Anybody Sleepy?

Waking up every two hours is apparently my new favorite pastime.  It’s never the same thing two nights in a row.  One night I dreamt that people were sneaking into our house and stealing animals one by one while we slept.  When we woke up, hubby just shrugged and said, “Well, at least now I won’t have to change the cat boxes anymore.”  Another night, I forgot a different meal on the stove every two hours, managing to burn eggs, a turkey, pancakes and a souffle all in one night.  I don’t even know how to make a souffle!  Last night was especially ‘not fun.’  I’d wake up in a sweat, sniffling and teary, just having heard from nurse Keri that our HCG numbers had plummeted and there was nothing to be seen on the ultrasound.  I guess I kept holding my breath, ’cause I’d wake up gasping and now I have a raging headache.  I’m tellin’ ya, 5:15pm tomorrow just can’t come soon enough.  Anyone else have insomnia as part of the “possibly pregnant” phase, or am I just special?

Still having cramps but less often, although when they do happen, they’re usually really strong on the right side.  Of course it makes me wonder if I’m trying to miscarry, but so far, no sign of blood at all (someone knock on wood, quick!).  Some headaches and a stuffy nose, which Keri tells me is due to the increase in estrogen and not allergies.  Some heartburn and gassiness, which might be part of the cramps, or might just be regular ‘ol me.

So we did break down and tell Troy’s parents we might be pregnant.  I had wanted to wait ’til we had an ultrasound in hand to show them, but hubby just couldn’t hold it in.  My mother-in-law is wonderful, a little shy, and seems reserved, but she has the biggest, sweetest heart I’ve ever met.  Her patience is endless, which is a lesson and an inspiration to me.  Whenever we go stay with them, it’s like the world slows down a little.  I always sleep a ton the first night, like all the stress and rushing of regular life slips off, and I can breathe and relax.  I love visiting them.

Anyways, MIL Marilyn seemed really happy for us but not particularly overwhelmed when we told her the news.  But today, she called Troy and asked him if she could come to an ultrasound once we can hear the heartbeat.  She told him she was so super excited, but she didn’t want to put any pressure on me so she was trying to contain it.  It just makes me smile, she always thinks of everyone else first.  It’s really a joy to me to hear about her being excited.  Of course, part of her caution comes from knowing how tentative it all can be, how quickly it can go away.  She really does understand.  She and Troy’s dad tried for years to have a baby.  I don’t know all the details, but when she got pregnant, the docs said it was a miracle.  Giving birth to Troy almost killed both her and Troy, and she had to have an emergency hysterectomy.

Assuming all goes well at the next ultrasound, we should get a date then for the next one, when we should hear a heartbeat.  So as soon as I have a date, I’ll let her know.  My mom is already bragging that she got to be there when her grandchild was made (she was at the IUI, this is going to cost us some therapy down the road, I’m thinking).  I’m so glad she’s going to be there with me tomorrow, especially if things don’t go well.  And now I’m so happy and excited that both Troy and his mom will be there when we hear the heartbeat for the first time!

Crap.  I’m starting to get excited.  The more excited I get, the more scared I get that tomorrow won’t have the results I want.  I hope I can sleep tonight.  My ass is tired.  And so is my head and all the rest of me.

Oh – on top of all this, our landlord called Troy today to tell us that he has decided to sell our house.  He’ll sell to us at market value, but we need to decide by the time our lease is up.  Our lease isn’t up ’til next April, but I think we need to decide pretty quickly.  I really love this house, and we’ve been really happy here, but it’s starting to feel really small.  I think we need to see if we even qualify to buy a house first, then go from there.  If we don’t qualify, then we can start looking for another rental.  Most folks move at the end of school and right before school starts, so now’s the time to look.  Besides, I don’t want to wait any later than this summer – if all goes well, I don’t want to be really big while I’m trying to pack and move.

Oh – back to TTC news – before this last IUI, Dr. Silverberg sent Troy to a urologist to have him checked out physically, and to have blood drawn to check his hormone levels.  Which is EXACTLY what they do to us chicks from the moment we start TTC – so why don’t they start right there with the guys, too??  OMG!!  WE’VE BEEN DOING THIS FOR THREE YEARS!!!  Anyhoo, Troy had a little outpatient procedure today to determine if the opening to his urethra was too narrow, restricting total volume.  He was quite bitter I made him go through with it when we’re ‘tentatively pregnant’, as it involves foreign objects going thru the back door, but since he’s scared of me (just the perfect amount) he went. 😉  Turns out, his urethra is just fine, but (heehee I said but) – his testosterone level is much too low, which has caused his prostate to shrink.  They’re putting him on a type of testosterone for a while that will help his prostate grow and should increase his libido, as well (not that I felt he was lacking in that area, but he had noticed a change as he got older).  When we start TTC again, they’ll switch him to another kind that increases semen output.  Kinda makes ya wish we’d figured all this out a few IUI’s ago, eh?

In any case, I’m proud of him for going, although when I offered him some cucumber at lunch he just glared and said, “Fuck you” (I might’ve smirked a little….).

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 16:55:46

    Haha your post made me giggle at the end!! I will be waiting to hear the awesome news from tomorrow’s ultrasound!!

    Reply

  2. Amber
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 17:54:51

    Insomnia was a huge part of my early pregnancy! It just now got better for me, but I find that I’m a much lighter sleeper than before. Also, I had quite a bit of period-like cramping for a while which always scared the daylights out of me.

    My ultrasounds have always seemed to end up around the very end of the day too, so I feel for ya! Hope the day somehow manages to go quickly… 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 19:34:10

      Thanks for telling me about it! It makes me feel better to know it happens to others, too. Especially the cramps, the cramps really make me nervous.

      Reply

  3. meinsideout
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 18:00:50

    I am excited for you for tomorrow!!!

    Reply

  4. Myndi
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 20:10:36

    Can’t wait to hear how the ultrasound went! Every appendage is crossed for fantastic news! And the cramps and dreams were totally normal for me in early pregnancy. I say they are good signs!

    Reply

  5. katery
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 22:14:30

    hooray for that stuffy nose, that’s a symptom of pregnancy girl! no bleeding, that’s good, light cramping is normal.
    i’m glad you have such a great mother-in-law, that’s extremely valuable when you’re going through something like this. and cool that you have an option to buy the house if you want!
    good news all around!
    i can’t wait until tomorrow, what time is your ultrasound? i’ll be blog stalking you all day!!

    Reply

  6. K
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 23:40:13

    So excited for you. So excited. You are one of the people I’ve been reading longest, the ones I consider my “original crew” hehe. Through the moon here and hoping and praying that all will be well. Your attitude through the whole process has been so amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

