The 2WW: Day 8 or Just how long has it really been?

So Mom calls me up on the drive to work this morning and asks, “So, how much longer ’til we know something?  It feels like I’ve been waiting a month already!”  Really?  Feels like a month for YOU?  Let me tell ya how it feels for me….  *sigh* 

Had a toast and turkey sandwich for lunch at my desk today.  Note to self:  toast + keyboard = lots and lots of canned air.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 14:52:36

    Aw, nothing like others “cheering” you on… We haven’t been pummeled with questions, fortunately, just once in a while that sly–when are you going to have kids? I want to tell them, “Well, it’s not that easy…” but whenever I’ve told people about PCOS, they have sort of deer-in-the-headlights’ed me.

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 15:36:08

    You are over halfway now!!!

    Reply

  3. sunflowerchilde
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 15:47:19

    That’s why I generally don’t tell anyone the specifics (i.e actual dates). I told my friends once, and they were all asking not only me but also my sister if there was any news. You start to feel like you’re under a microscope.

    And I know what you mean about the toast – I’ve done that too!

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 15:51:42

    Yeah, I think we won’t tell anyone the next round. I told Mom ’cause I needed help with my first shot, but hopefully no one else knows. With Mom, all bets are off. Next time I’ll be able to do it on my own, and I can answer questions with a vague, “Oh, we’re still working on it!”

    Didn’t learn my lesson. Ate a mini-muffin that a patient brought in for everyone. Muffin + keyboard = even more canned air.

    Reply

  5. Celia
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 16:31:52

    We are almost there. I am kinda thankful for the progesterone because I am too zonked out to stress.

    Reply

  6. myndful
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 17:12:15

    We didn’t advertise exact dates, but many people did know this past month was our first month of infertility treatments, so…the expectation was just killing everyone. Having to share the news was not so much fun for me so…we won’t do it again! Totally get the situation with Mom and the shot though. It’s good that she cares, right?

    As for the canned air, good for you! My husband is a computer geek for a living, and when I was working 80 hours a week I ate every meal over my computer…and it showed. He hated it 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 07, 2009 @ 09:43:51

      I’m soooo glad to have a mom who is so supportive and excited for us! I just thought it was a funny, ironic comment she made. 🙂

      Oh, I’ve SO upset my geek techie DH with my computer habits. He’s acutally popped off all my keys before so he could clean underneath!

      Reply

  7. Katie
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 18:40:02

    I told a few too many people this cycle (my mom is a nurse, and was very helpful as I freaked out about the shot)…I won’t be doing that again! People who haven’t experienced it don’t really get it. My mom can’t understand why I would have any other feeling than joy and excitement about my two pregnant friends. Hang in there, I know the wait is excruciating, but hopefully will be well worth it soon!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 07, 2009 @ 09:45:08

      I’ve been lucky so far that it hasn’t bothered me when friends have had babies. But OMG, if my new SIL and brother get pregnant first, I’m really going to have to learn how to deal with that! I would want to be happy for them, but I have to admit, it would really bother me.

      Reply

  8. Lisa
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 20:40:36

    Gah – the 2ww is so long. I quit telling my family and they quit asking. I think that they are scared or something or it is just too hard after the first two losses.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 07, 2009 @ 09:46:09

      that’s just what I’m afraid of – we only told mom. I’m not telling friends ’cause I don’t want them to eventually get uncomfortable around us. It’s so hard when it’s on my mind all the time, though!

      Reply

  9. babydust81
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 22:35:16

    Hi Stacey,

    2WW feels super long. I understand. Pls take care. I know how it feels like when people are asking all the time. Hang in on in there dear. I will be keeping u in my prayers and hopefully the long excruciating wait will be worth the wait.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 07, 2009 @ 09:47:26

      Thanks, Babydust! I know you know just exactly what it’s like! I’ve taken up your habits and I keep obsessively checkin’ with Dr. Google in hopes of getting a good sign! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

