Hangin’ In There

We’re still hangin’ in, doin’ alright.  I seem to go back and forth, hopeful one day, despairing the next.   Thank you so, so much for all your support and all the love you all have sent my way!  I had to spend a few days away so I could stop obsessing and wallowing, and start focusing on spending time in prayer.  But everyday wordpress would dutifully send your comments to my aol mail box, and each and every one lifted my spirits!  I appreciate every single message, and every single one of you, so very much.

I’ve found the more time I spend with the Lord, the more positive my attitude, and the more progress we make on ironing out this insurance fiasco.  Funny how that works, eh?  I’m beginning to remember that I am already blessed, and whether or not the answer is “yes,” my prayers are heard and I am never alone.

Missy, the head of the billing office at the Texas Fertility Center, has been so great and helpful.  But even she has been getting two different stories from United.  When we call in, the representatives always interpret our policy as providing ‘three attempts at artificial insemination and three attempts at IVF,” which is actually the literal wording in the policy.  No where does it indicate that there are three attempts to conceive in combination or in total.  But when Missy goes to pre-authorize the IVF, United denies the claim based on three attempt to conceive having already been made.

Missy determined that what we really need is to hear from the Time Warner Corporate office as to the official interpretation of the policy that they agreed on with United.  She’s been trying to contact the corporate office for some time, but all she had to go on was a generic email address, and no one has responded to her emails.

After spending some time in prayer yesterday, I was elated that we were led to just the right woman in the local Time Warner HR office who could help us take our cause to the corporate office.  She promised she’d get back with us by Friday.  So now we’ve got Missy at Texas Fertility, Theresa at United, and Stephanie at Time Warner all doing their best for us.

Missy says that there a couple of other TW employees seeking treatment at the Texas Fertility Center that have hit this exact same roadblock, all around the same time.  Missy said she was amazed that I’ve made as much progress as I have on this issue in just the past week.  Which makes me wonder, why didn’t any of the other couples resolve the issue by now?  I told Missy that I’ll be the crazy Texas woman camped out in the lobby of the corporate Time Warner building in New York City that she’ll hear about on the news, if that’s what it takes to get the answer I want.  So where are the other couples?  Did they not try going to HR already?  In any case, Missy at the Tx Fertility Center and Stephanie at Time Warner HR both say that the more of us there are making this case, the more likely we are to get what we want, so I welcome troops to the cause!

So hopefully we’ll get some good news soon.  Either that:  1) we do still have all 3 IVF attempts left, or that 2)  they’ll at least let us re-imburse United for the IUI’s and re-gain our IVF attempts. 

Also, I’m still hopeful that there’ll be a BFP from the last IUI.  Today is 7 days post IUI, and I have no symptoms whatsoever.  No spotting;  a little mild, vague cramping occasionally.  My nipples are tender, but that goes in and out anyways since I had a breast reduction, so can’t use that as a sign.  And my boobs as a whole don’t hurt, just the nipples.

I’m not going to test before next Wednesday, a week from now.  I think I won’t test at all.  I think I’d rather just let Aunt Flo be the Ho who tells me No.  I just really don’t want to see another negative pregnancy test in my lifetime.

On to a more positive note, tomorrow is our fourth anniversary!  We had a rough start early on (mostly due to my stubborness), but since then it just gets better and better every year.  I waited a long time to find Troy, and I’m so glad I did.  We’ve grown up together more the last four years than I have in my whole lifetime.  I feel so lucky.  Happy Anniversary, Babe!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 15:24:29

    happy anniversary!

    And so sorry for the stress. I don’t know how they would read it any other way than you did. I really hope it works out for you guys, but even more so I pray that this attempt that you are 7dpo on, is the one that works and sticks. *hugs*

    Reply

  2. Clare
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 16:42:25

    Happy Anniversary to you both!! Really admire your tenacious and determined attitude with your insurance company, I’m sure your efforts will help many other couples too! And gotta love this – aunt flo is the ho who tells me no – my sentiments exactly! Fingers crossed for a BFP for both of us soon!!

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 16:45:48

    I am glad you are taking the initiative to get the answers you need. I am like you..I would hunt there asses down until I got answers, but most people don’t have the drive or the time to follow through.
    I hope you get a BFP this cycle, if not that the insurance will pay for IVF. Good luck!!

    Reply

  4. myndful
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 17:41:52

    That is great progress considering it’s an insurance company you are dealing with. Have to believe it’s going to work out, one way or the other. The wording seem very clear to me. Wouldn’t happen to have any contract lawyers as acquaintances or family members would you? If HR doesn’t come back with what you want to hear, that’s always another option.

    All that said, I’m still betting on this cycle. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if you got great news about the coverage at the same time that you got your BFP? Then your twice blessed!

    As always, best of luck!!

    Reply

  5. meinsideout
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 17:57:05

    Good luck with the insurance. And that is the first time I have heard the AF HO NO quote – love it!

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 19:06:54

    I hope this insurance/infertility stuff gets worked out. You definitely do not need the added stress.

    Good Luck on holding out til Wednesday.

    Happy Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

  7. katery
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 19:20:49

    oh my god, we have united too and i had to fight to the death to get the benefits that our certificate of coverage clearly says that we have. the problem is they have a bunch of people working there who don’t really know anything about what they’re doing, it’s SO frustrating. i got help from my husband’s company’s insurance broker, not sure if you guys have one of those or not, insurance brokers are places that help companies find the best insurance they can at whatever price the company is willing to pay. some companies are so big that they have people within their own company do that, i suspect time warner is probably big enough that they have their own dept for that soooooo missy is probably right, you’re probably going to have to talk to someone at time warner about it.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 18, 2009 @ 21:57:15

      I think we’ve finally got the right people on it! Hopefully they’ll get it sorted out really soon! And I think you’re right – I think it is the broker at corporated that they’re finally getting in touch with.

      Reply

  8. lillyshephard
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 21:26:47

    happy anniversary! and best of luck fighting with the insurance co…holy crap, fighting a giant company can be a real struggle, especially when it involves money. i’m so hoping your last iui attempt is a bfp…the waiting is so hard. i’m glad you’re hanging in there and finding the support you need.

    Reply

  9. Amber
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 22:18:32

    Totally with you- I refused to test this month until I was 4 days late which I never am. I’m hoping you get a BFP this month too!!! I never expected it and we were starting to save for IVF so the timing was great! Good luck!!!

    Reply

  10. Sweet Georgia
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 09:15:47

    I’m so happy that you are making headway with your insurance company! Hopefully, this IUI will work and it will be a moot point. This “think I’d rather just let Aunt Flo be the Ho who tells me No” is probaby one of the funniest sentences I’ve read in a while!

    Reply

  11. Pie
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 09:35:38

    Happy Anniversary!

    And you keep fighting that evil insurance company. They rely on confusing language to deny coverage, and it sucks! You keep fighting!

    Reply

  12. Kate
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 10:43:36

    Happy Anniversary! Good luck with the insurance — it looks like you have all the right people on the case. Don’t rest until they give you what you want.

    Although, that said, you may already have what you want inside of you from your last IUI! I hope I hope I hope for you!

    Reply

  13. Low Fat Lady
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 12:35:52

    Glad to hear you have so many people working on your case. I hope they are able to get you the answer you want! Happy anniversary! I’m only at 4dpo and it’s going soooo slow. I have the nipple tenderness at times as well, but I know it’s probably way too early.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 18, 2009 @ 22:05:50

      I know, Low, It’s hard not to try to read something into every possible symptom! I spent all day yesterday trying to convince myself I was nauseous – and today, nothing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

