Update … and IVF #1

So, it’s been a little while…

The holidays were good.  I lost 32 lbs, and gained back around 1o.  Gotta hit the diet again.  Where does my motivation always go?

Moo is back!  Twice he was adopted, and twice he came back to us.  We finally clued in to what the universe was yelling at us, and Moo is now officially our own.  I’ve never met a happier, goofier kitty.  Why it took so long for us to figure it out, I’ll never know.

Hmm, which toy to eat first?

The landlords raised our rent $165 a month!!  They’re not making money on the house, they’re just trying to stay afloat, aren’t we all.  I don’t want to stay here if our rent is going to stay this high, but they’ve also offered to sell us the house.  We really love it here.  I know it sounds silly, but the house has really good vibes, good energy.  The only thing I’d like to change is I’d like a nice, big master bath.  We’ve had a couple of contractors come by to take a look and get us some estimates.  We’d need time to save a downpayment, and we need to talk to the bank.  Who knows if we’d even qualify?  It’s a lot to think about.

Troy and I took my folks to see Avatar in 3D at the Alamo Drafthouse.  Wow, what a movie!  Even Mom, who is not a sci-fi fan in the least, really like it!  It was the first time my folks had ever been to the Drafthouse, and they loved it!

We have two foster kitties right now, Kelly and Abigail.  I had taken Abigail in to the Austin Pets Alive vet to be fixed, so she could attend her first adoption event.  While I was there, another foster mom came in, frantic because her very first foster kitty Kelly had proven to be hard to handle, and they’d just discovered she was pregnant.  It was just too much!  Since Abigail was our only foster and was on her way to being adopted, I offered to take Kelly.  Who, incidentally, is completely adorable, and completely insane.  So far she had attacked and mauled two brooms, a fuzzy slipper, an errant roll of toilet paper that got in the way, Troy’s left hand and both of mine.  Anyways, I went back to the vet at the end of the day to get Abigail – who, it turns out, is also pregnant.  Well, at least someone in the house can get pregnant.  Hopefully all those pregnancy vibes are catching…

So adorable, soooo evil

Just a week later, Kelly had two little black and white kittens, who are 9 days old now.  They’re adorable, fuzzy little balls of fur!  We can’t get close very often, but hopfully as they get older we’ll get to pick ’em up more.

Kitten 1 - eyes just open at 9 days

Kitten 2 - eyes not open yet; 9 days

She's just about to take me out...

The folks are doing alright, but Mom is still looking for a job, and things are tight for them.  Keep ’em in your prayers, that the right job will find mom soon!  Last year was a really hard one for them, with Dad starting the new job and having to move three times before finding the right place to live.  I’d love for 2010 to be the year they really start seeing the blessings flow!

We’ve started our first IVF cycle!  It actually started three weeks ago, when I went on birth control pills.  Last Monday we had our first doc visit.  We signed all the papers and I had a mock transfer, and started Lupron.  It’s a shot I give myself in the tummy every day at 8:30 am.  Apparently Lupron suppresses the LH surge, so I won’t lay my eggs before they’re ready to harvest them.  This Wednesday I have an u/s and start 225 of Gonal F in the am and 225 in the evening. That’s a lot of shots in the tummy, I’m thinking.

Last Wednesday Troy and I went to an IVF orientation class in the evening.  I’m really glad we went.  I feel like we learned a lot, and although we have a lot of hope, we also feel realistic about our chances.  We got to meet the docs and the people who work in the lab.  It really made everything feel more personal, like we have our own personal baby-making team working with us to make it happen!   My heart just broke for younger (than us) couple who kept asking questions at the end about genetic testing.  It sounded like they’d had been successful at getting pregnant a few times but they had all ended due to genetic issues.  That seems crueler somehow that never being successful at getting pregnant at all, I think. 

I’m super-stoked about starting the Gonal F next week.  It feels like finally we’ll be picking up the pace!  Let’s go!

Love to you all!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 00:46:01

    Glad to see you are still here! I was wondering where you went!

    Good luck with the IVF, please keep us posted.

    Reply

  2. meinsideout
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 07:01:09

    yay!! good to hear from you! Those cats are so amazing – I love the protective mother! You guys are really amazing to take them in.

    I am so psyched to hear that IVF#1 is underway – I am hoping that you will be “one and done”.

    ((HUGS))

    Reply

  3. Pie
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 11:11:45

    Hey! Welcome back to bloggy-land! Glad to hear you are doing well. Good luck with this cycle!

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 12:16:11

    Welcome back – you were missed! I’m so excited for you regarding IVF and look forward to following you on this new journey…congrats!!

    Reply

  5. Myndi
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 13:18:14

    Hey you! I have been thinking about you and missing you so much! So glad to hear you are in the midst of IVF #1. Very exciting!! Of course, wishing you tons of luck! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 24, 2010 @ 00:48:16

      Oh, Myndi, I’m so sorry I wasn’t there when you needed support! I’m so happy that you were successful at IVF, and your FET has to be the one! You are an IVF champ – I’ve never read about anyone else coming out with so many eggs! You get an IVF gold medal!!

      Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 24, 2010 @ 23:11:43

      For some reason, I can’t write comments on your page. When I click on the number, nothing happens. Is there a trick to it?

      Reply

  6. Low Fat Lady
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 18:27:54

    Glad to see you back blogging and doing well. I hope this ivf cycle works for you. Such cute kitties. I also hope buying the house your in comes through.

    Reply

  7. Christy W
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 19:37:57

    I’m so glad to hear an update from you, Stacey! Those kitties are super adorable and I’m glad you adopted the one that kept coming back. That so sucks that your rent got raised but maybe you can eventually get a good loan with a good rate!
    I’m glad to hear you’re doing IVF and I don’t really know anything about it, but let me know when the right times are to start praying and wishing and sending positive energy!!!!! You so deserve it.
    I’m thinking of you!
    Christy

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 16, 2010 @ 21:08:48

      Hey, Christy! I’ve missed talkin’ with ya! I’m gonna catch up on your blog tonight. I hope ya’ll are doing great! Thanks for checkin’ in after all this time!

      Reply

  8. Michelle
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 22:37:59

    I am glad things are going well and I am excited for you and your IVF cycle. I will be keeping everything crossed for you!!!!

    Reply

  9. lillyshephard
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 14:51:17

    so good to hear from you again…and wishing you all the best on your ivf cycle!!

    Reply

  10. katery
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 18:51:07

    hooray, you’re back!! double hooray your first (and hopefully only) round of ivf!!!

    Reply

  11. soul-in-progress
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 22:33:12

    I have nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award! To receive it please come to
    http://soul-in-progress.blogspot.com/
    and copy the award and follow the instructions posted on my page. Congrats!

    Reply

  12. Katie
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 14:34:03

    Good luck with your IVF cycle! I can’t wait to hear more about it1

    Reply

  13. stacey
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 16:29:31

    Been thinking about you lately! So glad for an update. Wishing you the very best with this IVF cycle! Keep us posted!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

