Week 11

Feeling much calmer this week – probably because I’ve been sleeping most of it!  It helps that we have a plan in place to be financially prepared for a sudden move, if necessary, and an easy move in February if we end up going to the end of the lease.  I am a girl who likes a plan. 🙂

Pregnancy symptoms this week:  fatigue continues, occasional headaches, about 1 a week (pretty severe when they do occur, but if they get really bad I have Darvocet from OB), nausea (mostly in the morning, and fairly well controlled by Zofran) and constipation.  I have to admit, I’m so ready to make it to that much longed for next goal, the second trimester.  Now that I really do feel excited about being pregnant, I can’t wait to feel good and enjoy it! 

This Friday (the 27th) we have our genetic counseling appointment.  Troy is off so we can go together, and I can’t wait for him to see how much the baby has grown since the last time he was able to go to an ultrasound!  I want him to see it moving and wiggling. 🙂  From what I understand, they take detailed medical histories from both of us, then a blood sample from me that goes to a genetic testing lab, then they take very detailed measurements of the baby (and parts of the baby) by ultrasound.  Then we’ll be given a percent probability of having different genetic abnormalities, such as Down’s syndrome and Trisomy 18.  Although my age is a factor, we have no history on either side of any abnormalities, so although I’m always a little nervous about any results pertaining to the baby, I feel really good about the appointment.

We’ve also been considering options for a new car.  My poor old Ford Explorer Sport (2-door Explorer) is on it’s last legs.  The VW bus needs some work to be reliable.  Our plan for now is to get a decent downpayment together, and to trade in the Explorer and my husband’s old Ford Ranger truck (it doesn’t run) for something new (or new to us).  I still love SUV’s, but Troy is thinking seriously about a van.  My in-laws have gotten some really amazing deals on 3 different Kia’s over the past few years (for themselves and my sisters-in-law).  We might trade in the Fords for a Kia van.  Consumer Reports says it gets you the most vehicle for the money, and it was second in safety tests (tied with the Toyota) behind the Honda, and Hondas are a lot more expensive.  I was pretty surprised by this, I figured Kia’s were about as safe as wrapping your kid in tin foil and setting him in the middle of the road, but I’m coming around to the idea of a Kia.

Been watching Pawn Stars and Big Bang Theory all week.  I’m almost all caught up on Big Bang – which is good as I think it starts again this week!  I think we might’ve missed the premiere of Weeds but we’ll catch it on on-demand.  Still lovin’ True Blood every Sunday!  Much to Troy’s dismay, I do love me some Bachelor Pad on Monday nights.  I just finished catching up on the last seasons of Bones and United States of Tara (those night shifts on the weekends get really long…). 🙂

Not much else going on!  Hanging in there.  Lookin’ forward to a weekend at the beach in Port Aransas next month.  Can’t get here soon enough. 🙂

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. athena
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 11:13:30

    i’m seriously so freaking happy for both of us! 😀
    i feel way better.. still tired from noon till bedtime, but better! hope your headaches get better!! ❤

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 16:31:00

      That’s good to hear – hopefully the squicky stage will be over soon! Either way, I’m sooooo happy for us both, too! It’s so weird how different our stories were in the beginning (for me) – I was fully of hope and excitement, you were grieving giving up TTC and preparing for adoption. Then we both found our golden eggs on an off-chance that we didn’t think would work at all!

      Reply

  2. Kari
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 11:32:59

    Yay feeling better!! The genetic ultrasound was my ABSOLUTE favorite one, second only to the 3D/4D which wasn’t medically necessary. You’ll love it!! That was the one where DH said “Oh my gosh he looks just like a baby!!” 🙂 There’s so much detail and the growth is incredible!! Enjoy every second of it!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 16:34:28

      Oh, I just can’t wait! Not only do I really want to see the little peanut, but I’m just so excited for Troy to see it! It really looks like a baby now instead of a fuzzy blob!

      Reply

  3. Amber
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 14:37:41

    Bachelor Pad is one of our favorites! Glad to hear we aren’t alone. I’m with Kari- this was the neatest ultrasound and was so reassuring. Glad you’re almost out of the 1st trimester!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 16:36:03

      I have to admit, I’m the only one who likes Bachelor Pad! It’s poor Troy’s worst nightmare! He was so happy when The Bachelorette ended – and was completely traumatized when Bachelor Pad started the very next Monday. But he gets to pick the rest of the week (or we watch something we both like), so he can suffer through Monday nights. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Stacey
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 17:04:18

    You are moving right along! That second trimester is right around the corner. My nausea and exhaustion virtually disappeared when I hit 14 weeks and I felt like a new woman! 🙂 I did have some headaches in the second trimester, though.

    In regards to your last post, I wanted to tell you that I’ve been on medication for hypothyroidism for several years now. The only thing I was told about taking it during pregnancy was that I should space them out with the prenatal vitamins. I take the thyroid pill first thing in the AM and my vitamins a few hours before bed. Just FYI.

    Hope your appointment and tests all go very well this week! Thinking of you and so glad things are going well!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 25, 2010 @ 18:39:57

      It seems like it’s a lot more common that I ever would’ve thought! It’s a relief to me to know it’s not in any way harmful to the baby. I follow the same schedule with the pills. 🙂
      I can’t wait for the nausea and exhaustion to pass on, too! I hope that happens for me!

      Reply

  5. Myndi
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 15:50:32

    I just can’t believe you’re almost to the 2nd trimester! So excited for you! For your sake, I definitely hope you are the typical pregnant woman whose symptoms magically disappear after the 14th week. Almost there!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 26, 2010 @ 16:44:29

      I hope I am, too! I’m ready to enjoy this pregnancy!
      I can’t believe how far along you are now! It seems like you’re racing right through!

      Reply

  6. babybaker
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 18:27:38

    good luck tomorrow! and i can’t believe the the 2T is right around the corner!!! so happy for you!

    Reply

  7. katery
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 20:14:01

    hope everything went well, they didn’t take my husband’s blood when we had our nt scan, just mine at two different times.
    kia’s are actually pretty nice, we don’t have one but we do have a hyundai, i think both are made in korea, they both have great safety ratings, both have the ten year 100.000 mile warranty (i think) and both cost less than toyota (my favorite) and honda, i’d go for it, my next car will probably be a hyundai.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 11:46:42

      Hey, Katery! The nt scan went great! I’m excited to get all the results back! Hopefully everything will come back this week.
      The more Troy looked into the Kia’s, the more I’m impressed with them! I think we’re about ready – definitely by October. We’ll probably have the downpayment we want at the end of September but we’re going to the beach that weekend. I’m so excited, my old Ford is 15!

      Reply

  8. Katie
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:35:36

    Stacey! I can’t believe how fast your pregnancy is going by so far! You’ll be in the second tri (the BEST tri!) before you know it!! Glad to hear you are doing well…

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 11:47:39

      There just seems something magical about that 14 week mark. I can’t wait to get there! Plus, everyone promises the nausea will magically disappear then, so I’m holding everyone to it! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

