7 Hours

Oh, I forgot to tell y’all about my near-death experience on Saturday!  My second biggest fear (next to getting squished by elevator doors – you laugh, but it happens, y’all!  http://www.click2houston.com/news/2412223/detail.html – see!  I told you!) is getting impaled or decapitated by something flying off the back of a truck in front of me while driving down the road.  Troy knows – we’ll go miles under the speed limit to avoid trucks with crap in the back.  He just sighs and goes along with me.

So I’m driving home down 183, windows down, singin’ along to this cute little ditty Shinin’ Down by Austin Hartley-Leonard I heard in a Troybilt commercial.  It’s been stuck in my head so I broke down and bought it off iTunes (the iTunes version is a longer).

All of the sudden, the sedan in front of me swerved and it’s back tire caught the edge of a sheet of particle board about 2ft by 2ft.  Somehow the way it caught it sent it airborne – right towards the middle of my windshield!  It was my nightmare come true!  Fortunately there was no-one in the lane beside me, and I was able to swerve enough and the board dipped enough so it ended up making a hard solid hit on the driver’s side, cracking my bumper, my hood and smashing in the headlamp.  See, I knew it wasn’t just ’cause I watched too many horror movies!  This stuff happens, people!

Today on the way home, I stopped at a junkyard and I was acutally able to get a head lamp assembly and a power steering fluid pump (mine needs to be replaced) all for $150.  Not bad!  The head lamp assembly by itself was $150 brand new.  Now we’ve just gotta get Big Eddie to come back and put everything in.

Seven hours from now, I’ll be dropping off my serum at CPL labs for my STAT bHCG.  I hope I can fall asleep.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 06:50:42

    How horrifying!! So glad you escaped personally unharmed, sorry about the car though. That sucks. Fingers crossed for awesome news!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jerica
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 06:52:09

    good luck. I just started reading your blog. I did IVF and an FET still not preggo but I believe it will happen one day. Fingers crossed for you.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:17:07

      Thanks, Jerica! I’m glad you stopped by, and thank you for the encouragement! I’m trying to keep the faith, too. If you start a blog, but sure to let me know so I can keep up with your story!

      Reply

  3. Sweet Georgia
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 06:54:47

    Wow – that must have been scary!

    Good luck with beta today.

    Reply

  4. Myndi
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:47:54

    Holy cannoli! You know what? When I was 10 and staying with my aunt and uncle during the summer, my aunt and I were driving down the freeway in San Diego behind a truck full of long metal pipes…and guess what happened? They came loose, several hitting the hood of the car and one went right through the middle of the windshield. We were VERY lucky it was the middle of the windshield…and because of that scare, I will NOT drive behind a semi or truck with items in the back because you never know when something might come loose. I am SO glad you were able to get out of the way!

    Wishing you luck with your beta today! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:18:51

      You see?!?! I KNEW this stuff happens! I can’t believe it went through your windshield!!! Argh, what a nightmare! I’m showing this to Troy so he’ll stop blaming the horror movies!!!

      Reply

  5. Low Fat Lady
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 15:39:02

    So glad that you are ok!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

