Whaddaya Know, I Forgot to Name This Post

Hello, ya’ll! 

Id’ve written sooner but I’ve had some minor computer troubles:

Mini-Moo's!

We have new fosters!  Two little black and white kittens, 4 week old siblings.  They were dumped at the pound by an owner who didn’t want them where of course they picked up a minor eye infection, so the pound was going to euthanize them.  There were actually two others that were brown but another foster mom took those.  Fortunately the infection was really minor and is almost cleared up already!  Yay!  They’re a little shy but warm up quickly.  Although they’re not sure they like being picked up yet, they love to be loved on.  They play and go, go, go non-stop!

I’m actually embarrassed to admit that I can’t tell if they’re boys or girls.  The pound paperwork says they’re male, but they look female.  The tinier one has really fuzzy fur and is actually the only one with the minor eye infection.  I’ve been calling him? her? Panda Bear.  The other one seems completely healthy and has softer, silkier fur and a big black spot under his/her nose.  If it’s a boy, I was going to call him Tom Selleck (or maybe just Selleck).  I thought Kitler was funny but Troy thought it was in bad taste.  If it’s a girl I could go with Frida Kahlo (a Hispanic artist who was as famous for her unibrow and mustache as her art).  Any name suggestions?  I’ve gotta find names that will help them get adopted.  Taking all suggestions!  I’ve gotten Salt and Pepper from Dad.  Or I might go with Mo and Jo (get it?  Mojo? I’m so funny.  And, they’re not gender-specific). 

Anyways . . . on to more good news!  Baby-Making Meal Plan Update:  17lbs at exactly 3 weeks!  WooHoo! 

Fortunately, there’s actually no bad news.  No escapades, no mistakes,  no embarrassing smudges on the front of my scrubs in public.  It’s been a refreshingly embarrassment-free and smoke-free week.  And my house actually smells like a house again!

However, there has been an abundance of kitty poo.  We now have a second litter of kittens squatting in hour house!  Why two litters?  Because I’m a dumbass!  Since Mom and Dad decided to keep Moo at their house, and Leif and Libby were adopted, it felt like we had a little bit of an empty nest so I let the director know we could take a kitty or two.  And voila!  The two litters appeared on the same day!  I just couldn’t say no.  Since they’re all little kittens, they should get adopted really quickly, so I don’t think they’ll be with us long.

The Austin Pets Alive Bottle Baby Trailer takes newborn kittens from the pound (the pound euthanizes all kittens that can’t eat solid food yet) and volunteers bottle feed them every few hours ’til they start eating solid food.  Then they go to foster homes to be socialized ’til they’re old enough to be fixed and ‘chipped.  The BBT volunteers were desperate to get the healthy weaned babies out so they could take in some newborns.  So now we have a litter of three bottle babies!  Since they’ve been handled since birth they’re friendly and completely fearless!  They were named already:  Hoss is the biggest one – twice and big as the other two! – and is all black;  Cami is a sweet little tortoise-shell calico; and the little gray runt of the litter, Angel, is an incredibly tiny, mouthy imp!  She’s definitely the smartest – she thinks up all kinds of trouble that the other two are only two happy to join in!  It’s endlessly amusing to set them loose and let them have the run of the house!

Hoss, Cami and Ange

 I’m really not a crazy cat lady.  Really.  I promise. 

Mom and Moo are staying with us for a few days starting Wednesday.  I’m off  on Thursday and Mom and I have a slew of doctor appointments.  Mom hasn’t been to a doctor in over a year and I’m worried that with all that’s going on with them she’s not taking care of herself.  So I set her up to see all my docs!  Thursday morning we have our yearly well-woman appointments (oh joy, yet another man up my woohoo.  Oh well, it’s not like it’s virgin territory or anything).  Then we drop off Moo and the two black and white kittens for check-ups at the APA clinic.  Next, Mom and I are both going to the dermatologist; me to ask about skin repair and anti-aging options (after a childhood spent on the beach in Asia, I need it) and Mom to have a body check for scary moles. Then it’s back to the clinic to pick up the kitties, then Mom heads to the dentist while I hide in the car.  Gaaa, I hate the dentist.

At 3pm I have an appointment at a weight loss clinic that my BFF Judy has started going to called the Texas Weight Loss Center.  They do B12 injections for energy and injections for fat liquidation called Lipoden.  I know I’m probably overdo-ing it.  I just want to get the weight off FAST so I can get back to baby making!  They also give scripts for Adipex and phentermine, but I’ve done phentermine before and it didn’t do squat.  I figure B12 can’t hurt, though.  What do ya’ll think about weight loss (and weight loss drugs) while TTC?

Friday (my regular day off), it’s mammograms for us both.  Mom’s sister died of breast cancer so we both should be getting annual boobie squashings but we’re both a few years behind.  Then Mom sees her hematologist in the afternoon (she sometimes needs iron infusions for anemia).  He’s one of our cancer docs that I used to work for before the merger.  I’ve missed working for him a lot and I’m really looking forward to catching up with everyone at my old stomping grounds!  BFF Judy works at that location, too.

So that’s my exciting week to come!  Thursday is the end of week 4 of the Baby-Making Meal Plan and I can’t wait to see how far I’ve gotten!  Come on, 20 lbs loss!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meinsideout
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 07:47:33

    Wow girl, you are busy!!!! I would check with your RE regarding any drugs for weight loss. Some can be detrimental for TTC.

    Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 08:12:38

    That is so awesome that you have lost so much weight. Go you 🙂 I love hearing your cute kitty stories. I wish I could have seen my kitty when she was so small.

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 09:27:26

    Congrats on the weight loss!!!

    Reply

  4. Sweet Georgia
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 09:38:34

    Congrats on being down 17lbs. That is awesome! You are so generous to open your home to all of those kitties. They are very lucky!

    Reply

  5. Amber
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 10:38:09

    My husband is a veterinarian and I still can’t tell boy cats from girl cats. Everytime he says what a kitten is, I look at him like he’s the smartest man in the world. Hey, congrats on the weight loss!!!

    Reply

  6. mybumpyjourney
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 13:05:01

    Those kittens are so cute!! I like Mo and Jo. Hee hee.

    Weight loss drugs and TTC- I would be very leery of them. Esp. ifyou haven’t had luck with them before. I know you want this weigh of quickly, but you don’t want to do unhealthy. You have to make sure you don’t deplete your nutrition or put your body under too much strain- then when you start the TTC again your body is behind the eightball nutrionally. That is definately not good.
    It may not be what you want to hear-but get moving! Do you have a wii? that we EA active sports is awesome. Cardio, cardio, cardio….and stregth/weight training to keep buring more calories all day long.

    Good luck sweetie! I am right here with ya on this weight loss conundrum. (sp?)

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 14:12:57

      I DO have a Wii! Now if only I could figure out how to turn it on! That’s good advice, though. I think I’ll get hubby to show me how tonight!

      I like Mo and Jo, too 😉

      Reply

  7. Myndi
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 13:55:48

    That is great news on the weight loss! 17 lbs in 3 weeks is uber impressive! At that rate, 3 more lbs should be nothing!

    Reply

  8. Christy W
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 20:34:59

    You’re gonna make 20 pounds no problem!!!!!! I am AMAZED at your wil! You rock.
    Lovely kitty pictures, as usual. I’m glad you have been “smoke free” this week! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 20:38:57

      I’m getting tired of having willpower *sigh*. Tonight my husband actually ate a slice of peanut butter pie IN THE SAME ROOM. It was all I could do not to grab the styrofoam to-go box and lick it clean. I’m actually quite pathetic.

      Reply

  9. Kari
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 20:51:51

    Congrats on the weight loss!! And Kudos to you for all the doctor’s appointments and taking care of your Mom’s and your health!! And you are truly my hero for helping those little kitties!! What an absolutely wonderfully, selfless thing to do!! 🙂 That much give you so much satisfaction to know you’re saved their little lives!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 10, 2009 @ 17:04:06

      Aw shucks . . . actually, I wanna take care of Mom ’cause we all know, nobody ever loves ya as much as your Mom, you know? Who else will listen to me whine? The kitties are endless free entertainment! I’m just a sucker for unconditional affection! 😀

      Reply

  10. Michelle
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 21:15:45

    You are busy busy busy! Congrat on the weight loss! I am impressed you are doing an AWESOME job!

    Reply

  11. iamstacey
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 17:04:48

    Thanks, Michelle! I just wanna be skinny already! I’ve been at this a month – shouldn’t I be a size 2 by now?

    Reply

  12. katery
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 23:02:28

    wow, that is impressive weight loss, congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

