Excuse Me, There’s a Sperm on My Plate

My kitty Lila just loves, loves, loves anything stuffed and fuzzy.  She’s a tiny little girl, but she’ll carry a teddy bear twice her size from one end of the house to the other.  I’ve been saving a few select childhood stuffed toys in case we do ever have a nursery (I say that, but I really keep them for sentimental value, don’t tell).  Lila will ferret them out of whatever cabinet or closet I try to hide them in.  She should be a blood hound.

Even fuzzy house slippers will do.   I’ll find ’em in the bed when we crawl under the covers at night.  My mother-in-law crochets these awesome flip flops with fuzzy beaded yarn.  Lila just can’t resist ’em – she’s always carrying mine into the living room, where Dude inevitably finds and consumes them.  (He must’ve consumed enough flip-flops to shoe all the spring-breakers in South Padre by now, but I digress.)  I finally bought tiny little baby flip-flops and MIL crocheted them with the fuzziest yarn she could find just for Lila.  They were a hit.  Grandparents know their fur-babies!

Sunday night a few friends of ours who are fellow avid True Blood fans came by for dinner and to watch the season finale with us.  We DVR’d it while they were on their honeymoon.   I set out a stack of plates and silverware, so as soon as dinner was ready everyone could serve themselves.  We all ended up standing in the kitchen visiting and helping prepare dinner. 

As soon as the food was ready, everyone went to grab a plate – and suddenly just cracked up!  I hurried over to find – perched on top of the stack of plates, lovingly deposited by Lila – was my lucky fuzzy stuffed sperm.

Please pass the sperm

Please pass the sperm

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 11:39:37

    I’ve been reading the True Blood series and I LOVE it!!! I really need to watch the show…

    Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 12:36:51

    The show is really different, but they’re both good! As long as you don’t expect them to be the same, you can really enjoy both. 🙂

    I’m so sorry for all you’re going through, Amber. As hard as the last BFN was for me, it’s nothing in comparison. Been thinking of you!

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 13:42:00

    LOL that is FUNNY!

    Reply

  4. Low Fat Lady
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 13:48:33

    I’ve been reading the series as well. I don’t get HBO. So cute. I also really like your sperm. I will have to look for a lucky IF something.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 13:54:30

      I think lots of people do quirky socks for their lucky IF token. I need to get some quirky socks. Less opportunity for embarrassing guest show-and-tell. The books are a lot of fun! 🙂

      Reply

  5. Jane
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 15:15:43

    I love it.

    “Sperm appetisers anyone?”

    We have two kitties and they are a constant source of amusement!

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 15:16:24

    BTW I have added you to my blogroll too. Thanks for dropping by mine!

    Reply

  7. meinsideout
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 17:24:53

    I love True Blood! Cute kitty!

    Reply

  8. katery
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 17:54:15

    that is hilarious!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 21:59:43

      I’m so glad they were good friends! While my in-laws were here, we caught Dude walking around with it in his mouth. I’ve got to start putting it in a drawer!

      Reply

  9. Christy W
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 19:11:05

    OMG this is hilarious. Sperm, yummy! 🙂 Are the books called True Blood or is it something different? I’ve heard they’re good.
    p.s. could you e-mail your mailing address (if you feel comfortable with that?)
    thanx!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 22:00:52

      I think the author Charlaine Harris calls them the “Sookie Stackhouse” series. The True Blood name must be for HBO. I emailed my address. 🙂

      Reply

  10. Kate
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 07:59:23

    Hahhahaah, I can’t stop laughing at that one. I hope the friends knew you were “trying”?!

    So funny. The cat is precious!

    Reply

  11. Sweet Georgia
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 08:06:51

    Too funny!

    Reply

  12. Kristin
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 15:40:08

    That is so funny!

    Reply

  13. Clare
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 20:03:29

    Hee hee – must be a sign! 🙂

    Reply

  14. myndful
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 23:43:29

    That is hilarious! Makes me want to go get my own stuffed sperm and a cat, and have my mom over for dinner. Seeing the expression on her face would absolutely make me howl…and who couldn’t use a good laugh? You have the best stories!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

