A Baby in a Pen

The injectable I’ll be taking is Gonal F, and it comes in a pen!  Today in shot class I learned how to prime the pen, attach a needle, choose the correct dose and give myself the shot.  I’m supposed to give myself a shot every day at the same time, between 6 and 9.  I’ll probably go for 7, since I’m almost always home by then.  If we’re going out in the evening I’ll have to remember to take my pen with me!  The injection can be in my stomach, top of my thighs or in the back of my arms.

After shot class I had an ultrasound with Dr. Vaughn, the lead doc at the Texas Fertility Center.  He’s been assigned to my treatment this week while Dr. Silverberg is at a conference in Canada…supposedly…I think he’s secretly off trying to beat the Texas heat.  Lucky dog!  Dr. Vaughn was very quick and efficient and I have to say, it was the quickest and least uncomfortable u/s ever!

I’ll be keeping a chart that tracks my daily dose of Gonal F, my ultrasound results, my Estradiol blood work and follicle numbers and sizes.  They’re also sending me a dose of Ovidrel to trigger ovulation, but that’ll be later.

Freedom Pharmacy told me yesterday that they’d call by 7pm today to let me know if the drugs were covered by insurance.  They finally called – at 6:38pm!  Way to make a girl sweat a bit, eh?  We’re so lucky that Troy’s insurance approved the drugs.  We did have to pay $100, which must be co-pays and maybe the overnight shipping, I’m not sure. I’ll check on the invoice.  I’m curious how much the meds cost without insurance, although they said the price that a patient would pay out-of-pocket is significantly less than what they charge insurance for it.  Without Troy’s insurance, there’s just no way we could be doing this.

Saturday I’m supposed to have the bloodwork (E2 level) drawn by 8am.  I’ll be working in the lab at the weekend overnight job, so I’ll have it drawn there before I get off work at 7.  At nine I meet a 3rd doc from Texas Fertility Center, Dr. Hansard.  She’s covering the weekend, and she’ll be my first chick IF doc visit!  She’ll do another u/s to be sure I’m not slipping into OHSS (ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome).  If that happens, they’ll back off on dosage if they can, or cancel the cycle if it’s too severe.  I’m keepin’ my fingers crossed that doesn’t happen! 

The most I ever got on Clomid 150mg was 2 follicles on one ovary.  I wonder how I’ll respond to the Gonal F.  The clinic doesn’t do conversions to IVF if there are too many follicles.  They either cancel the cycle, or give you the choice to proceed with the possibility of selective reduction later.  I don’t know how I feel about that, either!  Definitely things to be thinking about over the next two weeks.

I’d better get to bed or I won’t wanna get up in the mornin’!  Who am I kidding, I never want to get up in the morning.  I’m just not one of those chipper early risers.  Just finished an episode of True Blood (excellent!).  Think I’ll veg to a Family Guy before joining DH in bed.  G’night, all!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 03:47:36

    This sounds so complicated. You are so brave!!!! I hope this works for you, and quickly! I’m learning this new lingo, so I think I am supposed to say “babydust” to you or something like that. But, anyway, I’m hoping for you!!!!

    xx

    Reply

  2. Sweet Georgia
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 08:03:02

    Glad your insurance covers the meds. In Canada, it’s about $1.00 per iu so 100iu = $100. My husband’s insurance covers the meds so we’re pretty lucky.

    Reply

  3. Pie
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 08:34:27

    Great news, the shots will be second nature very soon. You’ll do great! I always did my tummy, it was easiest for me.

    Good luck!!

    Reply

  4. D
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 08:44:13

    that is great insurance!! with my follistim, menopur and ganirelix….my first month was 1500….WITH insurance, bah! but it was worth it 🙂
    wishing you best this cycle! you can do it. The cycles go quick inbetween appointments and injections!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 15, 2009 @ 20:34:53

      gaaack! $1500!! Wow! Now I do feel really lucky!! It’s amazing how after all that waiting, waiting, waiting – all the sudden, we’re goin’ a mile a minute!

      Reply

  5. Katie
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 10:14:25

    Good luck with this, it sounds complicated, but exciting nonetheless!!!

    Reply

  6. stacey
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 11:30:10

    I’ve been thinking of checking out season one of True Blood. You like it?

    Wishing you luck on this next cycle!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 15, 2009 @ 20:39:48

      Troy and I love it! If you like gothic/vampire stories, it’s your kind of show! But I have to warn ya, there’s some nudity, lots of sex, lots of bad language and some blood/violence. And did I mention lots of hot guys with no shirts….? 🙂

      Reply

  7. Kate
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 12:54:42

    Good luck with the injectibles! You are very brave to stick yourself with a needle. Bleh. If it works, it will be 100% worth it, though!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:01:03

    Good luck!!! Let us know how you fare with stickin yourself! I may have to start sticking myself soon (hopefully if the pregnancy sticks) and I’ll be interested in your experience.

    Reply

  9. Jenny
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:07:13

    Good luck! The injections aren’t bad – the needle doesn’t hurt and the pen is super easy to use! So awesome that your insurance covers it – i’m way jealous! 🙂 You were wondering how much they cost…a 900iu Gonal-F pen is $717 and 300 iu is $239. And of course on my last cycle, my body had to be pricey and need 1800 units! Yuck! Dr. Vaughn was laughing saying that I have high priced ovaries ….like I didn’t already know that! He does give the best u/s! Dr. Hansard is great too. Good luck-I’m sure this cycle will be great!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 15, 2009 @ 20:45:15

      Are you here in Austin, Jenny? Your blog link didn’t show up! I agree, Dr. Vaughn does good dildo cam! 🙂 I’ll meet Dr. Hansaard this Saturday. Maybe we’ll cross paths in the waiting room sometime! 🙂

      Reply

      • Jenny
        Jul 16, 2009 @ 11:19:03

        Yep, I’m here in Austin. I don’t have a blog…I’m a loser, I know. For some reason, I can’t bring myself to start one. But I’m an avid reader and commenter! 🙂 I’ve been going to Dr. Vaughn since last fall and Keri is my nurse as well. They’re both great and understanding. Poor Keri has answered so MANY questions from me – and never acted annoyed at my neuroses! I am really happy with TX Fertility Center, but I’d be even happier if we could get to a point where I don’t need to see them anymore! 🙂

        Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 15, 2009 @ 20:53:01

      gaaaack! Wow, you are definitely not a cheap date! 🙂 I had no idea how much the meds were!

      Reply

  10. Michelle
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:24:04

    So glad the insurance covers them. It makes a big differenc. Yours sounds like mine. I just have to pay 100 which is a lot better then full price!

    Gonal-F is very easy and you won’t even feel a thing. i love that pen it makes it so EASY!!!!

    Reply

  11. myndful
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 18:08:06

    The odds with Gonal-F are much better than with Clomid (my RE gave me a chart with their success rates today) and you should definitely see more follies than you have so far. Hope the injections are easy-peasy and sending tons of baby dust your way. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

