Sleep-Deprived High

Did you know that when you go for a long time without sleep, you can actually get a nice little buzz going?  Which is then followed by a raging headace.  And to think of all I spent on booze in college, when I coulda had the same experience for free.

Troy’s sinus surgery went off without a hitch last Thursday.  And then the sedatives wore off.  No sleep whatsoever Thursday night, despite pain meds and cold packs and vaporizers.  Friday morning we were back in the doc’s office for his follow-up appointment, where my pleas for coma-inducing drugs were ignored.  For me or for Troy, either would’ve been fine, but nooooo, it’ll get better, they promised. 

Finally managed to knock him out Friday afternoon when I slipped him a Benadryl along with his pain meds.  Just as I drifted into blessed sleep, I was thwacked awake by my old enemy, Aunt Flo.  Oh yes, on top of it all, one day before test day the old Ho shows up, and brings Crampy and Achy with her.  The cramps were so bad I couldn’t sleep, so I called the RE’s office and got the ball rolling.  Called Freedom Pharmacy and $100 later, my next round of baby crack is on the way to my front door.

Then my MIL arrived to baby- (I mean husband-) sit Troy, and it was Hi Ho, Hi Ho, off to work a 15 hour shift overnight at the hospital.  You’d think as soon as I got off work Saturday morning I’d crash, and I did – for 2 hours.  Then it was back up to go see my good friends at the Dr. Silverberg’s office.  I tried really hard to ask questions, but I think I must’ve been talking really slow ’cause the doc kept answering them before I had a chance to spit a whole sentance out.  I felt like I was in a movie – only I was in slow-mo, and the rest of the movie was flying by.  From what I can remember, he agreed with Dr. Vaughn that he wanted me to be much more aggressively stimulated this round.  Instead of starting me on Gonal F on cycle day 3, he actually had me start with 150/day starting day 1.  I have high hopes for this cycle.  I feel like we’ve done all the experimenting we’ve needed to do, and now we should have the winning formula down, yaknow?  Thank God my most wonderful MIL drove me to and from my appointment so I wasn’t a menace on the highway.

Back home I crashed out for a few more hours, then it was another overnight shift that is really fuzzy so hopefully I did my job and didn’t kill anyone; then finally, blissful sleep Sunday morning ’til 4 in the afternoon.  When I woke up, happy friendly fairies had arrived and cleaned my house!  My bestest girlfriends in the whole world, Judy and Melissa, came and cleaned the house and made dinner.  By 6 we had a house full of good friends who came by to visit Troy, swim, play cards and eat.  It was a wonderful evening.  We are so blessed.

As soon as True Blood was over, I was out like a light.  But it was another night of getting up periodically to help or at least check on Troy.  He’s doing much better but his head fills up every few hours and the pain pills wear off and it wakes him up.  He’s supposed to be ready to go back to work tomorrow, but I’m worried he’ll be really tired.  And he probably will.  Hopefully tired enough to sleep through the whole night. 🙂

So today’s been another hazy blur, but it’s gone great and I’m just about to head for home.  We have tons of food left over so I don’t have to cook for a couple of days, yay!

My next b/w and u/s are tomorrow morning.

And oh!  I almost forgot!  Troy and I have been approved to be cat foster parents!  We get our first pair on Tuesday, a mom and her kitten that had only 10 hours left before euthanization!  They’ll stay with us to be loved and socialized ’til they get adopted.  I’m so excited! 🙂

I’ll be catching up on blogs tonight and tomorrow, too.  I’ve missed ya’ll!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 17:32:32

    Sorry AF arrived…she paid me a visit on friday also. It sounds like your Dr. has a good plan though and I hope it works!!

    Reply

  2. Amber
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 17:53:30

    AF really made the rounds this weekend! She saved her visit to me until Saturday, but brought the same two friends. Good for you for fostering those cats. My husband is a vet and I am shocked at the number of unwanted pets that there are. We need more people like you in the world!!!

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 18:10:12

    So glad that the surgery went well. Hopefully he will be feeling good enough to go back to work and I hope you both get some good sleep. That was so nice of your friends to do that for you!

    It sounds like a good plan for your cycle. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  4. Sweet Georgia
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 08:39:39

    Glad Troy’s surgery went well. Sorry that you’re a little (a lot!) sleep deprived. Hopefully, he’s turned the corner and is well on his way to full recovery. Congrats on becoming Cat Foster parents. I’m sure it will be very rewarding.

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 09:18:17

    Wow your schedule sounds very hectic!!! I hope that you’re caught up on rest now. Congrats on being cat foster parents!

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 13:34:26

    Yikes — hang in there! I hope that you’ve found the magic formula and you get that little plus sign this month. In the meantime, Benadryl it is.

    Reply

  7. iamstacey
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 14:29:28

    Thanks, everyone! I’m ready to get this cycle going!

    Reply

  8. myndful
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 14:47:17

    That dumb AF ho, and the nerve of bringing Achy and Crampy with her, and with such bad timing! So sorry that it didn’t work out this cycle, about the lack of sleep, about poor Troy’s surgery and discomfort. This to shall pass, right? Hopefully the increase in meds will do the trick and this will be your cycle! Keeping my fingers crossed for you, I always do 🙂

    Reply

  9. Lorza
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 15:19:38

    Aunt Flo sucks ass. I am sorry. Good luck with this cycle sweet thing. I used to work night shift in Arizona- seven on seven off…and I would fly to AL the day after my last shift. Go straight to the airport…never sleep. It would be 24-30 hours without sleep…I would get the buzz..the migraines…all that…thank goodness I never had seizures. 🙂

    That is awesome about the cat foster parents. My mother works for a vet and cat fosters are definately needed and is high demand. Good luck!!!

    Reply

  10. katery
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 20:33:52

    sorry about af, totally lame. little known fact about narcotic pain killers, they make most people FEEL sleepy, but not actually be able to sleep.

    Reply

  11. Christy W
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 21:18:12

    My husband just heard this thing on NPR that there is actually a gene that people have that allow them to only need a few hours of sleep. I am apparently a carrier of the gene that needs approximately 10 hours of sleep to not be a giant crabby witch!!! 🙂
    Sorry about AF and I’m glad you’re done experimenting and have a plan!!

    Reply

  12. stacey
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 22:17:40

    Sorry about AF. She came to my house this weekend too, lousy witch. Hope your DH continues to do better and that you will both get some rest.

    Great friends you have! What a blessing!!!

    Reply

  13. lifebytheday
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 07:50:05

    Ugh, sorry about this last cycle. 😦 Way to go for being so positive and just jumping forward into the next round! Fingers crossed this time is the charm!!

    Reply

  14. katery
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 21:22:39

    i still have it, but i did use a dose out of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

