Sunday, 6/28/09 IUI #1

Troy called me at work at 6:45 this morning to report “the monkey has been spanked, as ordered” – code for a successful man-juice collection.  (Whenever he’s burned out on baby dancing, he always tries to get out of it by announcing, “I am not a dancing monkey!”)  He sounded grumpy and sleepy.  I gave him the obligatory encouragement and congratulations.  Just as I got off work, he left the house to deliver the goods to Austin IVF, the company that does the sperm wash and concentration.  We actually passed each other on the road.

I went home, took a Mucinex to keep those fluids flowing, then crashed out for an hour.  Troy woke me at 8:30 for a quick shower, then we were off to the Texas Fertility Center for our very first IUI at 9:30am.  We got there at 9:10, but Troy’s boys hadn’t arrived yet so we chilled over the Sunday paper and chatted with the few other couples in the waiting room.  It was funny to see the usually very formal and professional staff let their hair down for the weekend.  Everyone was in t-shirts and capris or shorts, even Dr. Silverberg.

As soon as the sperm arrived they ushered us back to an exam room and had me undress from the waist down, get up on the table, and assume the position.  I’ve read about others’ experiences with an IUI, and I thought we’d get to see the IUI on a monitor but there wasn’t one in the room.  I’ve also been wondering what my lining measurement was, so I was a little disappointed there was no u/s.  The doc gave us a run-down on Troy’s sample, and although morphology was even lower than last time, there was a great total volume and they got over double what they usually need for a successful IUI.  He was really happy with the sample.  Sorry I’ve forgotten the numbers or I’d report ’em here.

Dr. Silverberg started by putting in the speculum.  Apparently my cervix was facing straight down towards the floor today, so he had a very difficult time seeing the cervical opening.  Finally after several adjustmens of the speculum he was able to insert the catheter.  There was the same sharp cramp I got when I had the HSG just as the catheter went in.  Since my cervix was facing so far downward, Dr. S had to bend the catheter sharply to get up into the cervical cavity.  I had some pretty good cramps while he tried to get it into the right place.  At last he held up the syringe containing concentrated Troy and had us both identify the label as “Harlan,” then he injected the contents and removed the catheter.  The nurse set a timer and had me lay on the table for 10 minutes, then we checked out.  The sperm wash/concentration was $230 (normally it’s $180 but they make ya pay extra for making them come in on the weekend), and our co-pay for the IUI was $30.  I’ll submit the reciept to insurance for the wash/concentration and hopefully we’ll be reimbursed for that.  Orders are no swimming or baths ’til Wednesday, and sex tonight and tomorrow night (dance, Monkey, dance!).

Now I’m home.  Troy made us breakfast burritos and I’m about to crash out.  Still having very mild cramps, I’m sure they’ll be gone by the time I get up.  Two week wait:  Commence!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. babydust81
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 12:12:07

    Hey Stacey…

    COngrats on the IUI. N make sure you take it easy in the next few days… All the best for your cycle. I am praying for your success. Keep us updated okay 🙂

    Reply

  2. myndful
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 13:20:31

    Sorry that the IUI was uncomfortable for you, but so happy for you that it’s finally done. Welcome to the 2ww! Keeping my fingers crossed and sending tons of positive vibes your way for a BFP in short order. 🙂

    Reply

  3. iamstacey
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 20:57:06

    Thanks, ya’ll! I’m NOT a patient person. It’ll be interesting to see how I handle the next two weeks.

    Reply

  4. Sweet Georgia
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 08:14:49

    Congrats on your IUI! Have fun with your dancing monkey for the next couple of days. I hope your 2 week wait flies by!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 29, 2009 @ 11:33:24

      It was fun trying to get the monkey to dance last night – Mom and Dad stayed over with us, and the monkey always gets performance anxiety! But he overcame his stage fright eventually! 🙂 (I said came heh heh)

      Reply

  5. Astrid
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 14:58:25

    Yay congrats on having it over with. Can’t wait to hear the results. Hope you have a happy and distracting TWW!

    Thanks SO much for your post. It was really helpful. I’ve never heard of AFP but I’ll ask my gyn/onc when/if he ever calls me. I carry the phone around with me like I’m 17 and waiting for a new boyfriend to call!

    I could totally understand the weekly draws if my levels were like most GTD patients, jumping around by the hundreds or thousands in just a week’s time. Or even if they had responded more convincingly to MTX. But mine have never buged more than 6 points per week in either direction and usually move less than that, notwithstanding the MTX injections. On top of which – I was never formally diagnosed with GTD. It’s just one of the possibilities. So the normal regimen just doesn’t seem like a good fit. I know I’m better safe than sorry and that the dr’s are just trying to be careful. I’d just hate to think that I’ll be waiting 7 months when this could be a simple case of left over tissue, rather than GTD, and that I am perfectly safe to start again right NOW!

    Thanks again and very best wishes for the days ahead!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 29, 2009 @ 15:07:22

      I’m with you, I think your overall health history and the fact that your HCG’s have been so consistently great indicate that they’re being overly cautious. I’m glad you have the confidence to be involved in your treatment, and to ask for what you really need! That could be why they didn’t do AFP’s since you weren’t definitely dx’d with GTD.

      Reply

  6. Christy
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 16:47:03

    I’m keeping you in my thoughts and sending SO much positive energy your way!!! Thanks for the updates!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

