3rd Beta

Sorry I’m late gettin’ this to ya!

2nd beta was 286 – and this time I didn’t want to see no 67% rise – I wanted DOUBLING, especially since we were going 3 days instead of 2.  A nice doubling would be 572.

3rd beta:  630!  Yaaaaaay!  And progesterone is still good at 34.1.  If you calculate it out, that’s a doubling time of 2 1/2 days.  Getting better! 

I’m feeling more hopeful!  I’m still in the ‘cautiously optimistic’ category.  Troy’s in all-out heaven.  We had to tell my folks – mom was with me at one of the IUI’s when Troy couldn’t go, so they were expecting results soon.  We were at my brother’s, so my brother and his wife know, too.  After that, I wanted to keep it quiet at least until we had an u/s or two, and I don’t want to announce it at work until I reach week 14.  But I found out that despite his vow of silence, Troy told his two besties at work.  So I finally broke and let him tell his folks (I really wanted to have one u/s first).  But I was afraid one of his friends might say something on Facebook so we told them over the phone.

I retest again next Thursday, the 15th.  Dr. Silverberg also wants to do an u/s on Thursday, which will be 5 1/2 weeks.  My nurse Keri said that’s too soon to see a heartbeat, but he at least wants to see the number of embryos and if fetal poles are developing.  I think we’re well out of multiples territory, but who am I to turn down an ultrasound?  Break out the wand, I say!

The weekend job starts tonight and this weekend will be a whirlwind of family visiting and work.  Saturday Troy and I are going with friends to see the new Predator movie.  I’ve got one of our foster kitties on Craigslist so hopefully we’ll get some bites for him this weekend, too.  Our garden is overflowing with red, green, yellow, orange and purple bell peppers (did you know they come in purple?  New to me!) so mom and I are trying a new Paula Deen stuffed bell pepper recipe on Sunday.  Gotta get some serious weeding done, too.  Monday is always a blur after the weekend.  But I think by Tuesday I’m going to start getting antsy to see another beta and to get to the u/s!  It’s not until 5:15pm Thursday, so Tues, Wed and Thurs. are gonna drag by!

Troy has an appointment with the urologist on Wednesday.  They’re doing a camera-up-the-butt procedure so they can look at his urethra and be sure it’s not too narrow.  He’s very bitter that I’m making him keep this appointment even though we’re (tentatively) pregnant.  But I just feel very aware that at any minute we could be thrown right back on to the TTC rollercoaster, and I want to be ready to ride, ya know?  And even if we are lucky enough to make it to goal this time, we’ll still have to jump right back into TTC for a second (I’ll only be older, ya know?).   If it turns out his urethra is too narrow, they’ll do a short out-patient procedure on another day to widen it.  The urologist feels Troy’s overall volume is too low and the procedure should fix that.

I’m so happy this seems to be happening for us.  It just makes me wonder if at all those failed IUI’s be fore, if I had just known to ask for Crinone, and to double the dose, would we already have our family?  Would the baby I lost after IVF have stayed?  I’d be half-way through that pregnancy by now.  In the end, I think it’s better to be glad we seem to have finally figured it out, and just keep goin’ forward.  But I do wonder sometimes.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wopchr
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:20:36

    omg, YAY! I was so nervous to click on this post. I held my breath while read it.
    I’m so, so, so glad for you and I’m keeping you and hubby very close in my thoughts. Can’t wait to hear results of a GREAT ultrasound!

    woohoo!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 09, 2010 @ 23:58:17

      I’m SO excited to go to the ultrasound! I can’t believe I get to have an ultrasound – to see something other than follicles! I still can’t even grasp onto hope that this might be happening.

      Reply

  2. katery
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:26:02

    oh yea! phew! last night i dreamed that i checked your blog and there was an update that your beta had gone well. when i woke up i was checking on my bloggy friends and was a little shocked to see that post wasn’t actually on your blog. you know how sometimes you have a little dream and then can’t really remember if it actually happened or if it was a dream? it was one of those situations, i thought the dream was real! anyway, i’m glad to hear the beta went way, hooray!! you never know, you might be able to see the heartbeat, some people can that early. if you can’t see it you will surely be able to hear it. my doctor could see louise’s heartbeat at six weeks, i couldn’t, but i could hear it, so if they find it ask them to turn the sound on!!

    Reply

  3. Kari
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:50:09

    🙂 I am so happy for you right now!! I am sending you majorly sticky baby dust and take good care of yourself!! I can’t wait to read about the u/s!!

    Reply

  4. Stacey
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 16:10:54

    Excellent news!!! I’m pulling for you! Hoping those numbers will keep rising and that you’ll have an awesome u/s on Thurs! YAYYY!

    Reply

  5. meinsideout
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 17:20:13

    yay for the great news!!! I am so excited for you for Thursday – things are moving in the right direction!!

    Reply

  6. mybumpyjourney
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 20:23:02

    WOOOO HOOOOO!!!! I am praying for you guys!

    Reply

  7. Txgirl
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 20:33:10

    That’s a great 3rd beta! I’ll be praying for an equally good ultrasound next week- I know I’d be a basket case having to wait that long with no additional beta in between, but I know you can do it.

    Reply

  8. Amber
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 21:01:02

    I have been anxiously awaiting this post and I’m SOOO relieved to see such great news. My appointments have always fallen at the end of the week which makes for lots of waiting… Can’t wait to hear how the u/s goes.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 10, 2010 @ 00:07:19

      I managed to make it through most of the day without getting nervous, but right before I got the results, I was sooo scared they’d be bad! It was such a relief to hear good news!

      Reply

  9. Pie
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 08:15:35

    Congrats Stacey! Wonderful doubling! Can’t wait til Wednesday, I’m glad to hear they are not being stingy with the u/s. Take all of them you can get!!

    Reply

  10. Sweet Georgia
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 18:35:19

    Congrats on a fabulous beta!

    Reply

  11. babybaker
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 09:39:52

    congratulations!!! can’t wait to hear how the ultrasound on thursday goes! keeping everything crossed for you!

    Reply

  12. Another Dreamer
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 09:50:38

    Yay for a wonderful doubling time! Keeping you in my thoughts, and hoping things continue to go well!

    Reply

  13. lilly
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 16:26:42

    such great news!!!

    Reply

  14. Myndi
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 02:41:33

    So happy for you! Yeah for positive news!

    Reply

  15. Katie
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 11:18:02

    Yay! A good, strong number! I can’t wait until Thursday and am praying it’s a beautiful sac and fetal pole (no follies!!!!) for you to see…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

