Bad Sperm! Bad, Bad Sperm!

Dr. Silverberg did today’s IUI.  I’ve picked up a whopping case of ovarian ache which distracted me a bit,  and I wasn’t paying full attention to the good doc, so it didn’t sink in ’til after my appointment that he said something to the effect of both days’ sperm samples being “really crappy.”  He did add that he was actually a little glad that the counts were so bad, as it might help level out my ‘over-eager ovarian output’ (say that three times really fast).

Before doing the IUI, Dr. Silverberg did an u/s and counted the follicles on each side.  I’ve dropped 3 from one side and 2 from the other, and he thinks I’ll probably drop a few more tonight (some of the 16’s had progressed to 19’s).

I should note here that this was the smoothest IUI yet!  I usually get a pretty sharp cramp at the moment the doc inserts the tube thru the cervical opening.  Don’t know if it was ’cause the ovarian ache was pretty distracting or if he’s just gettin’ the hang of my cervix, but I didn’t feel a thing!

Once the “crappy” part sunk in, I called nurse Keri to ask her to elaborate.  She read me the after-wash numbers, then said, “I’m so sorry.”  Aaargh.  SO not what you’d like to hear from your fertility nurse.  Ever.

So, Tuesday’s crappy counts:  volume 1/2 cc, motility 78%, morphology 18% (they want to see over 30%), and overall count is 7 million moving sperm (they want to see at least 10 mill, and most folks get from 20 to over 100 million).

Today’s crappy counts: 1/2 cc, mot 75%, morph 15%, and overall moving count 3 million.

So the boys can swim, but there aren’t many of them and most are freaky-lookin’ two-headed hunchbacks.

Crappy, indeed.

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:48:36

    Sorry to hear about the sperm. It’s always something. My husband has issues also like “no forward progression” due to their tails sticking together or something like that. Between that and my crappy eggs, we’re a match made in heaven. But, your ovaries sound quite impressive. I really hope this works for you guys.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:42:35

      That’s it exactly Kathleen – it always seems like if it’s not one thing, it’s another! But if this round is a bust, IVF will probably help with the sperm issues.

      Reply

  2. katery
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:21:41

    hey, it only takes one of those little buggers to get the job done, i’ve got my fingers crossed for you. will you be doing another iui after this? i still want to send you that package.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:41:46

      I’d love to get the package! 🙂 Thanks! We’ll wait ’til we get an answer one way or the other before we decide. But even with IVF sometimes it’s part of the drug cocktail, so it’ll go to good use!

      Reply

  3. meinsideout
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:44:10

    I am sorry the counts were lower than what you would like – I have heard of many, many women getting pregnant with even lower counts than that – so, my friend, you are still in the game – way in the game – because you have so many eggs to choose from!!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:46:59

      I started checking out sperm counts with IUI on Google (all of us know and love Google! :)) and you’re totally right – there are tons of stories where they got a BFN with even lower counts! I know it lowers our chances, but I think we’re still in the running. *fingers crossed*

      Reply

  4. Jessica
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:54:14

    I know you must be feeling down about the sperm count, but it does only take one. The great thing about an IUI is that all the sperm gets to where they need to go, so 7 million sperm is alot when you put it into perspective. I hope this works for you!!

    Reply

  5. Michelle
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:41:52

    So sorry about the sperm count but like others have said before it just takes one. I know it is hard to focus on that. I am praying and keeping fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  6. Katie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:29:47

    Bummer about the numbers, but you’ve still got a good shot! Hoping for the best!

    Reply

  7. myndful
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:49:15

    That is crappy news about the counts, but Katery has a point. One egg and one sperm is all it takes. After the wash, you know the best of the best are what’s left over. AND remember that if you were TTC’ing naturally, only about 500 would ever make it past your cervix. So even a million is WAY better than that! AND this time you have all those targets!

    Keeping all appendages crossed for you. 😉

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:40:33

    Katery is right, all you need is one of each. One of each. Let’s hope they both come through this cycle!

    Reply

  9. Clare
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:38:12

    Oh yeah crappy sperm… the bane of my life. But when you hear 7 million, you think well i only need one right? Why the hell can’t 7 million be ENOUGH! Bah! Makes me go insane! Hoping the IUI gives them the boost up to get to your eggs! Good luck!

    Reply

  10. Sweet Georgia
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:59:11

    Hoping for the best results despite the bad numbers! So, what are you going to do to fill up your 2ww?

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:51:27

      headed to the beach the weekend of the 18th! I can’t wait, I just LOVE the beach! Austin would be the most perfect place in the world if only we had a beach 🙂

      Reply

  11. lifebytheday
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:22:25

    Ugh, so sorry hun – what a pain in…well, a lot of places! 😉 Keeping fingers crossed and prayers for you!

    Reply

  12. Pie
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:56:46

    Ugh. I’m sorry. Well, you just never know, it only takes one of the several million, right? Don’t dwell on it too much during the 2ww, just think of all those follicles.

    Reply

  13. Kristin
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:58:24

    So sorry to hear about your experience! Keep hope!

    Reply

  14. Low Fat Lady
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:46:43

    My fingers are crossed for you.

    Reply

  15. Lucy
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 15:35:28

    So sorry to hear about the sperm counts…that can be really disappointing. Here’s to hoping the Dr is right and over-eager-ovarian-output cancels that out! GL!

    Reply

  16. Womb For Improvement
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 16:35:25

    No, “I’m so sorry” is certainly not what you want to hear from your nurse. I hope the one you needs makes it to your ovaries. Best of luck.

    Reply

  17. lilly
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 00:21:22

    it’s hard to believe that 7 million of anything is a low number, but i get it. like many others have said…it only takes one and i hope that one finds your egg very soon! best of luck to the little swimmers!

    Reply

  18. stacey
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 01:54:54

    Sending you happy thoughts and prayers as you wait. Thanks for the sweet comment you left for me today. I appreciate the support so much. Thinking of you!

    Reply

  19. Christy W
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 00:00:04

    Just to let you know that I am thinking of you, Stacey and hoping for at least one little amazing spermy. You are so amazing and funny-I love reading your blog even though most of the time I have no idea what you are talking about, ya know, gonal ghf wise, or whatever. But I’m here along with you and can’t wait to see your I’m pregnant post!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

