The 2WW: Day 7

One week down.  Of course, I peed on a stick at work Friday night.  It was negative.  Duh.  That’s the problem with working in a medical laboratory – the crack is right there in front of me, all day long!

Yesterday was wonderful!  I’m never happier than when my house is full to seams with family and friends!  We’ve got more food left over than we can eat in a week!  Hopefully more friends will stop by today to help us finish it off.

Mike and Lorelei, their two girls and their friend Tina came to swim and grill.  They brought a blow-up sea horse for their 3 yr old, Cassidy, to play on in the pool.  Of course, it provided endless amusement to the adults who were determined to ride the water beast (all unsuccessfully but quite humorously)!  Dobby discovered it and decided it is her new arch-nemesis.  I can hear her outside barking at it right now.

Troy’s closest friend at work, Thomas, and his fiancee Katie spent the afternoon with all of us.  I’m so glad to get to know them!  What fun, sweet people.  They taught us a great new card game called “I’ll Buy That.”  Love me a good card game!

Mom and Dad stayed until we left for the fireworks, then they headed for home.  Dad has to preach tomorrow and Mom hasn’t been home all week (she was staying with us and helping my brother with his boys).  The house seems so quiet now that she’s gone!

Poppy sunnin’ in the window 

 

 

Around 8 we headed over to the park in town to watch the fireworks.  We took Dobby with us.  I’ve been nervous about taking Dude out, he still has that puppy enthusiasm, and he’s still so excitable.  I wish we’d taken him with us, though.  Threw a bit old comforter in the grass and played cards ’til it got too dark to see.  The fireworks were amazing!

I REALLY missed alcohol.

 

 

I’ve gotta change my ways.  I know the IF meds cause bloating, but I think I’m beyond the bloat.  Besides, I’m gonna need some energy when there’s a baby in the house!  I’m going to start gently, just walking on the treadmill and cutting out some carbs.  I’ve lost weight quickly before on the MediFast diet.  I’d like to go on it again, but I’m afraid it’d be too harsh for babymaking.  And really, it’s expensive and we can’t afford it right now.

Starting to feel some mild, vague cramps.  Feels like AF to me, but no sign of her yet.  Still a little ovarian ache on the left side.  That’s all I’ve got to report!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myndful
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 12:46:34

    Way too early to lose hope! 7dpiui you could still expect a false positive from the trigger shot, if you had one. Give it a few more days, and try not to torture yourself with the tests. After last month’s POAS-fest, I will NOT pee on a stick until 14dpiui. I will not, I will not, I will not! As tempting as it is, it really will just make you feel worse. If you feel the need to POAS, and want to be talked down, you know where to find me. 🙂

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 05, 2009 @ 20:03:07

      “I will not pee on a stick.”
      “I will not pee on a stick.”
      “I will not pee on a stick.”
      100 times on my chalkboard 🙂
      Thanks for being my sponsor as I go through POAS withdrawal!

      Reply

  2. Molly
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 13:22:14

    We’re not on meds (yet?), or actively trying, actually, not yet–I’m trying to lose weight so I can go off the Provera–but I totally understand how you feel about not being able to drink. Losing weight means not drinking, or if I do, it means sacrificing something else (like a meal), which is not entirely a thrill for me.

    I know what you mean about peeing on a stick with disappointment though… before I was diagnosed, I didn’t understand why I was often so late, so I’d be relieved at the negative, and now that I’m ready and medicated, I know if I’m late, it’s a good thing. Too bad it comes every 14th (thanks, um, Provera) like clockwork. Now if I could get the rest of me working like clockwork…

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 05, 2009 @ 20:06:03

      Nothing on me looks like clockwork! (Although DH has clockwork down – his socks will always be on the floor next to the hamper every morning!) I’m so excited for you and your DH as ya’ll get ready for the next big step! I’ll be following in your diet footsteps on Monday!

      Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 14:23:54

    Yes that would be so hard with working in a lab all day. It is hard enough not working there. It sounds like you had a nice weekend. I too love a good card game!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 05, 2009 @ 20:08:27

      We LOVE games – and they’re great for keepin’ my mind busy for a few hours! It was a nice weekend, I really enjoyed it. Fortunately I only work on the weekends at the lab that has the preg tests so I won’t be tempted for the rest of this week! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Clare
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 03:04:47

    The 2ww sucks. If I worked in a lab i think i would test every hour! I promised myself I would hold off until Wednesday – but every morning when I wake up it’s the first thing I think of… must resist!

    Reply

  5. meinsideout
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 07:04:25

    I hear you – I have gained so much weight, not from just the meds either. Self medicating. With food. I too have lost weight on various programs but I will not do them while I am trying to conceive – it sucks.

    I am a POAS addict. So if you need help peeing on more sticks, let me know!

    Reply

  6. Sweet Georgia
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 08:06:38

    Glad you got through week 1 – one more to go! Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. I’m with you on the gentle exercising. The stress of infertility as well as the drugs have really done a number on my figure. I’m getting back on track as well.

    Reply

  7. iamstacey
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 12:36:59

    So … I didn’t get up in time to walk on the treadmill this morning. Started off to work with a turkey sandwich and good intentions – so far I’ve eaten the sandwich, two Hershey’s kisses and a bag of Funyuns. *sigh* At least I didn’t pee on a stick today! (not yet, anyways…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

