Well, Hello There!

Fast forward since last post …

Great Memorial Day weekend at my in-laws.  MIL Marilyn and SIL Sharon took me to the most awesomest accessories store – EVER -called Sam Moon’s.  We trekked through the hoods of DFW to make it there, and it was totally worth it!  Stackes upon heaps upon piles of jewelry, scarves, sunglasses, purses, luggage, scarves, you-name-it! And cheap!  We must’ve hung out in there for two hours!

Then there came the day in late May when we finally got our reimbursement check from the insurance company from the last IVF – and I started my period on the same day!  It had to be fate!  The stars were aligning!  This just HAD to be MY time!  So I picked up the phone and breathless, told my IVF nurse Amanda the great news!  We were GO for IVF #2!  …only to be told that they weren’t starting any new IVF’s right now, as the ONLY IVF lab in Central Texas (Austin IVF) was going to be closed the first two weeks of July – right when we’d be making an embryo.  Talk about popping a balloon, I know just what that balloon feels like with the air violently explodes out.  I moaned and sobbed for a day – since my cycles are 6-8 weeks apart, it meant we wouldn’t even be able to START the month of birth control pills until July, no possibility for a baby before August. 

Then I remembered our old friend, the IUI.  We’ve used up the three IUI’s that our insurance will pay for.  But, they do still pay a portion of the drugs, the u/s visits and they still re-imburse us for Troy’s part.  They just won’t pay for the IUI itself, which is only $175 on a weekday and $216 on the weekend.  That seemed manageable.  So, I sucked up my disappointment and called Keri, my IUI nurse, and asked her to ask Dr. Silverberg if IUI was even feasible for me.  I mean, if there’s no chance it’d work, I might as well save the time off from work, the stress, the hopes and the money for the next IVF.  But she called me back and said he felt I had a reasonable chance, and he recommended we go for it.

So we did.  Overall with drug and office co-pays (we pay a co-pay if the visit falls on a weeked), the two IUI’s (one fell on a weekend and one on a weekday) and paying for Troy’s part up-front, we spent about $650, and we should get about $350 back for Troy’s part (whick will go back into the IVF fund).  Not too bad. 

Came through it with 1 20-in follicle and 3 16-in follicles.  I had an u/s at the time of the 2nd IUI, and only the 20 had released an egg at that time, so there’s no telling if the 16’s got big enough to release eggs.  I hope so.  Not that I want multiples, I just want as much of a chance of getting pregnant as possible.  As do we all, of course!

I’ve decided I’m not going to sweat this round.  If we get pregnant, we’d be so lucky, but I realize in all practicality it isn’t highly likely.  I wanted to do the IUI, but not become obsessed by the IUI, if that makes sense.  So I made my self as busy as possible, so I was too busy and too tired to think about it too much.  And I do have to say, time has flown by.  But boy, am I tired.  It takes a lot of energy to NOT put any energy into obsessing!

Turned 39 last Monday.  The big 3 – 9.  Almost the big 4-0.  Argh.  Had a great time with family, though – we got together at my brother’s house and had a combination Father’s Day/my birthday celebration. 🙂

In the garden we had a great crop of squash, zucchini, and all kinds of peppers.  Then suddenly, all my squash and zucchini died!  I dunno why, but I think I might’ve over-watered.  My onions, corn and garlic don’t look good, either. 😦  And even my mint garden is dying!  My black thumb is sneaking back in.  The tomatoes and peppers are doing great, though!  I think we’re going to try to make our own salsa next weekend with onions, tomatoes, peppers and cilantro from our garden for the 4th of July.  Anyone have any good salsa recipes you can send me?

I got carried away with the cat fostering.  At one point, between me and my mom, we had 19 fosters!  Two kittens died, it was horrible and heart-breaking.  They had the same disease, panleukokemia.  Three more had it, but are making a great come-back!  I’ve had two others adopted and lots of interest, so we’re slowly whittling down the pack (hopefully the rest by adoption, not disease!).  As much as we’ve enjoyed them, I don’t think we’ll ever try to foster this many again.  Fortunately, Austin Pets Alive is really growing and there have been a ton of new fosters come on board this summer. 

I’d have to say I’ve done really well at not obessing, at not over-analyzing every twinge.  Some days are so busy, I don’t think about it at all.  At work we had a new computer system go live last Monday, and we passed our 2-year state inspection.  The inspection went fabulous – 100% with no deficiencies!  and the go-live has gone suprisingly smoothly.  At home, I nurse  sick kittens and my sick garden.  Troy and I have just discovered The Big Bang Theory, and a friend at work gave him the whole series up to date (bazinga! 🙂 and we’ve been catching up on it.  We all know there’s no avoiding daydreaming about that BFP a little, especially when I work the night shift on the weekend and I’m so bored my mind just drifts to it.  For instance, since our conception day is the 19th, that’d mean if we get pregnant, our due date would be March 13th of next year.  Just an idle observation. 🙂  (ah, obsession, you are never far away).  Also, I haven’t bled and it’s day 9 post-2nd IUI.  Even though normally my cycles are very far apart, for some reason, every single time I’ve had an IUI or IVF, I’ve bled within 3 days of the procedure.  I have had mild cramps.  I started the progesterone gel supplements last Tuesday morning.  Around 11:30pm Tuesday night, I woke up with the absolute certaintly that I should double my progesterone cream.  So I put in another – and every day since, I’ve done one after my shower in the morning and one before bed at night.  And AF hasn’t shown up yet – even though they say the progesterone itself actually can make you bleed.  I bled like crazy after IVF, but not a drop this time.  I haven’t even told the doc I’ve doubled it.  I had enough left over after IVF to cover it.

I feel good about it all.  I was praying about it in bed one night before the IUI, and God really gave me a sense of peace.  Whether this is our time or not, He will give me peace.  And I have to say, a little peace of mind and heart feels really good.  I’m not going to test in advance, even though I could test at home, or when I’m at work at the lab.  Test day is July 3rd.  I’ll be at work on the night shift, so at 5am, I’m going to have my blood drawn and sent to the lab (we only do “yes/no” testing, so we send it off to a lab that does more sensitive testing that gives an acutual HCG number).  Then I’m going to go home and go to sleep.  And maybe, my phone will ring and wake me up, and Keri will tell me a beautiful number.  Or, she won’t tell me a great number, but I will still have peace, and I’ll go back to sleep, and wait for the next visit from Ol’ Aunt Flow, and IVF #2 will officially begin.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 15:35:44

    Sounds as though you’ve been quite busy!! I am so sorry about the kittens. I do hope the rest fully recover and you find some awesome homes for them. My fingers are crossed this IUI is the one!! No stress is always a good thing, you’re so close to test day too. Sending positive, comforting, baby dust your way!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 07:12:52

      I’ve found that no matter how busy you are, you can still make time to obsess. 🙂 You’re just much tired-er while you do it! Drench me in baby dust, sister!

      Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 18:18:56

    So glad to see you blog again. I love the big bang theory. we have watched every episode 🙂 I hope you get some positive news soon.

    Reply

  3. Myndi
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 18:25:40

    Hey you! I was just thinking about you the other day and wondering what was up! Now I know. 😉

    We are of the same mind. Last year when we knew we couldn’t afford IVF for another month or two, I did an IUI I swore I wouldn’t do because I couldn’t sit around and do nothing. You’re almost in the home stretch!July 3rd is just around the corner really and you’ll be there before you know it!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 07:14:48

      I know the IUI is a long shot, but it just made me feel better to be doing something, whether or not it works. And who knows – maybe we’ll be one of those couples who scores on the long shot! 😉

      Reply

  4. Jessica
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 18:37:02

    Good to hear from you. I hope this IUI worked its magic so you don’t have to do IVF #2.

    Reply

  5. wopchr
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:41:22

    I can’t believe that IVF labs just close their doors!? That is SO frustrating and annoying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would be such a baby about that!
    I’m so glad you managed to have the IUI, though, and I think it would be SO amazing if it worked! I’ve got my fingers and toes and eyes crossed for you, friend!
    Thanks for the update, I was wondering about you!!!

    Reply

  6. katery
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 13:21:03

    you never know, this iui could be the one! one person on my blogroll had her ivf canceled because she didn’t have enough eggs for the retrieval, they did an iui instead and she was DEVASTATED, she just had twins a month ago from that very iui. and then you have myndi from tenaciouly ttc, pregnant with triplets, two embryos that were transfered and the third her doctor thinks she and her husband concieved on their own, what are the odds!!!
    i’m just sayin, stranger things have happened 🙂
    good to hear from you again!

    Reply

  7. Another Dreamer
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 00:49:04

    Best wishes on this cycle- I hope you get a wonderful surprise 🙂

    I think the cat fostering is awesome, but yes- I bet it can get a bit overwhelming, especially with that many. So sorry that two of them passed away 😦

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 07:17:45

      It’s totally worth it, even when it’s sad. At least they are taken care of up ’til the end, ya know? And it has helped me stay busy so I don’t brood!

      Reply

  8. meinsideout
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 05:33:33

    I am hoping to see a bfp announcement soon!

    Reply

  9. Stacey
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:56:29

    Stacey, you have an amazing attitude and outlook! As your test day approaches, I’m sure hoping that this cycle will hold a big, wonderful surprise for you! I love that you’re not obsessing over it, and that you’re already looking ahead at the next steps just in case.

    My husband and I LOVE The Big Bang Theory! I confess, he gets more of the jokes than I do because he’s smarter than I am. 🙂 We have so much fun watching it together.

    Happy belated birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

