IVF Update (6 days post transfer)

The spotting started Tuesday at 5pm, and I only used a light days pad ’til morning.  Wednesday I used a regular days pad, and it didn’t fill completely by the time I got home.  I’d say it was a light to moderate period in terms of flow and cramps.  There was a lot of grit and material, but some of it could be the Crinone.  By this morning, it’s barely there at all, mostly just when I wipe.  I’m wearing another light days pad and there’s only a spot or two.

I don’t know what to make of it.  Yesterday I wrote a long letter to my IVF nurse Amanda and told her all of the things I was thinking, worried about, felt I should’ve done, wished I would’ve done from the beginning of the cycle.  I was pretty thorough about all my concerns that I really want to go over with the doc.  I didn’t hear back from her yesterday so hopefully I’ll hear something today.  I’m sure she has taken it to Dr. Silverberg and they’ll get back to me.  If this is it, and we’re not successful this time, I want to sit down and talk with him face-to-face without feeling rushed.  I want a plan next time.  I want it all to be well-controlled.  The anal side in me is taking over.

Since returning to work, I’ve had so many women tell me their storeis (both IVF and natural conception pregnancies), and bleeding early on seems really common.  Some even had light periods for a month or two in a row.  So I’m holding on to a little hope, deep down, and I’m planning on what I’d like to do differently next time.

Thank you, each and every one of you, who have written to me, or have read my story and are sending good thoughts my way.  It means so much.  Each piece of encouragement lightens my heart, and each piece of advice gives me something more to consider.

Thanks for being there.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 12:39:58

    Checking back to let you know I’m still here for you. I wish there was an immediate way to know if it worked or not. It would make this all so much easier. Whether you need to have a sit down with your doctor or not, and I’m hoping with all my being it’s not, it’s good you were able to write those questions and concerns out. Sometimes doctor’s don’t realize how rushed they make things. Sending you positive thoughts and vibes!! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 11, 2010 @ 14:07:31

      I know, Kari, it’s the wait that really takes the emotional toil! Otherwise, we could just mourn and move on. I feel a lot better now that I’ve laid it out, too. I tried to make it all “we” so it doesn’t sound like blaming. I just really want to be able to ask questions without feeling rushed, and to have a better plan in place next time. I really like Dr. S and I think we’ll figure it out.

      Reply

  2. athena
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 12:58:09

    sending more HUGS, hope they get back to you soon!

    Reply

  3. Myndi
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 15:17:40

    I don’t have any advice except hang in there. I’m still hoping for the best for you!

    Reply

  4. katery
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 15:26:30

    you should take over, this is YOUR health-care experience, don’t forget that these people work for you and not the other way around, whatever you need from them you ask them and don’t feel weird about it, you are helping that doctor to pay for that mercedes after all! i hope the bleeding is just normal random bleeding, good luck, i;ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  5. Low Fat Lady
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 17:20:27

    My mom had periods with me for the first couple of months. So don’t give up hope yet. I like your idea of writing down all your thoughts/concerns and sitting down with the doctor to talk about them. *hugs*

    Reply

  6. Christy W
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 21:49:22

    Hold on to that hope!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m not letting go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

