Thurs., 6/25/09 Jinxed?

I think I’ve gone and jinxed myself.  Ever since we started seeing the RE, I’ve felt so much closer to success than we’ve ever been before.  Which has gotten me a lot more excited about everything baby related.  Craigslist has become my crack.  I can’t stop browsing baby stuff, especially bedding themes! 

Last week I absolutely fell in love with a crib set in red and white gingham and polka dots.  Red is one of my favorite colors!  I want to do a baby room in bold, bright colors.  I sent the seller a little note, thought I’d just see if it was still available.  She didn’t write back, so I figured it was gone.  Today, out of the blue, she called my cell to say she’d been out of town, but was back and the set was still available.  I couldn’t stop myself, I went and bought it!  And  I love it as much as I thought I would!

Aargh, why did I buy something for a baby I don’t even have yet?  What if we have multiples … or never have babies?  Have I jinxed myself right before our first insemination?  Mom keeps saying there’s no such thing as a jinx … but I can’t help but feel superstitious!  Why does s u p e r s t i t i o u s look wrong?  How do you even spell that?  Gaaaaa!!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:11:54

    mom is right…no such thing as a jinx. (but i understand the feeling) and i am glad to hear that you love the crib set!

    Reply

  2. myndful
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:44:30

    Deary, I felt (and feel!) exactly the same way, even though I know it’s absolutely ridiculous! The whole multiples argument is the only thing that has kept me from buying cribs, strollers and the like! We have a closet 1/4 full of baby stuff in the baby’s room (right now a big empty room with nothing in it but the stuff in the closet). I broke down this week and bought a bunch of clearance baby clothes (10 maybe but for about $50 in total), and then started feeling like I ruined everything. Nonsense! You found something you loved, enjoy it! It just shows how committed and convinced you are that you are going to have that baby!

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:08:09

    No jinx! I think its great! My friend urges me to research cribs, strollers, etc so I know the best things for my baby when i get (and stay) pregnant. I don’t have the energy to do that, but if you do, if it gives you hope, go for it!!!!! No reason to feel weird about being optimistic and hopeful. Studies show that doing those sorts of things is the best thing you can do for yourself.

    Reply

  4. Sweet Georgia
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 17:40:03

    Your Mom is right. Even though I would be thinking the same as you. You can’t think yourself pregnant or think yourself unpregnant. When you get pregnant, if you hadn’t of purchased it I’m sure you would kick yourself!

    Reply

  5. meinsideout
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 18:08:18

    good for you, enjoy yourself! This process rips our joy out too much. Thanks for your comments on my blog, I look forward to checking out your story.

    Reply

  6. iamstacey
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 04:11:14

    Thanks so much guys. It’s so hard not to obsess about IF and babies! Impossible not to, I think! I’m trying to stay distracted, but I just seem to drift right back to it. It helps to know I’m not the only one sneaking in baby stuff! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

