Click

For some people the moment they see those two pink lines, they feel pregnant.  There have been IVF sisters who report an immediate connection to their little embryos, even before they’re put back in the womb.  For some, it’s the first time they see that fuzzy blob on the ultrasound screen.  Or the moment they see that beautiful flicker in the middle of the blob  – or better yet, hearing that heartbeat for themselves for first time.  I can’t help but wonder, when will this feel like more than a bout of bad tuna salad?  When will it seem real?

Yesterday Mom and I trekked down to the middle of Austin for my first visit as a regular ol’ pregnant patient with my long-time OB, Dr. Breen.  I forgot how much I hate driving in the heart of Austin!  Too many one-way roads.  To boot, the President was visiting the capitol in Austin yesterday afternoon, and my OB is only a block and half from the capitol!  It took us quite a while to get there.

Turns out Dr. Breen also does trans-vaginal ultrasounds on patients under a certain number of weeks, so my feet were up in the ol’ stirrup position in no time.  I didn’t even realize I was holding my breath until that much anticipated fuzzy blob finally came into view.  Omg, it had gotten so big!  But where was the heartbeat?  I don’t see a heartb- oh, there it is.  I finally let out a breath.  It wasn’t until that moment that I realized I had truly thought it would be gone, that there would be nothing there.  And then

it waved

and kicked it’s little leg buds

and did a somersault

and arched and swam

and I think there were even jazz hands at one point

and all of the sudden

I’m in love with my baby.

.

Turns out, nine weeks and two days is just exactly the point when I finally believe

I am pregnant.

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 14:43:28

    What an incredibly sweet post. And it’s so true. We each have our own timeline for really believing the pregnancy is real. And for bonding with the baby. I’m glad you’re time has come!

    Reply

  2. athena
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:17:00

    love it!! 😀

    Reply

  3. wopchr
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:37:19

    crying. love it.

    Reply

  4. Kari
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:45:35

    Oh so happy for you!! Congrats!! Glad it’s feeling real and can’t wait to hear more!!

    Reply

  5. meinsideout
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:14:40

    you gave me goosebumps…so so happy for you

    Reply

  6. babybaker
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:26:09

    aaawe, i got goosebumps too! it is real! congrats!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 13:05:57

      OMG, the ice cream cupcakes in your blog look amazing! I must go find some NOW!!! (I think it’s the first thing that has actually distracted me from my new “feeling pregnant” glow. Must have ice cream cupcakes!)

      Reply

  7. Myndi
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 18:16:25

    I am SO happy for you!

    Reply

  8. Another Dreamer
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 18:42:25

    Oh, that must have been so beautiful! So happy for you!

    Reply

  9. Jessica
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 21:40:44

    Yay you heard the heart beat….I’m so happy for you!!

    Reply

  10. My Bumpy Journey
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 08:24:51

    awwww. This is so sweet! I am so glad it is becoming more real to you. YEAH! I love that (s)he did jazz hands for you. Prepping for the next season of Glee no doubt.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 15:10:50

      lol 🙂 You been watching Bachelor Pad? I made hubby watch … he could only take 15 min and he wandered off.
      I was catching up on your blog, perusing your blog list, when I saw the link to my blog – under the ‘Preggo’ section! It was very startling to see my name there! I still don’t think I’ve processed this. I think I’m scared it’ll go away!

      Reply

  11. katery
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 15:51:29

    good for you mama, you enjoy.

    Reply

  12. Wombded
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 17:37:45

    Beautiful.

    Reply

  13. Stacey
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 13:34:39

    LOVE this post so much!!!

    This current pregnancy is the first time we ever got far enough to see movement on the u/s screen. It is an incredible thing to see and finally believe those signs of life that are really real and happening inside!

    Couldn’t be happier for you, sweet friend!

    Reply

  14. Pilates
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 16:33:09

    to have a baby is gorgeous feeling. Motherhood is a different thing.

    congratulations!!

    Reply

  15. ttcnot2easy
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 05:28:12

    So special. Congratulations! x

    Reply

  16. Ashley
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 16:19:56

    What a sweet post! I totally agree, those first movements are awesome!

    Reply

  17. birdsandsquirrels
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 20:56:48

    I am so happy for you! I have been so behind on reading blogs that this was the first I had heard that you are pregnant. Congratulations on seeing those little leg buds kicking and moving!

    Reply

  18. IVFDiaries.com
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 13:52:50

    Congratulations!! Try to relax and enjoy your pregnancy.
    All the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

