Random Musings from a Sloopy Mind

It’s funny how I never fantasize about being pregnant or having a baby anymore.  It’s probably a side-effect of the hope muscle sprain.  Up ’til we decided to start trying, I never really thought about having kids.  I was so happy just to be married, I figured we had all we needed.  The baby hopes and fantasies didn’t really kick in ’til we started seeing the RE, then they went into overdrive!  I thought about it all the time.  Couldn’t stop browsing the net for all things pregnancy and baby.  Always had a list of baby names running through my head.  Was constantly plotting how to oust Troy from his man-cave so we could have a spare room for the Grandmas to stay in once the grandbabies came.

Now, whenever the stray baby/pregnancy thought pops into my head, my mind just seems to do this little “sloop” right around the thought – like a kid going down a slide who suddenly hits a greasy spot and shoots forward just a little bit.  Like on the way to work this morning, I’m musing over a grocery list, “get carrots, an onion, don’t forget cat litter” when I hear the name Grace on the radio and it pops into my head Grace would be a really sweet middle name for a girl *SLOOP* “Ruffles, ranch dip, oh yeah – definitely need Gas-X for Troy”…*sigh*. 

Things are getting better, though.  After the BFN, I felt so down, and I just kept dragging around.  Even when I’m sad, I usually bounce back pretty quickly, but the low energy just kept hangin’ around.  Finally last Wednesday I was hit with migraine after migraine, so I called in to work and went to the doc.  Turns out, I had been walking around with a raging case of strep throat for a week and a half!  I never would’ve known if I hadn’t gone in for the migraines (which were triggered by the strep).

Now that I’ve been on antibiotics for almost a week, I’m feelin’ almost back to my old self, physically speaking.  I’m pretty much back to my usual happy, cheery self, too, with the exception of the inability to day-dream about babies and pregnant bellies.  I’m still determined to get a little weight off before we go for IVF, but I can tell I’m really going to be ready to get back on the TTC wagon soon.

We’re heading to the beach this weekend!  I’m sooooo excited.  I grew up on the beach, and I MISS IT.  It’s the only thing Austin is lacking.  We have a great lake, but a lake is just not the same.  Although a beach on the gulf is nothing like the amazing Asian beaches I grew up on, it’ll do!  Port Aransas has that great, laid-back beach town vibe I miss.  I don’t care if it rains all weekend, I can’t wait to get there!

My girl friend Judy is coming with us, along with her cousin Marisol and Marisol’s girlfriend, Meagan.  Two of Troy’s friends, Josh and Doug, were supposed to come but I think they’ve both had to drop out.  Josh just went to the Austin City Limits music festival and can’t get another weekend off, and Doug has been grounded by his girlfriend (who was also invited but she has to work next weekend).  So Troy will be out-numbered, but I’m sure he’ll manage to stay entertained! 

The rescue kitties are doing great!  The little boy is completely well.  They’re both eating on their own, using the cat box, keeping themselves groomed and don’t have any congestion anymore.  But the little girl still has one runny eye that tears all the time.  I’m going to try to get her back to the vet before we leave this weekend.  Hopefully next week they can be fixed, then it’s time to find the girl her forever home!  Troy has fallen in love with the boy, so we’re going to adopt him.

Judy’s 19-yr-old college student son, Ryan, is going to stay at our house over the weekend to take care of the zoo.  At first his best friend Macky was going to stay with him and they were going to watch games all weekend.  Now, Judy and I have just been informed that Ryan has a new 25-year-old girlfriend – his boss!  I’m thinking maybe I should put a plastic sheet on the bed under the sheets.  Then burn the sheets when we get back.  How did we go from two guys just hangin’ at the house for the weekend to possible orgy party?  I’m disturbed.  If only my mind would *sloop* around that mental picture.  Ugh.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 13:25:18

    I’m sorry you have Strep 😦 That really blows but thank goodness it was diagnosed and is being treated.

    I’m sorry you have hit a rough patch (to put it lightly), its weird how IF can grow into almost an all-present thought and driving force. I never knew how much it would affect me and how hurt I would be, but there you have it.

    I’m thinking of you, and hope that very soon the slooping will be an unnecesssary exercise!

    Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 14:07:12

    That stinks that you got sick, but it sounds like you are on the mend. I’m glad your positive attitude is coming back. I’ve always been able to think about pregnant bellies and the like. It’s one of my downfalls lol.

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 14:30:21

    I am glad you are feeling better. The beach sounds like fun. It is getting so gray and dreary here.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Oct 06, 2009 @ 15:58:33

      It’s been really rainy here, all of the sudden. I’m glad we still get sunny days, though. I need the sunshine every few days to stay cheery! Funny how the weather can really affect moods.

      Reply

  4. myndful
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 16:06:02

    Wow. Amazing about the strep, that you had no other symptoms! A weekend at the beach sounds so wonderful. Have a fabulous time!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Oct 06, 2009 @ 17:14:12

      thanks, I can’t wait to get there!

      I actually had a sore throat and congestion, along with the exhaustion and head aches. I guess I should’ve put it all together…

      Reply

  5. Michelle
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 18:22:58

    I nominated you for an award! 🙂

    Reply

  6. meinsideout
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 06:15:21

    Have a great time and I hope you feel 100% soon.

    Reply

  7. Sweet Georgia
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 09:26:18

    Wow, I didn’t realize that someone could have strep and not realize it. Glad they caught it and that you’re feeling better. Every time I see the word sloop or sloopy I get that old song in my head… “Hang on sloopy, sloopy hang on…” Geez, I hope those are the words. Have a great time at the beach. And, I agree… burn the sheets!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Oct 07, 2009 @ 16:46:57

      Yeah, I didn’t realize it, either. It helps to be really dense. 🙂

      lolol! I had that same song stuck in my head when I was writing the post!

      Reply

  8. Molly
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 16:03:25

    Oh, I hope you feel better! xo

    Reply

  9. Kate
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 07:57:29

    I love the term “sloop”! So perfect for how one has to gloss over the things that hurt them the most. Hopefully your sloops get fewer and farther between soon. Onto the next try!

    Reply

  10. katery
    Oct 11, 2009 @ 16:44:41

    i hope the beach was fun!

    Reply

  11. Pie
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 10:45:55

    I have an award for you over on my blog – c’mon by to see!!

    Reply

  12. Silya
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 21:59:27

    Feel better soon — and hope you had fun at the beach. Glad the kitties are doing well too; they are so precious. I totally know what you mean about the “sloop” thinking. What a great way to describe it.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Oct 15, 2009 @ 14:25:57

      Hey, Silya! Glad to see ya! Slowly “hope” is creeping back in and “sloop” is fading away. I’m almost ready to jump back on the baby-making train. 🙂

      Reply

  13. Kari
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 13:01:46

    Thanks for putting the sloop effect into such a great post!! You have an award on my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

