Fear

Last week after my appointment nurse Keri called and said Dr. Silverberg would like for me to cut back on the Crinone progesterone gel suppositories from one in the morning and one at night to just one in the morning.  She said the Crinone isn’t harmful, but my progesterone levels were great, and if I am making my own progesterone, there’s no need to keep supplementing it.

Now you know the progesterone supplements have been my lucky charm.  This is the first cycle where I didn’t bleed within days of the procedure, the first time we’ve gotten this far – and the first time I’ve doubled the Crinone.  I argued and begged, and finally, I agreed to cut back to one suppository a day starting Monday.

When I put the gel in first thing in the morning, it’s creamy and looks just like lotion.  *Warning!  TMI Territory!!*  But as the day goes on, the gel slowly works its way out in tiny crumbles all through the day, kind of cottage-cheese looking.  All day Monday – white cottage cheese.  Towards the end of the day Tuesday – I thought I saw a faint tinge of beige to the cottage cheese, but I decided I was just being paranoid.  Today – consistently through the day, the cheese went from beige to a consistently deeper red/brown.  No spots or drops on the undies, just a tinge to the cottage cheese Crinone when I wiped.

I panicked.  I called Keri, my nurse.  She immediately had me take my HCG and progesterone levels immediately, so she would have the results ready for her first thing in the morning (by now it was already 4pm).  I was sneaky – I put a note on the order to call my cell with the results.  The lab of course complied – my HCG is 15, 895 and my progesterone is 27.8.  So the progesterone levels definitely dropped, although I have to admit I have no idea if the value is good or bad.  I’m sure I’ll be hitting Google to check that out.

The HCG isn’t good.  It’s really low.  I’m 6 weeks, 2 days.  I found this website:  http://www.babymed.com/pregnancy-symptoms/normal-hcg-pregnancy-hormone-levels-pregnancy, which says that my levels should be 16,650-37,750 (average: 24,560).  I’m lower than the low end by 755.

I’m hoping, hoping, hoping that maybe we’re still okay and in the running.  If you roll me back just one day, my numbers are just fine.  Maybe we’ve estimated a day ahead.  This baby pulled one of these low number scares before – maybe it’s just a joker and likes to get mommy’s heart pounding.  Of course I’ve already doubled-up on the gel again.  Maybe we caught it in time.

Or maybe it’s that I’m taking Amoxicillin.  The doc said it’s the only antibiotic that’s proven safe during pregnancy, though.  But, before I saw the doc, I knew I didn’t want to take anything before checking, so I was just using nose spray.  Turns out, nose spray is bad.  Only saline nose spray is ok.  There have been studies that show that Afrin or other nose sprays can cause the blood vessels to the uterus to constrict, causing the baby to become hypoxic.  Did I asphyxiate my baby?  I was using 4-way brand for about 3 days before I made it to the doc.  I also weeded in the garden … and lifted the garage door, which is heavy … and I ate some chocolate … aargh.

I need for the clinic to open.  I need an ultrasound, STAT!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 21:10:42

    Oh sweetie I am sending ((BIG HUGS)) and sticky baby dust your way. Those HCG level things are so scary. Everyone is so different. I am hoping that you get in for that ultrasound and that everything is fine. I’ll be keeping everything crossed for you and I hope the next hours pass quickly and you’re able to get in for that u/s tomorrow.

    Reply

  2. Txgirl
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 21:11:50

    I hope with all my heart that your babe is okay! Lots of prayers being said for you.

    Reply

  3. K
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 21:23:34

    Hoping all is well. I would spot when I took progesterone and as for HCG numbers, those are averages and like you said you are off by just a teensy bit- a margin of error bit- please keep us posted!

    Reply

  4. Amber
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 21:30:28

    My HCG numbers were much lower with this successful pregnancy than they were with my m/c, so try not to worry too much about those. It’s definitely not an exact science.

    That progesterone level is still great! My RE was happy with anything over 20 and mine was always around 22, so I would have been thrilled with yours.

    I’m praying for you and the peanut. I feel like things are going to be okay, hang in there!

    Reply

  5. Jessica
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 07:46:18

    Crossing my fingers that everything is OK!!!

    Reply

  6. Pie
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 08:23:46

    Those suppositories can irritate your cervix, which now that you are pregnant, is more sensitive and filled with blood. So don’t read too much into the spotting.

    I hope you can get an u/s soon, to ease your mind. Hang in there!!

    Reply

  7. Sweet Georgia
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 08:46:27

    I’m currently 16 weeks and was on crinone until around 11 weeks. It turns beige and brown, especially if it’s old stuff that’s just making it’s way out. Did you google discoloured crinone? If you do, you’ll see that it’s really normal. Also, you can’t compare crinone gel progesterone levels with let’s say PIO. Crinone is absorbed differently and doesn’t show up in the blood stream the same way as other types of progesterone supplements… this is documented in the paperwork that comes with the crinone.

    I was on 1 crinone per day and my progesterone levels seemed low to me (even knowing what I wrote above). I moved to using 2 a day, my doctor told me the extra progesterone will not hurt anything, but it gave me peace of mind. Maybe you should just stay on 2 a day for now, until you have a better comfort level.

    I feel like everything is fine and hope you get confirmation of this as your pregnancy continues to progress!

    Reply

  8. katery
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:30:43

    i hope everything is ok, it sounds like based on the previous comments that the tint in the discharge is pretty normal, and maybe you are a day later than you originally thought.

    Reply

  9. Another Dreamer
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 13:48:23

    After they reach the thousands, and you can see things on u/s, the beta number is less reliable. It’s best to go by u/s. Progesterone can fluctuate throughout the course of the day. Vaginal progesterone can irritate the cervix and sometimes cause light spotting. Deep breaths, and hang in there. Can they do a reassurance u/s for you? And up your progesterone, because honestly I don’t think it would hurt anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

