I Should Clarify …

…that “official” test day is Tuesday, so I actually jumped the gun this weekend.

What set off my testing frenzy this weekend was I actually heard great news from the IF sister who was wisked so quickly out of the waiting room on embryo transfer day.  She wrote last Thursday to reassure me not to panic over the cramps I was having – she had had cramps, too, and had just gotten her BFP!

So Friday I drew blood, set the timer, and ran the test, which was negative at 5 minutes.  I was of course disappointed, and I went to write the last post and let you all know.  When I walked back by about 15 minutes later, I saw a faint line had appeared.  Of course, I ran the test again, and the line appeared at about 15 minutes – 10 minutes too late.

I repeated the test again Saturday night to the same result.  I tried the test with urine, but it was completely negative.  The line only appears with serum.

So since I’m not at work today, to get my fix I bought an early pregancy test and peed on a stick.  The directions said a positive usually appears within 1 minute, and results after 10 minutes were invalid.  A faint line appeared at 5 minutes.

All together, it doesn’t sound too hopeful. 😦  It’s an evil tease.  I’m not sure what a chemical pregnancy is, but I’m wondering if this is it.  Or if I’m seeing something residual from the drugs.  It just seems that if my sister got her awsome BFP on Thursday, I should be seeing something more definitive by now, right?

So to get my mind off it, we packed up the dogs in the car and tried to go to the Austin Kite Festival at Zilker park.  But unfortunately, parking was no where to be found.  So we picked up some sandwhiches and found a little park on the river.  I was such a beautiful day, so sunny and warm.  We waded in the water and napped on the rocks, and people watched other folks and their dogs.  The sun felt so, so good on my skin.

When we got home, I tried to relax and not think about it, but who am I kidding, right?  So I cleaned house, did laundry – I even scrubbed the bathrooms! – and started weeding out in the garding.  It’s about time to plant veggies again.  Basically, I exhausted myself to sleep.  So, I’m off to crash. 

Hopefully tomorrow will go fast.  But if not, at least I’ll have a sparkling house to show for it.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 08:07:56

    I wouldn’t count this month out yet. Maybe your levels are just on the much lower end right now, especially if you shouldn’t test until tomorrow. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you!!!

    Reply

  2. samcy
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 09:02:55

    Oh wait, was this a blood +, – test and not a beta? Perhaps your HcG levels are just lower??

    Reply

  3. Katie
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 09:46:35

    Your little embryos could be late implanters, and I think a faint line is great news! Keep us updated…I’m thinking of you!

    Reply

  4. Pie
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 10:08:23

    Ummm, a faint line is a positive. This isn’t like OPK, where the line has to be dark like the test line. It sounds to me like a positive! I think you might get a decent beta tomorrow! Good luck!

    Reply

  5. Sweet Georgia
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 11:25:14

    Maybe you just had late implantation. It sounds like a positive to me. Hopefully, tomorrow’s test will prove morereliable.

    Reply

  6. Myndi
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 13:48:09

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that the beta comes out great tomorrow! I’m sorry it’s dragging like this. Hopefully today will be really busy so you can focus somewhat on something else to get you through the day!

    Reply

  7. stacey
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 15:16:09

    Wow, Stacey. I had so much to get caught up on! Just read several days’ worth of posts here and wanted you to know that I’M PULLING FOR YOU and your little embies! Oh, how I hope you will get some good, reliable tests this week that will turn out to be positive. Thinking of you and hoping, hoping, hoping!

    Reply

  8. katery
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 16:33:45

    a faint line after five minutes sounds like it could be an early positive, there’s still hope!

    Reply

  9. Txgirl
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 16:45:42

    Hi Stacey! I am optimistic for you! When I poas’d the first time, I didn’t get a positive until about 30 minutes after, and it was sooo faint. I kept looking at it the rest of the day and sometimes I’d think it was there, sometimes I wasn’t sure. So don’t give up hope!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 23:30:13

      That’s what I keep doing! I’ve got them all lined up next to my sink (in plastic baggies) 🙂 But each day, they’re not getting any darker. 😦

      Reply

  10. Michelle
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 21:18:54

    The wait is horrible I know. I would say try to be positive, don’t worry but I know that is A LOT easier said then done. I will be keeping you in my thoughts tomorrow and I have everything crossed for you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

