67%

The Texas Fertility Center actually looks for a rise of 67% for the 2nd bHCG.  Not only did I not double, I didn’t even make the 67%.

2nd bHCG:  286

A rise of 67% would’ve been 302.  A nice doubling would be 362. 

I’ve already forgotten what the progesterone was, but it was good, somewhere in the 30’s.

Of course, I immediately hit Google.  There are lots of examples where people didn’t double but still had great pregnancies.  Others doubled every 72 hours instead of every 48.  So maybe there’s hope, but … I just feel deflated.  Exhausted.

I actually called and asked for the report, but the nurse did say that the dr hadn’t seen the results yet.  He’ll be calling me back this afternoon.  I wonder what percent of a rise is 286?  Is it still possible this can go ok?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katery
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 13:42:43

    i think there’s still hope but i can understand how worried and deflated you must feel, are they going to do another beta on wednesday? i will keep holding my breath for you.
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. katery
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 13:45:23

    286 is only 16 away from 302, the numbers are SO close, i think that’s good, it ALMOST doubled, close enough i think!

    Reply

  3. Kari
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 14:19:42

    I really hate betas and the beta dance. I used http://www.betabase.info to check my doubling times. I will be holding my breath with you and sending you tons of sticky baby dust and hoping this is the one. I know how difficult this is and how absolutely draining it is as well. ((HUGS))

    Reply

  4. Myndi
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 14:28:18

    There is still every chance that this pregnancy will be fine. The ranges are averages, but what’s normal for some is not normal for others. I know of at least one blogger who had low, slow-rising betas and is now 20 something weeks with a healthy baby girl. There isn’t any reason that you couldn’t fall into that same category. Some babies are just pokey in the beginning! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that everything works out. 🙂

    Reply

  5. meinsideout
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 14:43:32

    ((HUGS))

    Reply

  6. Stacey
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 15:25:51

    I think it’s too soon to lose hope. Hang in there another few days or so. Praying my heart out for you, friend!

    Reply

  7. sweet georgia
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 15:30:47

    I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts, hang in there!

    Reply

  8. Amber
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:38:01

    Betas are really only meant to drive us crazy with worry! My numbers looked much better with my miscarriage than they did with this successful pregnancy. Hang in there.

    Reply

  9. Another Dreamer
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 17:31:38

    Thinking of you and hoping. Betas can be helpful tools to give us indications of what might happen, but aren’t always definitive.

    Keeping you in my thoughts. I normally use a beta doubling calculator online, like http://www.obfocus.com/calculators/betahCG.htm

    Reply

  10. lilly
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 18:47:59

    am so hoping with you….!

    Reply

  11. Txgirl
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 19:09:01

    I’m not usually the optimist when it comes to betas not doubling, but it sure ain’t over til it’s over. I’m hoping the next beta surprises even Silverberg!

    Reply

  12. Low Fat Lady
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 20:07:45

    I have no idea, but I will be thinking of you and sending you good luck!

    Reply

  13. wopchr
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 20:38:03

    Stacey,
    I’m not sure I really understand beta’s and hcg–so I can’t share any experiences, but I just want you to know that I’m hoping that everything is going to be just fine and in 9 months you will have a beautiful baby! We’re here to support you. If I thought I had any good luck, I’d send it your way!!!!
    Hang in there, friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

