I’m So Confused…

… but that’s not an unusual state for me. *sigh*

This cycle we uppped the dose of Gonal F, and I seemed to be responding great.  I had the baseline u/s with no cysts on either ovary – excellent!  Then the first post-dose u/s showed showed a lining of 3.8 with about 10 follicles on each side, meauring between 5 and 7.  Estradiol came back at a healthy 87.

Dr. Silverberg agreed to be more agressive with our treatment this cycle, but he was concerned about my having around 10 follies on each ovary.  So he decided to reduce one of the next three doses. 

Friday it was back to the office for another u/s.  My lining was us to 4.6 – good!  Follie count came back – exactly the same as the previous visit in number and size – ?!?  And the bad news – estradiol dropped to 18!  The nurse explained that the last doses weren’t high enough to support the growth of the follicles, but upping the next two doses to 225, my highest dose yet, would put us back on track.

I’m discouraged, but hopeful that tomorrow morning’s appointment will show lots of good growth and the numbers of follicles on each ovary will still be good.  I’d like to make it to the end of the cycle with at least two eggs.  Also, for tomorrow’s appointment Dr. Vaughn will be on call, and he’s the most aggressive of all the docs in the office.  I feel really good about the visit.  I do love me some Dr. Silverberg, but I’m ready to throw caution out and move forward!

In other news, Troy has bounced back great from his surgery!  He got the tubes out of his nose on Friday, and he’s finally sleeping great – which means I am, too!  Having the tubes removed lifted a lot of the  pressure that was makin’ him so uncomfortable.  He does still get tired easily, but his energy is coming back.

Our little foster girls are doing great!  Neither of them approach us yet, but they aren’t as frightened as they were when we reach out to pet them.  The kitten (a girl, I just learned) will eat chicken out of our fingers.  Although she’s a little timid still, she loves to be loved on and she’s starting to make eye contact.  While Troy was home recovering he named the mama Padme and the kitten Ewok (he thought it was a boy).  I was going to go with Willow and Mouse, but I let the nerd win since he was still in recovery. 🙂  The little mama doesn’t want to be picked up and she’s still tense, but she’ll let us scratch her head and neck.  Their poop had gone from liquid to solid and they eat all their food every time we fill the bowl.  I’ll post their pics later today.

On Friday I drove my two nephews to my folks’ new place in Gatesville to stay with them for the weekend.  My brother Chris and his wife JoaAnn have sold their house and have bought a new one, so they’ll be packing all weekend, as well as working, so my folks get some quality grandkid time! 🙂  The 2 year old, Andon, fell asleep as soon as we hit the road.  But 6 year old  Cayle and I had a blast just talking and laughing the whole way!  My ipod was playin in the background, and it just cracked me up when he heard Joan Jett’s I Love Rock ‘n Roll – he hollered, “Crank the bass, Aunt Stacey!”  How does he even know that song, and what the bass is?  We played it over and over!  🙂  I had to come back to work this weekend, but had a wonderful time spending the day with my folks and the kiddos.

I think I’m experiencing some weird side effects from the Gonal F.  For some reason, I’m peeling, mostly on my tummy and forehead.  Not majorly, but some.  Also, I’ll have these flashes of intense emotion, where I’ll get really sad, then it’ll suddenly lift and go away!  It’s very disorienting, and most of the time, I don’t even know what I’m sad about.  I’m very bloated, too.  I’m trying to get more sleep and drink more water, so hopefully that’ll help.  Anyone else ever experience Gonal F side effects?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. drmkg74
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 23:57:07

    I took Gonal F and I just get very moody. HMm I didnt have any peeling so I do not know anything about that. I am glad to hear your husband is getting back to normal.

    Kids pick up everything! It always surprises me when my nephew says something and nobody can figure out how they know that. My 4 yr old nephew cam over and saw my Guitar Hero and he instantly knew what it was and said “I wanna rock jam Aunt shell.” and then he picked up the guitar and held it correctly. They do not have video games..we have no idea where he learned it. It was so cute.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 23, 2009 @ 05:31:09

      That’s hilarious! Your nephew sounds so fun! 🙂

      I’m glad the moodiness is just the Gonal F. That means it’ll eventually go away! Thank goodness!

      Reply

  2. Clare
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 05:22:41

    Your foster cats sound very sweet, would love to see pics! Since I got my new kitten, Im totally cat crazy! And I love the names your DH picked out, Ewok can be a girl’s name too, right? Glad you had such a fun time with your nephew and good luck with this cycle!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 23, 2009 @ 05:33:08

      Your kitty is just beyond adorable! You can tell she’s happy and confident (spoiled and much loved :))! You got wonderful pics of her! I’m hoping that in a few weeks our foster kitties will be fat, happy and spoiled – just like our own kitties.

      Reply

  3. Jessica
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 08:44:26

    I hope everything works out tomorrow at the ultrasound. I have one on wednesday…it is so difficult to wait month after month to see if our body is going to cooperate. Good Luck!!

    Reply

  4. meinsideout
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 08:52:56

    I hope the follies and estradiol pick up. I love kittens! I had two cats – I lost one to kidney disease two years ago at ten years old and my boy – Nando – is 14 years old and still going strong.

    I was very emotional on gonal f and very bloated – however, no peeling…

    Reply

  5. Pie
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 13:36:24

    I never took Gonal, but if it is a hormone associated with fertility treatments, then yes, you can totally blame it for the moodiness. Peeling? not so sure about that. Even if it is not the cause, the hormones deserve blame anyway. But I bet it is the reason, that hormone stuff is potent.

    You must post pics of the kittens! They sound so cute!

    Reply

  6. myndful
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 13:50:54

    Haven’t done any injectables yet myself, but since something as simple as BCP’s can turn me into the devil, it’s no surprise that something more serious would turn you upside down. Sorry about the crappy side effects!

    So fun with the kittys! Wish we could have pets (landlord says no). Seems like it would be a great source of comfort during all of this. Can’t wait to see the pics. 🙂

    I’m sure the docs will find away to turn things around to keep those follies growin’, the lining thick, and the estradiol exactly where it should be. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Low Fat Lady
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 15:52:01

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Sounds like the kitties are doing great. I hope your follicles continue to grow and you get a manageable amount. good luck!

    Reply

  8. iamstacey
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 12:40:44

    Thanks for all the encouragement, Ladies! I got plenty of sleep this weekend and I’m feeling much more myself. The doc says the hormones can cause some hyper-sensitivity to the sun, and I was out quite a bit the weekend before, so that’s probably it! I’ve decided to take ya’ll advice and blame everything on the Gonal F, in any case! 🙂

    Reply

  9. gdesider
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 14:08:03

    I always am so frustrated when the RE reduces or stalls my dose, and then E2 drops or stalls! It sucks.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 24, 2009 @ 16:33:06

      It was really discouraging ’cause they did the same thing last time and promised this time they’d be more aggressive! I know they know better than I do, but I did pout for a bit. 🙂

      Reply

  10. katery
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 18:31:57

    i haven’t sent the stuff yet, i’ve had family in town and just haven’t had time, i will try and get it done this week, i swear!

    Reply

  11. Kate
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 11:44:27

    Good luck with the meds and the ultrasound! Don’t be discouraged… you’re so close to figuring out the right dosages. It will happen — hopefully soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

