Mom Watched Me Have Sex

… with a plastic tube.  🙂  She went with me to my IUI on Friday and got to meet Dr. Silverberg.  She’s so ecstatic – she keeps telling everyone that she got to be there when her grandbaby was made!  If we are successful this time, the poor kid’s going to be traumatized at that mental image …

Today (Saturday) is mom’s birthday, and she and Dad wanted to take my nephews to Sea World today.  But I wanted to have a Girl’s Day Out with Mom for her birthday, and since I’m off during the day on Fridays she came into town a day early.  We lived it up!  Manicures, pedicures (I’m rockin’ a happy shade of sparkly light orange on me toes :)), Cracker Barrel and shopping at the outlet mall!  Awesome day!  I got a new pair of Rocket Dog tennies that are tie-dye yellow and orange and have a smiley face and a peace sign on each side.  Love ’em!  

 

 

 

Friday’s IUI was right smack in the middle of the day, so Mom went with me.  A co-worker loaned me a stuffed sperm he keeps on the top of his computer for good luck (schwag from a drug rep from a cryobank), so mom, stuffed sperm and I headed to the clinic and she came in with me.  I would love it if this was the lucky time, if she really could claim she was there! 🙂   Everything went just fine, and Troy’s boys got stellar marks.

 

 

Since I worked Friday night, Troy dropped me off and picked me up, then drove me to the second IUI this morning.  Dr. Vaughn was doing weekend duty, so Troy got to meet him.  The dr. was in a great mood and was very funny.  It was the easiest, least uncomfortable IUI so far! 

Right before the IUI, Dr. Vaughn did a quick sonogram to check the ovary, and found that I still had not released the egg.  I wonder if I don’t respond to Ovidrel?  Because of this, I’m going back in the morning (Sunday) for a ‘release check’ to see if I ever do release the egg.  If the sonogram shows that I still haven’t released the egg, it will tell them that I have a different cause of infertility than they’ve been trying to treat so far.  He says that if I don’t respond to Ovidrel by ovulating, IVF will be our next step.

I have no fear of IVF in and of itself, and I’ll be excited to take that next step closer to our goal.  The thing that scares me is that our insurance covers 3 IVF attempts, and that’s it.  I’d like to have more than one child.  My hope was that we’d be successful with IUI’s for the first baby, and I could save IVF for the second try, when I’d be older.

But from the time we decided to try for a baby, Troy and I have both felt comfortable with the decision to only take this journey as far as as his insurance could carry us, and the outcome would be what it would be.  I want to make him a dad, I want to have his baby, but if we can’t, we have each other and we will have a wonderful life together.  And in the meantime, we still have far to go before it’s IF Game Over!

Sunday’s gonna be a good day, I can’t wait!  Friends and family are headed over, and Troy’s got a brisket in the oven to cook all night.  Yum!  I got a great German recipe from a friend at work this evening for fried potatoes with onions, bacon, apple cider vinegar and Monterrey Jack cheese.  OMG, they sound SO good!

I’ll edit this post when I get home in the morning to add pics of the bean-bag sperm and my new tennis shoes. 🙂

Sunday afternoon edit to add:  I laid an egg!  All by myself!  Yay, ovaries!  I hope we didn’t do the IUI’s too early.  I hope there’s still a chance!  But even if this isn’t the cycle, at least we know that we don’t need to go straight to IVF.  Dr. Vaughn said he would recommend that we do another injectables/double IUI cycle, but adapt the dosing so I end up with a few eggs at the end instead of just one.  I like it!  Good plan! 🙂

Oh – and the brisket is wonderful!  Good job, Troy!

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Krisin
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 09:43:27

    I hope this is your lucky time too! Thanks for the comment on my blog. The ironic thing is our friend is an OBGYN and his new girlfriend is a nurse in infertility! I didn’t share our troubles but I just thought is was ironic!

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 13:25:24

    Yay for having the two IUIs done! Boo for the two week wait! I hope they find that you released your egg so that these two procedures aren’t wasted. How cool that you had your mom with you! Good luck, I’ll be thinking about you!

    Reply

  3. Soul-in-progress
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 16:16:48

    My best wishes for spermy and egg collision.

    Reply

  4. Clare
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 17:55:12

    Sounds like a full weekend – fun, family, new shoes, great food and IUIs! What more could a girl ask for???

    Reply

  5. Sweet Georgia
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 18:21:40

    Glad you ovulated on your own! So, great that you were able to have your girl’s day with your Mom. Who knows – maybe you made a girl that day! Hope this is the cycle.

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 20:35:19

    So glad to hear you ovulated on your own! It sounds like you have a good RE. It sounds like you had a really nice time with your mom and that will make quite a story if you are successful…which I am crossing everything that you are!

    Reply

  7. iamstacey
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 23:04:58

    Thanks for all the good wishes, everyone! I’m forwarding them straight on to the egg! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Kristen's Raw
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 01:26:41

    Wow, lucky you that your insurance covers anything regarding infertility. Mine doesn’t cover squat! We went through Mini-IVF (detailed on my blog) in June. I became pregnant – YAY – but found out this week that it’s not good and I’m likely going to miscarry any day. Bummer… oh well… I have some frozen embryos still, so we’ll go back to NY for another attempt very soon.

    Good luck with the IUI and releasing your egg!

    ~Kristen

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 03, 2009 @ 10:26:26

      I’m so sorry to hear about that. You’ll be in my thoughts. I know we are so lucky that DH’s insurance is so good. I’m trying to take advantage of it as long as it holds out!

      Reply

  9. Ashley
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 10:30:32

    Your post is so funny! I hope this is your luck try as well and congrats on laying that egg.

    By the way, I hope you don’t need IVF so if you don’t can we trade insurance?? I’m so jealous of your coverage!! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 03, 2009 @ 10:35:32

      lol! I hope so, too! I know we are really, really lucky. I work in the health care field – you’d think we’d have good coverage – but when my DH got this job, I dropped mine and got on his as soon as I could!

      Reply

  10. Kate
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 12:23:42

    Your titles are so funny and this post was a riot! Yes, I think little baby will need a few therapy sessions after grandma tells them they were there when they were made, lol!

    I love how you have such a beautiful attitude towards all of this. You are handling the IF struggle with a great deal of grace and positivity. Please share your secrets.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 03, 2009 @ 13:00:05

      Thanks, Kate! I definitely have those moments where I despair, and I think “grace” left me the moment I put feet in those stirrups! I started the blog without any idea that there was such a thing as a blog community, but ya’ll have been a HUGE, unexpected blessing. Having lots of loving family, friends and faith are a big part of it, too. I already feel lucky, so everything else is icing, if that makes sense. They say ‘it takes a village to raise a child’ but in my case, it’s definitely been a case of ‘it takes a village to MAKE a child’… 🙂

      Reply

  11. myndful
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 18:09:18

    Great news that you released that eggie after all! So does that mean you’ll stick with IUI’s longer if a plan B is required? So hoping that isn’t the case (cause, of course you’re going to get pregnant this cycle!). 😉

    Also, quite brave of you to have your mom present for the IUI. Sounds like you have a pretty tight relationship and that’s really wonderful. Good luck! I’ll be thinking about you!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 04, 2009 @ 13:43:42

      Thanks, Myndful! I’ll definitely give IUI’s another chance. I’m trying to save those IVF’s for a second baby … how’s that for hubris, actually assuming I can even get pregnant .. 🙂

      Reply

  12. meinsideout
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 19:38:54

    That stuffed sperm is a hoot! I hope that the 2ww is good to you!

    Reply

  13. Kim
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:16:29

    This was hilarious! You definately have a new reader. I hope your wait speeds by. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting!

    Reply

  14. Katie
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:54:23

    Good luck! I loved the stuffed sperm too- how awesome that not only do you have a wonderfully supportive mom but a cool co-worker too. (oh, and you CAN call my brother an ass, he was definitely being one) I can’t wait to hear about your +!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 04, 2009 @ 16:36:39

      heehee Argh, I’m so sorry about your family! I couldn’t do it without mine. My heart goes out to you! I’m so glad you have such a sweet hubby to be there for you!

      Reply

  15. PJ
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:48:05

    Oh YAY! I’m so glad your ovaries responded! IUI is so much easier!

    But that’s AWEEEEEESome that you have insurance that covers 3 tries!

    Thanks so much for reading my blog and commenting.

    I hope this is it for you!

    Reply

  16. PJ
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:52:20

    Oh, also I LOVE the tennies! They remind me of my Simple tennies. Actually I have their Mary Janes too. They are actually made out of hemp and I think they are biodegrable, which is kind of cool but I just really like them because they are cute. 🙂

    Reply

  17. scrambled eggs
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 20:58:32

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! Sounds like we are in the exact same 2ww, so best of luck to you!!! And congrats on laying the egg!!! =)

    Reply

  18. Jessica
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 14:34:57

    I wanted to let you know that I have awarded you the One Lovely Blog Award. Come to my blog to receive your award.

    Reply

  19. lillyshephard
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 15:23:00

    congrats on laying your egg all by yourself! i can’t wait to hear the outcome…i loved the title of your post about your mom watching you have sex. oh my. hilarious.

    wishing you all the best this cycle and i so enjoy reading your blog!

    Reply

  20. iamstacey
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 19:56:10

    Thanks, Lilly! I’m hoping it’s my cycle, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

