1st U/S Since Starting Injectables

Friday I started the weekend job at 5 pm.  Around 5am I had my estrodiol (E2) level drawn and had it couriered over to the lab where they run the hormone levels.  My weekend job is actually with the company that does all the lab work for the RE I go to, although the hormone levels are run at another location.  It’s nice to get it done without having to go to a clinic and wait in the waiting room.  Got off work at 8am (a 15hr shift, bah), then headed for the RE’s office for my first u/s since starting the Gonal F injections.

This weekend I met a third doctor for the Texas Fertility Center, Dr. Hansard (it was her turn to cover the weekend).  She was so sweet and patient will all my questions.  The three dosages of Gonal F I’d taken so far were 150, 112.5 and 112.5.  She saw two follies on the right that were 8.8 and 7.7, two on the left ovary measuring 9 and 7.9 and a few small other ones on each side.  My lining measured 5.8.  She said that it’s typical of PCOS that I would have a very poor response with Clomid or Femara but that I would over-respond to injectables, which is why Dr. Vaughn had started me on a lower dose.  She said she’d have the nurse call me when they got the E2 levels back.

Wearily I made it home to find Troy had run to Shipley’s Donuts to get me my favorite two donuts – a crumble one, and one chocolate cake donut.  I’m so in love!  (with Troy, not the donuts.  well, with the donuts, too.)  Right about the time we finished the donuts the nurse called to tell me that my E2 level was 32, which apparently is a bit low.  My next three doses of Gonal F are all 150, and I’m to get another E2 level and u/s on Tuesday.  I begged for Wednesday, as it’s easier for the boss to get someone to cover for me on Wednesdays, but they were adamant that Tuesday was the day so they wouldn’t have an Octomom to blemish their record.

I called my boss and left a message asking if someone could cover for me either early in the day or at the end of the day on Tuesday.  I fear I’ve about exhausted her good graces, so I wanted to give her the information today instead of dropping it in her lap Monday with only one day to set it up.  I hope all this isn’t pushing her too far, I really do love my job.  Fortunately she’s the kind of person that will tell me when things need to change, and hopefully we’re not there yet – ’cause we still have the double IUI’s to go!

Now it’s 11pm Saturday night, and I’ve been back at the weekend job since 7pm.  I’m off at 7 tomorrow, and I plan to crash hard when I get home.  My girlfriends Melissa and Judy are comin’ tomorrow and we’re going to hang by the pool, play some cards and eat truly unhealthy food.  I think Melissa said something about making an Oreo pie, and Judy’s gonna make her amazing home-made french fries.  Mmmmmm.  I wonder, can you have a drink while on Gonal F?  I know there’ll be margaritas … mmm, a margarita sounds sooo good … let me know if ya’ll know.  Otherwise, I’ll skip it, but man it does sound good.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clare
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 08:18:10

    I hope your boss is understanding! Your work schedule sounds grueling, I dont know if I could ever do a night-shift, i just drop when Im tired. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Pie
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 09:43:53

    Boy, you sure do work hard! I don’t think I’d be functional after 2 night shifts to have the girls over for margies. You’re a rock star.

    And I’ve heard conflicting info about booze and fertility meds. I think one wouldn’t kill you (or the follies). You’ve certainly earned it!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 20, 2009 @ 10:37:30

      I did splurge on a margarita! After all this time away from drinkin’, I got a nice little buzz while we floated in the pool! Ahhhh, what a life! 🙂

      Reply

  3. babydust81
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 10:21:50

    Wow, you have been working extra hard. Do take care of yourself too in the process.

    N it seems like it was only yesterday that u were mentioning u are getting ur meds and now u are starting the injectibles. All the best this time around. Once u are in the process, time will pass by very fast. Usually it is the 2WW that slows everything down.

    Take care aite.

    Reply

  4. Christy
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 11:23:52

    Oh, stacey. You are amazing. You are so positive about all of this-no complaints out of you whatsoever!!! I am having good feelings about all of this (although not octomom-ish type feelings, hopefully :). I wish you such good luck and I hope your boss is totally understanding. I mean, what else can you do?
    Much love.

    Reply

  5. Ashley
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 12:16:58

    4 follies is great! You are awesome, working a weekend job as well! I think you’re good to go on one margarita. 🙂 You deserve it!!

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 13:25:24

    I am praying this is you cycle and your dreams come true.

    YUMMY Oreo pie and hanging by the pool sounds like fun to me!

    I nominated you for an award. Check it out on my blog.

    ((HUGS))

    Reply

  7. christinambw
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 18:34:42

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Good luck…sounds like this cycle is moving along really nicely!! I hope your first injectable cycle is your LAST!!

    Christina from
    unquestionablelove.blogspot.com

    Reply

  8. Bon
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 18:39:38

    What a nice guy to get you doughnuts!

    Also, I wanted to let you know I moved my blog from “angry” to a new location if you want to keep reading.

    http://www.icanhazbebe.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 20, 2009 @ 10:41:16

      well there ya are! I was heart-broken when I saw your blog disappeared! I’m so glad you’ve still got one – I’ve already updated my blogroll so I don’t lose track of ya!

      Reply

  9. Katie
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 14:58:27

    Thanks for your comment! Hoping this is your cycle too!

    Reply

  10. meinsideout
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 05:31:52

    I hope your e2 shoots up and you follies are beautifully ready for the IUIs.

    I also hope you had a great time with your girlfriends.

    Reply

  11. iamstacey
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 14:30:28

    Thanks, Katie and Insideout! We had such a great time 🙂

    Reply

  12. Jenny G
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 15:39:22

    Hahahaha – Stacey we probably just missed each other on the 18th at TX Fertility Center. I was there that morning picking up some paperwork b/c I got a positive result! So have faith my dear – I struggled w/ Clomid & IUIs for a long time and this was my first time on Gonal F and we almost cancelled. I ended up with 1 good follie and it must have been my miracle one! Good luck and baby dust to you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

