the fish are mine!

Finally we got hungry and decided to head back to the room.  Troy handed me a rod to reel in while he put another one away.  When he came back, I gave him the rod and said that I hadn’t been able to finish reeling the line in, that it was really hard to turn the handle.  He rolled his eyes, started to reel in the line himself, then realized it was hard to reel in ’cause there was a fish on the line!  Just as the fish got to the surf it managed to escape the hook.  Poor Troy, he’s just not meant to catch fish.

On the way home, we remembered to leave room for the puppies on top of all the crap in the back of the car!

Whatcha got to snack on in the ice chest?

Now, it’s all packing, all the time.  This Saturday is the final move!  We’ll officially be in our new home!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The baby baker
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 08:35:14

    Glad you enjoyed your trip!

    P.S. I want a car that reminds me of Hershey chocolates! Sorry you peed while puking. 🙂 Everything worked out with the leather seats, thankfully!

    Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 16:28:46

    Cute car and cute puppies. Looks like a fun weekend.

    Reply

  3. katery
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 21:43:36

    belly picture belly picture belly picture!!! i demand a belly picture!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Oct 19, 2010 @ 10:41:58

      My belly just looks like I’ve been eating too many meals at Sonic lately. Wait, I HAVE been eating too many meals at Sonic lately! Mmmm, sweet tea and cheese fries make me happy….

      Reply

  4. katery
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 13:34:39

    no way jose, that’s a baby belly! i did some of mine with a shirt covering it because i was self conscious and that made me feel a little better:
    http://katery.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/stomach-picture/

    but by the end, iiiiiiiiiiii really didn’t give a crap anymore!
    http://katery.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/full-term/

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 06, 2010 @ 02:35:07

      I need to take pics, and I keep meaning to! Honestly, the only thing that’s got me behind is the move. I’m so tired all the time! But with the holidays coming up, we’ll start taking more pics, I know!

      Reply

  5. My Bumpy Journey
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 22:29:03

    LOL about the peeing and the DH sitting there. 🙂 Love the new car, and sunroofs are lovely. Living in Florida, I find I use mine more in the colder months. the sunshine and a heater- super. 🙂
    I love the photos!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

