Today Sucks :(

Two Fridays ago on the 17th I made a mistake at work that caused a patient some minor discomfort and moderate inconvenience.  I apologized profusely, I felt so, so bad.  I was working in a different office and in a different capacity than I usually do, and the schedule was very tight as we saw a record number of people that day.  The patient didn’t show up ’til over 2 hours past her appointment time, and the doctor’s orders weren’t very clear, but we all tried to accomodate her as she was getting ready to leave for a trip.

All of that being said, the mistake was absolutely mine and I took full responsibilty.  Apparently a few days later, she decided she was livid about it.  She called the doctor and he brought up several other issues, like her chronic lateness and tendecy to blow off appointments.  It just snowballed from there.  Now she’s threatening to sue the company!  OMG!  I’m so freaked out.  I deserve a write-up, and I actually submitted an incident report on myself the same day it happened.  But I had no idea it had blown up into a huge storm!  Will I have to go through a counseling hearing?  I couldn’t be any sorrier than I was the day it happened, and I understand what I did and what I need to do differently so it won’t happen again.  Now I get to agonize over it all weekend on our camping trip!  Gaaaa!  What if they fire me?!?  At least I’m on my husband’s health insurance policy!

On a happier note, a good co-worker friend brought me some “dirt,” this most awesome concoction of pudding, whipped cream and Oreos that she makes.  Aaaahhhhh *drool*  So awesome.  Actually made it worth coming into work today.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 18:11:24

    I hope things blow over at work and you can enjoy your camping trip. I LOVE “dirt cups” too!! Oreos are my favorite.

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 18:12:53

    I hope things blow over at work so you can enjoy your camping trip. I LOVE “dirt cups” too….Oreos are my favorite.

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 18:29:56

    Oh man. I can tell your character with the way you are just owning up to whatever mistake you made. Mistakes happen though. Hopefully it awsn’t life altering? Jeeeez, you’re in my thoughts sweetie.

    Reply

  4. Christy W
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 22:24:53

    I hate that! :/
    Sorry you had a crappy day. Hopefully tomorrow will be much, much better 🙂

    Reply

  5. D
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 10:15:55

    I hate it when good people makes mistakes and own up to them and then have to go through things like this. Hang in there, good people usually prevail. Just rest easy in that you owned up to it and no one is perfect. have a great trip and try and focus that you had no ill intent 🙂 I have had “dirt” before ….pretty good.

    Reply

  6. Clare
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 12:29:43

    Nothing worse than the unknown looming over you. Hope you can enjoy your weekend and feel ready to face whatever you have to. Good luck!

    Reply

  7. Pie
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 13:27:25

    Ugh, this woman sounds like a piece of work. I hope it blows over quickly. Have fun camping, enjoy!!

    Reply

  8. Michelle
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 20:12:10

    OMG I love that stuff…Dirt is so good!!!!

    I am sorry about what happened at work. I hope it blows over and does not turn out that bad.

    Reply

  9. meinsideout
    Jul 26, 2009 @ 11:06:05

    One thing that always makes me feel better when I screw up at work is that it happens to EVERYONE. People who pretend that it does not happen to them are jackasses.

    BTW, Dirt is the best!

    Reply

  10. iamstacey
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 15:21:21

    Thanks everybody for all your support! You all are so great! I had a big attitude improvement after I ate “dirt”! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

