Moo Has His Own Website!(and, oh yeah – I’m still alive)

Contrary to rumor, I am still alive!  I made it thru Thanksgiving without falling off the diet wagon, only to be derailed by a nasty chest cold/sinus infection.  So, 2 1/2 weeks later, I’m picking myself up, dusting the popcorn crumbs off my chest, and climbing wearily back onto the wagon.  Happily, I only gained back 1.2 lbs, so I should be back to dropping pounds in no time.
My sister-in-law hosted Thanksgiving at her house.  She was so excited to hostess her very first holiday on her own, and in their new house!  Her family is really sweet and we enjoyed spending some time with them.  In the evening Troy and I went to see New Moon, which I really enjoyed.  The next day Troy had to work, and as soon as he was off we headed up to Midlothian (near Fort Worth) to spend a long weekend with Troy’s family.  We got to see his aunt and uncle, his favorite cousins and their families, and we visited his dad’s gravesite.  And we had dinner with one of his closest friends from way back and his family.  I’m so glad we were able to see everyone and I wish we could’ve stayed longer!

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks!  It’s weird the way time accelerates between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  We were just about to pay off the $650 vet bill for Annie’s UTI when whammo! my Ford has to go in the shop.  $700 later, and we’re trying to squeeze out a few Christmas presents and still pay the bills.  So dear hubby and I are werkin’ the overtime like ya wouldn’t believe. 

On the pet fostering front, so far we’ve been really lucky!  Our first two fosters, mama Padme and kitten Ewok, have been adopted.  Austin Pets Alive decided to put them in the PetSmart cattery and they were adopted from there, so I didn’t get to meet their adopters.  But I’m told Padme went to a single girl just out of college who fell in love with her from the moment she walked by the cattery.  Padme was extra shy, so I’m glad she went to a home where she’s the only pet.  And Ewok was adopted just after Halloween by a sweet lady who, I’m glad to report, immediately changed her name.

Padme and Ewok

Next were teenagers Libby and Leif, and they’ve been adopted together by a sweet lawyer lady who didn’t have any other pets, so they’re ruling the roost now:

Leif and Libby (now Lily)

 Moo was our next foster, and the sickest baby we’ve brought home so far.  He’s still looking for his forever home, since it took him longer to get well enough to be ready for adoption.  We’ve really thought about keeping him, but I want so much for him to be with someone who doesn’t have many other pets.  He deserves to be king, not one of four, you know?  He’s such an awesome little guy, I’ve created a blog just for him: http://mookitten.wordpress.com/  He was completely blind when we brought him home, but now he’s a beautiful 4 mth old boy.  I hope he finds his adoring hoomans soon!

just took this pic of Moo a couple of hours ago. he's so darn adorable

Next were the two little kitten sisters, Hippie Chick and Flower Child:

Flower Child just looks innocent - I actually just pulled her out of the tree

Hippie Chick didn't even pretend to be good - the cookie batter was just too tempting!

Flower went to a family that got her for their 11 yr old daughter for Christmas.  She just went today, and the mom called to tell me she is a big hit and is going to be completely spoiled!  Since the mom works from home, she’ll get lots of attention and love.  Her name is Star now.  Hippie Chick went to a retired couple who had cat-sat their grand-daughter’s cat for a college semester and were missing the kitty terribly.  Chickie – now Sophie – is the spoiled-est kitten, ever!  She is queen of the house!  Her new mama is head-over-heels in love with her.

At the same time we got the tuxedo sisters, we brought home 3 bottle babies, Haas (black kitten), Cami (calico) and Angel (grey). 

Haas on drugs - he was fixed that day

Haas was adopted by a sweet newly-wed couple who were looking for a love-bug to keep her company when she worked from home.  That fuzzy ladies man fit the bill perfectly!  They told me his new name but I forgot it (it was complicated).  But I know he is adored and loved!  From the time they picked him up, they never put him down!

Cami discovers her tail

Cami was adopted by a really nice couple and she is the only pet.  I’m so glad she’s getting all of the love and attention!  The wife fell in love with her when Moo started giving her a bath at an adoption event.  Her name is Lady now.

Poor Angel - it turns out when wet, she's acutally just a giant pair of kitten eyes

Tiniest, sassiest kitten ever

Angel loves everyone, but especially Troy.  She follows him everywhere, just talking and sassing the whole time.  She has had a stomach infection that has kept her from gaining enough weight to be fixed, so she’s still with us.  She’s only 1.5lbs!  Troy has re-named her Jessica Alba.  I have a feeling she’s already found her ‘forever home.’

We just took in a new foster, Dominic.  I’ve renamed him Pooh Bear.  He’s the biggest cat I’ve ever seen!  He’s a fuzzy, puffy white and beige 4 yr old boy, and he looks like Winnie the Pooh!  His family was evicted and they left him behind, and he was burned somehow (probably by chemicals) on his face.  His wounds are healing great and his eyes are almost clear.  He’s staying with Mom and Dad for some one-on-one TLC for a week.  They’ll bring him back next week and I’ll get him fixed and microchipped.  I think after that another foster mom who specializes in getting giant kitties adopted is going to take him.

Lastly, we have Chuck, the chihuahua puppy.  Yes, I know, one of these things is NOT like the others.  He was a last-minute rescue.  All of his siblings had awful diseases or infections, and Chuck was the only healthy one so APA was desperate to find him a home with no sick fosters.  He’s only here ’til he gets fixed next week, then he’ll go to another foster family.  The dog program is a little different, the families who keep them ’til they get fixed are different from the foster families who get them adopted.  It’s kind of nice, ’cause we get to enjoy him for a while, but we don’t have to do the hard work of getting him to adoption events.  And the dog foster families who specialize in adoptions are also trained to teach the dogs basic obedience, manners and potty training.

"Chuck" just doesn't seem to fit him

 And our usual zoo of dogs Dobby and Dude and cats Lila, Poppy and Annie are doing just fine.  Annie has been having some litter box problems when she poos.  I think she’s getting older, maybe the tumors in her ears have metastasized.  She’s always sweet and loving, but she gets confused easily, poor baby.

So that’s what we’ve been up to!  Started my period a few days ago.  I was a little disappointed.  Deep down I really wanted to be one of those ultra annoying couples who surprisingly and unexpectedly get pregnant while they’re “on a break.”  Alas, it is apparently not meant to be.  But, this means that my next cycle should be in about 6 weeks, which will put us at starting IVF at the beginning of February.  And that’s exciting. 🙂

Sorry I haven’t been reading, my sisters.  But I’m ready to come back and catch up.  The mental and emotional break from TTC has been good for me.  Not reading the blogs helped me to keep the panic at bay, but now I’m so, so ready to get the ball rolling again.  I feel renewed vigor and (cautiously) renewed hope.  It’ll take me a while, but I’ll be commenting and catching up as quickly as I can.  I think of you all every day, even when I don’t keep up as I should.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meinsideout
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 09:02:28

    Good to hear from you – wow, you have been busy! Chuck is super cute and I hope he fares well.

    Reply

  2. Sweet Georgia
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 09:05:51

    Nice to see you posting again! What a menagerie you have going there with all of those kitties!

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 10:50:56

    Glad to see you are doing well!!

    Reply

  4. Myndi
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 13:14:18

    Happy to hear things are going well, and that you’re back! Woohoo! Missed ya!

    Reply

  5. Low Fat Lady
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 14:32:55

    So glad that your feeling better and doing well. It was good to hear from you again 🙂

    Reply

  6. katery
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 22:27:43

    oh my gosh, what cute little babies! good to hear from you!

    Reply

  7. FRANCES
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 06:46:05

    Thanks that was a nice post to go through. I will be sure to read through the rest of your blog.

    Reply

  8. colon
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 14:21:32

    Awesome read

    Reply

Leave a Reply

