Kitten Conspiracy

The veggies and plants are growing; the kittens have been adopted; new foster kittens are being loved and nurtured.  Work is always changing but is really just the same.  I’m ready for something new – been watching the want-ads, careerbuilder and indeed.com, but nothing new right now.  It’s always cyclical in the medical lab world – it’ll be dry for about three months, then there’ll be more jobs than you can apply for.  I’ll keep an eye out, I think things will start opening up after the school year ends.

My mother-in-law had two stents put in her heart unexpectedly last week.  Fortunately it all went well and she’s doing great.  We’re going to stay Memorial Day weekend with them in Midlothian, up in the Dallas area.  We’re taking one of our foster kitties, Timmy, with us.  One of Troy’s stepsisters, Sharon, is adopting him.  He’s such a cute, sweet little guy!  He was hit by a car when he was about 5 mos old and they put him in a box at the animal shelter.  Our vets put pins in his hip on one side and his knee on the other.  Now he’s a non-stop lovin’ and runnin’ machine!  He and Moo are all over the place.  We were watching Lost in the dark the other night when suddenly, Timmy flew across the room, launched off Troy’s head, and stuck to the window screen – all in the effort to catch a moth he saw on the other side!  Poor Troy just had a dazed look on his face, like ‘what the hell just happened?’

We just got our final receipt in the mail from Austin IVF, the lab that took care of our gametes that became our embryos that didn’t become anything.  I’ve submitted the receipt to United Healthcare, and I have to say they’ve been amazing.  I called our United rep and asked if she’d be willing to expedite our refund, and she kindly agreed to, just so we can make the next cycle and won’t have to wait through another one.  I suspect she herself has a secret sadness, maybe a miscarriage, because she was so gentle and accomodating.  Something they probably don’t hear too often: Thank you so much, United.  As soon as the refund and Aunt Flo arrive, we’re ready for IVF round two!

I’ve updated the timeline on the side of the blog to show our first IVF.  My timeline is starting to look suspicously like the long-timers out here in the IF blogworld.  Although I suspected it would, I think I’d always hoped we’d be lucky long before now. 

Troy and I went to see Iron Man 2 on Sunday.  Really enjoyed it!  I do love me some R.D., Jr.  Yumm!

Sorry I’ve been so spotty with the posts.  The last batch of kittens destroyed my laptop!  I glanced over, and they were all lined up, pushing my laptop over the edge of the couch!  Ok, maybe they weren’t ‘pushing’ so much as ‘wrestling near’ the laptop … and maybe I shouldn’t ‘ve left it so near the edge of the couch … but still, I’m claiming kitten conspiracy!  Hopefully we’ll find a good deal at Fry’s on Thursday.  The ads show some pretty good deals on some Dells. 

Good to catch up with y’all!  Don’t stay away so long next time!  (oh yeah, that’s me…)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mybumpyjourney
    May 11, 2010 @ 18:34:35

    That is so cool that you found homes for the kitties!!! I love it that you are a foster kitty momma.:)
    Awesomr about United! Sometimes I think it depends on who answrs the phone!!!!
    Fingers crossed that you get your refund soon and can get started soon.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    May 11, 2010 @ 20:35:00

    I am glad to hear that you found a home for the kitties and everything is going ok. Isn’t it nice when insurance people are nice and accomodating…maybe it is more like surprising but still nice. I am glad your MIL is doing well. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

  3. Christy
    May 11, 2010 @ 20:37:07

    So glad for an update, Stacey!!!! And I just looked at your sidebar and I’m so sorry that it’s so long 😦 Most of it I don’t even understand-but I know that it’s all hard and scary. I’m so glad they’re rushing your refund so you don’t have to miss this next cycle. I just have SO much hope that this next one will be the one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Lowfatlady
    May 11, 2010 @ 22:25:11

    So glad you are doing well. I have been thinking about you. I hope that this next round is your last.

    Reply

  5. Another Dreamer
    May 12, 2010 @ 14:06:56

    Glad your MIL is doing well, scary.

    I am going with you on kitten conspiracy- they are dangerous little creatures 😉 Too many things mysteriously happen in our house because of kitty conspiracies. Yikes.

    Also glad United is being awesome about everything. Hang in there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

