Where the hell did the last week go?

I can’t believe it’s been a week already!  After months and months of waiting, all of the sudden everything is happening really, really fast!

Mom came and stayed half a week with us.  My most awesome husband took a day off to help mom make an online resume and find and fill out job applications online.  She was just getting so overwhelmed by it all!  Just today a friend of hers sent her a lead on an HR job with the county in north Austin.  It would mean she would have to live with me or my brother in Austin during the week and commute home to live with Dad on the weekends.  I know it will be really hard on them, but Dad has said if Mom finds a good job in Austin, he will start putting his resume out here, too.  I would SO love for them to be closer.  Especially if we are successful with IVF, I want my mama close by!

The other day I noticed my beautiful new couch pillows were getting dirty, so I banned the dogs from the couch.  But for some reason whenever Nana stays with us, I’m constantly finding them napping peacefully where they know they’re not allowed.  Mom actually made me leave Dude alone, although she did promise she’d wash all the pillows.  Spoiled brats.  It’s my couch!

Nana lets me sleep on the couch

Evil Kitty (Kelly)‘s kittens are 2 1/2 weeks now, and they are huge and fat!  They have the biggest, roundest little bellies.  They’re so darn cute!  We’ve been calling the all black one “Batman” and the one with the white tummy “Kid.”  I dunno why.  They’ll get new names when they get adopted, I promise!  We moved them into the big kennel in the living room last night in the hopes that the sounds and movements of the household will start to become more natural to Kelly and she’ll start to settle down some.  I hope it works!

Melissa meets the new additions

Kid says, "S'up?"

Batman's yellin', "It's too high! I'm up too high!"

On Saturday night, Troy and I went to Carnival here in Austin with my brother Chris and his wife JoAnn and some of their friends.  What a blast!  The costumes were amazing!  Some of them even had lights on them!  There were people there wearing only body paint … some of whom really shouldn’t wear body paint in public.  Ever.  Best people-watching ever!  I just love spending time with friends and family, and I had a blast! 

I just had to wear the pink wig

Chris and JoAnn

Melissa & Aaron

 I have a confession – I am the worst dog mom, ever.  I let the beasts in from the back yard last night and went right back into the kitchen to finish getting dinner ready.  I turned around to find bloody pawprints and puddles of blood everywhere!  I freaked!  I grabbed Dude and looked him over.  He looked at me like I was crazy, but he was used to it.  So I grabbed Dobby, and sure enough, I found she had ripped half a nail off one paw and it was bleeding profusely!  It’s all gnarly lookin’ and is hanging half on and half off!  How did I not hear her yelp when it happened?  How did I not notice as soon as she came in?  I totally suck!  I washed her paw and put peroxide and antibiotic ointment on it, and wrapped her little paw.  She’s been walkin’ funny with the bandage on.  I don’t think she realizes she can actually still bend the leg, so she walks everywhere with it sticking straight out in front of her.

this is my Pathetic face

 Then, our other foster kitty Abigail finally had her kittens!  Right up ’til a day or two before we weren’t even sure she was pregnant!  OMG, did she prove us wrong – six times!  Oh yeah, she squeezed out six little babies!  There’s a grey one (Puppy), a b&w spotted one (Bunny), two little white ones that look like little rats (Mouse and Lamblet), and two all black ones that we keep losing track of – they blend in with mama’s legs and tail (Birdie and Duckie).  Mom says those names are going to give them identity crises so I’m sure she’ll change them.  After the babies were born Abigail started freaking out whenever the dogs came in the house, so Mom decided to take her and her babies home with her.  I’m really glad she did.  Dad loves having animals in the house, and since Mom is home during the day she has been able to guide first time mommy Abby through feeding the babies (and not smothering or squishing any of them).  I hope the poor little girl will be able to feed all of them!

Help! I'm drowning in kittens!

huggin' the babies

I’ve decided to keep up Moo‘s website since I made it, and he’s still around to take pics and videos of.  You can catch his latest antics and pics here:   http://mookitten.wordpress.com/

On Sunday Troy and I got up early (since I couldn’t drink at Carnival the night before, it wasn’t too hard to get up) and partook of the most awesome hotel breakfast buffet!  Omelettes and English muffins and pancakes, oh my!  And bacon!  Who wouldn’t get up for bacon?!

Then it was off to Concealed Handgun Class.  Oh yes, I’m on hormones and I’m armed!  All of Austin, beware!  Actually, I’m not armed.  Troy took the class last fall and really enjoyed it.  I meant to take it with him but couldn’t go when he did, and just finally got around to it.  The instructor is a crusty ex-military dude who scared the crap out of me.  You could tell he was irritated that we weren’t military recruits!  Needless to say, I was nervous enough that I didn’t do great on the shooting part, but I did pass (got 196 out of 250, argh).  But I did get 100% on the written test!  So even if I can’t actually hit a murderer with a bullet, I can at least yell the law at him really loudly!  Just as good, right?  Yeah, I’ve gotta hit the gun range before I get me some heat of my own. 😉

 Then on Tuesday, it snowed!  In Austin!  It has to be a sign … eight kittens being born in the house … snow … strange and unusual things are happening!  So a pregnancy for an infertile can’t be completely out of the question, right?

So, on to the important stuff!  IVF Update:  I started the birth control pills 3 weeks ago.  The last week of pills, I had a mock transfer.  It’s just like an IUI where they insert a catheter that helps them measure the dimesions of my uterus.  I read that if they hit the back of the uterus it can cause strong contractions (cramps), so they do the mock transfer ahead of time.  It helps them to be sure that there are no abnormalities in the structure of the uterus, and to ensure that when they do the embryo transfer, they won’t hit the top of the uterus and cause those cramps (which can inhibit implantation). 

On the same day, I started 10 units of Lupron, a shot in the tummy once a day every morning.  Oh, and we had to pay for the lab procedures that would be done at Austin IVF up front – a $3700 payment!  I think that’s the highest one-time payment we’ve ever made.  Austin IVF will care for the eggs after they are harvested, watch for fertilization, perform ICSI if necessary, and incubate and monitor the embryos.  Since they don’t have any insurance contracts, their fees always have to be paid up front.  We’re lucky that our insurance will eventually reimburse us.  Especially since if we are not successful, we’ll need the same amount for the next round.

The next week (last week) I had a baseline ultrasound.  That night I started 225 units of Gonal F in the evening, and another 225 dose in the am (that’s 3 shots in the tummy a day).  Sometimes the shots will sting a little, but most of the time it’s almost painless.  What I didn’t realize was that I was supposed to lower my dose of Lupron to 5 units on the day I started Gonal F.  I just realized the error on Monday – and panicked!  I emailed my IVF nurse Amanda right away, and she said it would be ok but to switch to 5 units from then on.  I’m so glad I didn’t screw up the whole cycle!

I had a follow-up appt and b/w on Monday.  My E2 was 536, a good solid number.  And best of all, the u/s tech counted 17 follicles on one side, and 13 on the other!  That’s 30 follicles!  Sizes ranged from 4 to 11.  I am the Egg Queen!   But somehow, later in the day, we had another snafu.  After the doc saw my u/s and E2, he decided to lower my Gonal F dose, but I didn’t get the message, so I took the same dose (225) in the evening and next morning.  When the mistake was realized, they brought me right back in today for another E2 and u/s.  My E2 skyrocketed to 1600, and my lining is 8.2

Dr. Silverberg counted 19 follicles, which alarmed me at first.  How did I drop from 30 to 19?  I asked the nurse, and she said the u/s tech counts everything, but the docs usually just count the biggest ones – the ones they’re most likely to aspirate during the egg retrieval.   She tells me 19 is a great number, and by the time I go for retrieval there may be more as some of the smaller ones catch up.

I’m not sure why the high E2 level is bad.  The appointment went so fast I forgot to ask.  So anyways, tonight I don’t take a shot at all.  Tomorrow, it’s 75 units of Gonal F and 5 units of Lupron in the morning, and once they get my E2 they’ll call with my new dose of Gonal F for the evening and next morning.  It’s back to see Dr. Silverberg on Friday at 2pm for another u/s and E2.  And then he goes out of town to a conference for the weekend, argh.  He did say today that he thinks the egg retrieval will likely be Monday or Tuesday, with embryo transfer on Thursday or Friday.  So I could be pregnant next week!  I could be pregnant next week.  I could be pregnant next week!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meinsideout
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 07:19:20

    WOW, WOW, WOW!!! That is fabulous news – what an animal fiesta! Your follie count sounds amazing!!!!! I cannot wait for all of the updates!

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 08:10:01

    Yippee on all counts!! Kittens, snow, follies!! Woo hoo!! Good luck and I will be reading your blog and cheering those follies on from DC!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Pie
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 09:56:27

    Wow, you are cruising right along! With lots of animal friends to help you too!

    BTW – they want to keep your E2 in check because if it gets really high, you could be at risk for OHSS. You have lots of eggs which is great, great, great, but with that comes the risk of OHSS. Hopefully not for you, but that explains why they are slowing you down a bit.

    Can’t wait to hear how it all goes!!

    Reply

  4. K
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 10:40:03

    Glad to see you are back to blogging! You have been missed! Seems like you’ve had a lot going on! Good luck with your cycle- I am thinking warm and eggy thoughts for you!

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 11:39:32

    Wow! Your IVf is truckin’ along! Good luck with the ER and ET next week!

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:02:34

    WOW well you have quite a lot going on. It sounds like things are going well. I am hoping and praying that the IVF turns out FANTASTIC. Everything is crossed for you!

    My dog is in our bed and on the couch so much that the other day he was sleeping on the floor and I was seriously concerned and thought something was wrong. Nope…just spoiled!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 01, 2010 @ 00:18:18

      lolol! Definitely sounds like your dog has you trained! 🙂 When we got the dog I pictured her in a cute little dog bed next to our bed. Yeah, right!

      Reply

  7. Myndi
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:03:51

    You are making great progress! I remember how exciting it was to be at this point!

    In terms of the snafus, I think you’re fine. Happens to most of us and I think the clinics expect it, especially the first cycle.

    19 is great! Especially when you still have plenty of time to grow more, but even if you didn’t…there are lots of people who don’t get anywhere near that so you are definitely in great territory. So, so excited for you!!!

    Reply

  8. katery
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 19:41:23

    19 is AWESOME!!!! i wouldn’t worry too much about the medication errors, i think EVERYONE makes them, it’s a lot to remember.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 01, 2010 @ 00:20:18

      I think we should all get a free run of IVF first just to practice! Or it should come with your own free nurse to live with you and give you all the medications, you know?

      Reply

  9. Christy W
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 16:09:28

    So many words I am so clueless about, Stacey, but I know I can still just cross all my fingers, toes, and even my eyes, and hope that you will be pregnant NEXT WEEK!!!!! I’m so glad it looks like you are a great candidate and I can’t wait to see your BFP post!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

