Lack-of-Labor Day

Labor Day was a wonderful day of lolling and gagging.  All the lolling really helped keep all the gagging to a minimun.  If only I could loll like that every day … *sigh*

The nausea is marginally better but still gets the best of me at least once a day.  I feel really bad about this, but on Friday and Saturday nights I had to break a tablet in two and take half a tablet.  I work the night shift those two nights, and I couldn’t stop puking long enough to get my work done.  The half a tablet helped tremendously, but the bottle says only take one a day (I take one when I wake up) so I’m really nervous I’ve done somethign bad.  I’ll talk to the doc about it tomorrow at my next appointment.  In the meantime, I’m temporarily giving up chicken noodle soup.  I just can’t stand to throw up any more of it.  I’m moving on to tomato soup for now.  The stain risk goes way up with tomato but at least it’s a break from flying noodles.

Troy cooked a brisket all night long Sunday night and it was absolute perfection Monday morning.  I made Reese’s peanut butter cup brownies, and in the afternoon we moseyed over to my little brother’s to hang by the pool with them, my folks, and my brother’s wife’s family.  They’re a good bunch and we had such a great time relaxing and visiting.  Made it home in time to eat left-overs while watching Bachelor Pad in bed.  I’m so disappointed with the way they eliminated the girls last night!  They should’ve had them duke it out over a real challenge, or even had the boys spin the bottle around the group of girls and have to pick their female teammate that way.  The show feels a little lame (or lamer?) now.  At least next week is the finale.

Operation Constipation Relief has been a success!  I swear I have to be down at least 15lbs by now!  I started with 2 Colace pills and two prunes a day, when all the sudden, it was like someone finally took out the cork (sorry for the mental image).  Now I’m going with 1 Colace each morning and a bowl of high-fiber cereal for breakfast, and 1 prune each evening, and I seem to have found the perfect path to regularity.  Such a relief, I can’t even tell you.

Tomorrow is my next OB appt!  This time tomorrow I’ll be checking out the little one on the fuzzy screen!  I know they may try to just do the heartbeat on the doppler, but I’m holding out for a real u/s.  I think the doc will take pity on me.  Especially after I talk to him about the nausea issues. BFF Judy is going with me tomorrow.  Troy might be able to meet me there.  He’s taking a sick day – unfortunately, on Sunday his driver’s side window just went ‘flop!’ and fell down inside the door.  Turns out, the motor that raises the window up and down is dead.  The dealership quoted us $350 for parts and labor, but fortunately my brilliant husband was able to find video instructions online on how to replace the window.  We ordered the part and it should be in tonight.  Unfortunately, Storm Hermine just hit our normally so-hot-and-dry-you-can-fry-an-egg-on-the-driveway Austin, and it’s been pouring since last night.  Still, $95 for a part instead of $350 is a bargain, even if we do have to drive with ghetto plastic on the window for a coupla days.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fallenangel39
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 15:58:46

    Great blog!!Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

  2. Pie
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 17:16:54

    so glad the colace helped. i swear by the stuff! good luck tomorrow!!!

    Reply

  3. Kari
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 20:01:32

    Yay for not being stopped up anymore!! Can’t wait to hear about your appointment tomorrow!!

    Reply

  4. Sweet G
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:54:09

    Hope you got your u/s today and that eveyrthing looked good! Glad to hear you’re not all stopped up anymore.. it’s so uncomfortable.

    Reply

  5. katery
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:26:31

    are you talking about zofran? because i’m pretty sure i took it every six hours when i was pregnant (as prescribed) so don’t feel like you’ve done something bad. i would rethink the tomato soup if i were you, tomatoes are very acidic and acidic things tend to be very unpleasant on the way back out (ever barfed up oj?).

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:05:10

      the doc upped my zofran to 2 pills a day (every 12 hrs). omg, it’s made a HUGE difference! I don’t always need the afternoon dose, and sometimes I just break it in half, but it’s helped so much having it in the evening when I need it!
      oh, how I wish I’d read your advice before switching to tomato soup! You were so right! Now I’m on to chicken and rice soup. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Stacey
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 16:22:30

    We got lots of rain from Hermine, but later I heard about the really bad weather (tornadoes/flooding) in Dallas and Austin. Hope you fared well throughout all those storms!

    Curious to know how your appointment went!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:07:02

      the dogs had to swim out to the backyard to pee for a few days, but we were still able to get in and out of the neighborhood! Of course, hubby’s car window broke – during the ONLY rainy days Austin will ever see in a summer!

      Reply

  7. Aisha
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 22:28:03

    Just wanted to say I’m so happy for you. I know you’re feeling icky- but that just makes me even happier. Not for the ickiness ofcourse- but for the reason behind it. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:09:33

      I keep reminding myself of that while I carry my trust Home Depot bucket around the house with me! Hubby wants to burn it after all that throw-up, but I think it’s become my good luck charm. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

