Test Day

Last evening I was getting my “Weekend Survival” bag together – it’s all my fun stuff that helps me stay awake while working the 12 hr night shifts Friday and Saturday night.  Movies, books, magazines, all the newspaper crossword puzzles I didn’t get to do during the week.  My laptop.  A neck pillow in case my goody bag doesn’t entertain me enough to keep me from dozing at the desk.

I figured I should go ahead and grab my lab test order slip so I’d wouldn’t forget it come Sunday morning.  Once the weekend whirlwind begins, I tend to forget details.  As I was stuffing it in my bag I realized that the date on the lab slip is July 3rd, not the 4th.  As in, this morning

Working in a lab while TTC is like a rehabbed alcoholic working as a bartender.  It’s usually impossible not to test myself constantly.  But it’s been my goal this time not to obsess.  Besides, we only do the qualitative (yes/no) type of testing – what if I get a “yes” like last time, only to find when I got the actual quantitative results (the HCG number) that I was going to miscarry.  I might as well wait until the nurse has an actual number for me, so I know whether or not to be truly happy.  So I had my blood drawn at 5 am, and even now, it’s on it’s way to the lab where they’ll test it for an acutal number.

For the past 5 or 6 days I’ve had some light diarrhea, light nausea and light to moderate cramping.  But those could all be related to a stomach bug, so I’m not going to try to guess from those symptoms.  And, I get those same symptoms right before I start my period.  No blood yet, though.

So I’m packing up my survival bag, and waiting for my relief to come.  So I can go home and doze ’til I get that phone call that’ll bring me the real relief I’m hoping for.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katery
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 07:38:25

    when do you get the results????

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 07:41:33

    Oh I am so hoping for a big, beautiful strong number for you!! I hope your day flies by and the call comes quickly.

    I know what you mean about explaining to your hubby how the books are so much better. I do the same. I keep trying to get him to read them but that is never gonna happen!! He doesn’t mind the movies but says they’d be better without the high school love drama triangle. More vampire, Werewolf, Volturi politics he says. When I watch the movies I can’t help but feel like it skips around so much. But I still HAVE to see them 😉 Good luck today!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 03, 2010 @ 11:58:39

      That’s it exactly! I know DH will never be caught dead holding a Twilight book, so I try to explain how awesome they are. He likes the movies ok, but he just looks at me like I’m crazy while I’m trying to explain…:)

      Reply

  3. Pie
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 08:37:49

    My fingers are crossed!! I hope the results come quickly!

    Reply

  4. AZMamma
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 10:58:16

    My finders are crossed for you! Hope the results come back fast.

    Reply

  5. lisa
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 11:22:12

    Thinking of you!!!

    Reply

  6. Myndi
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 11:23:46

    All appendages crossed! Bring on strong betas! Bring on beautiful doubling numbers! Bring on everything that equals bringing home a healthy baby!!

    Reply

  7. k
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 12:05:58

    Thinking of you!!!!!!!! Come on GOOD BETAS!

    Reply

  8. Jessica
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 12:44:08

    Fingers crossed!!!

    Reply

  9. wopchr
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 15:40:23

    Everything is crossed over here!!!!!!!!!!!! Sending all my positive energy down to Texas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

