Ups ‘n Downs

Still slogging through the weight loss thing, waiting for IVF time to come around!  I haven’t started my period yet, so it’s now officially too late to start the IVF process for this year.  The Texas Fertility Center is closed for a few weeks over the holidays, and they don’t start anyone who might end up needing egg retrieval or embryo transfer during that time.  *big sigh*  Oh well, at least it will give me time to lose more weight.

Baby-Making Meal Plan Update:  I’m down 23 lbs at exactly 5 weeks.  I have now lost 10% of my body weight, which is the recommended amount before starting IVF.  The extra time will put to good use getting even more off!  It would be great to lose another 23-30 in the next 5 weeks!

All the little kittens are at the spay/neuter clinic today getting fixed.  They’ll have their adoption event debut this Saturday!  I hope we find wonderful homes for them before the holidays.  Moo, the formerly blind kitten, is recovering from his last surgery and will be ready to go to his first adoption event the Saturday after Thanksgiving.  We’ve all gotten so attached to him.  We really thought about keeping him, but I think we’d be short-changing him if we added him to our crazy zoo.  He derserves a family of his own where he can get tons of attention!  He’s going to be the featured pet on the APA blog next week!

Mom and I made it through our whirlwind of dr appointments.  *phew*  That was my craziest “long weekend” to date!  All my stuff came back normal, but unfortunately Mom’s mammogram showed some dense tissue on one side, and her bone scan showed some significant loss on the other side.  She had a benign tumor removed from her lymph nodes near her breast when we were kids, and sometimes the scar tissue shows up.  She’s thinking that’s what it is, but they’re repeating the mammogram today. 

Mom had a bad car accident about 10 years ago and has had back and hip pain ever since, but it’s been getting pretty bad for the last year.  I’m thinking that the bone loss may be osteoporosis and arthritis brought on by the accident.  Hopefully we’ll learn more about that tomorrow, too.

On top of it all, car problems are doggin’ us.  My old Explorer seems to be limping pretty badly these days, and the VW bus isn’t in top shape yet.  We have a long-term plan to get the bus in top shape next year, but we didn’t count on the Ford giving out on me now.  Troy’s truck broke down this spring and would’ve cost us $2000 to fix, but it was 15 years old, so we ended up buying a used Honda Element, which he loves.  We really don’t want to take on another car payment right now, though.  I’m hoping to get out of the office shortly so I can make it by the shop to have the Explorer checked out. 

Time seems to be moving so much faster since we started the break from trying to conceive.  I think when time isn’t broken into two enternity (I mean week) waits, it snaps out of molasses-time and back into fast-forward time.  I know I haven’t been reading the blogs much lately, and that’s mostly due to full, busy days.  But I think it might also be just a little bit due to how panicky I feel inside when I realize everyone else seems to be moving on towards their BFP’s, while I’m stuck in lala land.  That’s selfish.  But I’m working on enjoying this time, enjoying getting the weight off, and being patient that the right time is just over the bend in 2010.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 17:32:50

    Keep enjoying your break and congratulations on the weight loss!! Hoping things turn out fine with your mom. Hoping the kitties find wonderful homes this weeked too!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 19:09:55

    It is not selfish to be a little jelous that others are moving forward when you are stuck. I’m feeling the same way right now.

    That is so awesome that you have lost so much weight. With the extra wait time you will only do even better. I hope the time passes quickly for you *hugs*

    Reply

  3. meinsideout
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 22:29:43

    Incredible job on the weight loss!!!

    Reply

  4. Sweet Georgia
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 10:00:12

    Congratulations on the weight loss! Sorry you missed this year for IVF.

    Reply

  5. Amber
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 10:23:22

    I’m stuck in la-la land with you right now. Feel like my stupid m/c just took up a bunch of months that I could have been trying. Sounds stupid, I know. We’ll get back in the game soon.

    Reply

  6. Pie
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 10:40:51

    I’m in lala land these days too, you are not alone with that. And you are seriously kicking tush on your diet! That counts as moving forward on the TTC front, in a different, but equally important way.

    Reply

  7. lifebytheday
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 11:01:41

    I know exactly what you mean…after living and breathing it for so long, it feels weird – but good! – to not be thinking about it EVERY DAY. There definitely is a sense of being left behind a bit though…but maybe now we’ll be on the same cycle in January! 😉

    And congrats again about the weight loss – you are amazing!!

    Reply

  8. sunflowerchilde
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 11:07:35

    I really know what you mean, and I’m sorry I’m one of the BFPs. I really hope it’s your turn soon. I think it’s great that you’re using your time productively and I am incredibly impressed that you’ve lost so much weight so quickly.

    I’m also really impressed with your kitty-fostering. That sounds like a really nice idea, but my cat would NEVER tolerate another kitty in the house. Maybe when she is gone I’ll look into fostering, though.

    Have a good weekend!

    Reply

  9. Christy W
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 22:02:41

    I’m sorry you didn’t get to start your cycle before the new year 😦 I know it’s so hard to wait. This is going to happen for you! You are about the most opposite of selfish that I can even imagine. I’m so pulling for you. Stinky to wait. Good for you for making the best of it. We’ll be here waititng with you!
    Hang in there, chica!

    Reply

  10. Jessica
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 16:36:03

    Congrats on the weight loss!! I’m sorry you won’t be able to have IVF this year…it sucks waiting. Wishing you continued success on losing weight.

    Reply

  11. Kate
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 15:31:44

    Wow, you are such an inspiration! That is AWESOME!

    Reply

  12. stacey
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 23:24:53

    23 pounds?!?! That is incredible. Keep up the good work, girl! Hope your mom’s tests come back normal.

    Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  13. mybumpyjourney
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 12:25:23

    I am super impressed at your weight loss! That is awesome! WAY TO GO!!
    I hope your mom’s spot turns out to be just the scar tissue. Good luck!

    Reply

  14. Christy W
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 20:13:27

    Hey! I’m just checking in on you-seeing what’s new-how you are. Update us when you can!
    Happy Holidays 🙂

    Reply

  15. katery
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 08:55:16

    hope your doing ok 🙂

    Reply

  16. birdsandsquirrels
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 07:02:32

    I’m just checking in too, wondering how you are doing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

