Mon., 6/22/09 Oopause

Ooooo, oopause.  Also known as delayed ovarian response … and today’s diagnosis.  Turns out I have one ovary that didn’t respond to the 150mg dose of Clomid at all, and the other has produced only two follicles. 

But all is not  lost, not by a long shot.  Dr. Silverberg doesn’t seem at all discouraged.  He says there are many steps to go yet, and he even feels good about this round still.  Of the two follicles in business, one measures 14 and the other is 16.5.  My uterine lining is a discouraging 4.5.

My orders are to start taking an ovulation predictor test once a day, and sex every other day ’til Friday.  If the kit hasn’t turned positive by Friday, I’ll go in for a trigger shot and the IUI will be Saturday.  So the game is still in play as of now.

Before this appointment I was so excited, so sure this was it!  Now I’m a little deflated.  Deflated, but not defeated.  Maybe this will be the month I’ll finally see that elusive smiley face on the the OV kit screen.

Some 20-25 years ago while we were living in Indonesia Mom bought some beautiful batik fabrics.  She always meant to do something with them, maybe pillows or a quilt some day.  During their recent move she decided she never was going to get around to it, and she was tired of dragging them around, so she asked me if I wanted them.  I decided to get them framed, just a little reminder of my roots.  I just picked up the first few from Hobby Lobby, and they turned out beautifully!  The pic doesn’t really do them justice.

batik butterflies

batik butterflies

 

All the animals just love Troy.  They all want to sit on Troy’s chair (‘cept Lila, she’s my girl :).  And she’s a firm believer that all boys have cooties.)

Poppy on the back of the chair, Dude and Annie play in Troys lap, Dobby down front

Poppy on the back of the chair, Dude and Annie play in Troy's lap, Dobby down front

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Astrid
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 10:50:49

    Lovely fabrics – they turned out really nicely! I love the symmetry they produce as wall hangings, what a great idea. And love the pet pic. I’m such a sucker for dogs.

    Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 10:55:41

    Thanks! I love having something from my past to show off. 🙂
    Poor Troy, we’d never have so many animals if I didn’t keep bringing them home! And they all adore him and follow him everywhere!

    Reply

  3. D
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 11:41:44

    beautiful hangings i love them! fingers crossed that your fossils keep growing LOL….i love that smiley face opk!

    Reply

  4. myndful
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 13:52:27

    If you’re looking at Saturday for your IUI, those follicle sizes are fantastic! They will both definitely make it to the finish line based on what I’ve read (which is quite a bit since I had concerns about my follie size little more than a week ago myself!). Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 23, 2009 @ 14:56:49

      Really? That gives me hope! I keep thinking there need to be tons of follicles to even try the IUI. I know insurance will run out eventually, I feel like I’ve gotta make every effort count!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

