Sat., 6/13/09 Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!

No cysts on the ovaries!  Hallelujah!

I woke up at 5 yesterday morning and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I think I was so worried about not making it to the semen analysis clinic on time that it woke me up.  Poor Troy had to do his thing while I turned the news way up and entertained Mom in the next room.  He wouldn’t let me help this time (I think he had performance anxiety), but he did say afterwards that next time I can play. 🙂  I think he wanted to practice on his own first.

I made it to the clinic in plenty of time.  I paid for the semen analysis up front ($115), but they gave me a receipt and a letter to submit to insurance for reimbursement.  I downloaded a form off the United website to send with it, and it looks like it should be reimbursable.

From there I made it to the ultrasound appointment with 5 minutes to spare.  The tech was so sweet and in 15 minutes we were done and I was assured there were no cysts in the fuzzy grey static on the monitor!  In my teen years I had cysts several times, and after two rounds of Clomid, I was really worried that there would be some small ones at the very least.  But there were none to be seen!  Thank you, Lord!

With all that done, Mom and I headed out to Marble Falls to pick up Daisy, my beautiful lime green ’78 VW bus.  I’m so happy to have her home!  This weekend is the Republic of Texas motorcycle rally in Austin, and I got a bunch of “Peace!” waves as we passed by.  It felt so good to crank down the windows and crank up the tunes all the way home!

After that Mom and I hit the mall to find her a new swimsuit for our family trip to Schlitterbahn tomorrow.  Success!  And I found a cute cover-up for only $16 at Penney’s.  We were just cutting through the store to get to the food court and I spotted it on the sales rack.  Perfect find!

Next we hit HEB to stock up on chips and sandwich fixin’s for tomorrow’s picnic at the park.  While we were walking around, I got the call from Keri (I’ve been spelling her name wrong) at Dr. Silverberg’s office.  She said that the doc had reviewed the u/s results, and since all looks well he wants me to start 150 mg Clomid tomorrow morning (CD 5) for 5 days

While I had her on the phone I asked if Troy’s results had come back., and they had!  Overall, it was a good sample.  The total volume is slightly low, but Troy says after I bolted out the door with the sample he had some more come out, so I might’ve rushed the poor guy. The sample also scored slightly low on morphology, which I think means he’s a little short on regular looking boys and has a few more odd duucks than usual.  Although I think the low volume was a beginner’s fluke, both of those issues can be overcome by the IUI. 

Tonight Troy drove me to work and I drew our blood for our pre-IUI lab work.  The results should be at Dr. Silverberg’s office Monday morning.  I know all of that will be fine, and it’s nice to check it off the IF to-do list.  My next u/s appointment is Monday, June 22nd, where they’ll be looking to see if my ovaries are makin’ eggs!  If all goes well and looks good, the IUI will probably be the last week of June or 1st week of July.  In the meantime, I have the hysterosalpinogram next Wednesday a.m.

I slept for a bit earlier this evening and got up around 6 to find we had a houseful – Mom and Troy, of course, and Dad had arrived, bringing my two nephews with him (Dad had to stay an extra day before coming to Austin to attend a church meeting).  My brother dropped by later to pick up the boys, and they all ended up in the pool while Mom, Troy and I picked tomatoes.  We had a very short but very hard rain with a little hail last night, and we needed to tie up some of the tomato plants that were bent during the storm.  Thankfully it looks like the squash and zucchini plants are about done.  I don’t think I can eat any more and our neighbors are going to start running when they see us coming!

Tomorrow we all head for Schlitterbahn.  I think we’re going to have a great turn-out!  I just adore water parks.  We’re hoping Troy’s cousing Garrin and his family (they have 3 little girls) will be able to meet us there.  They haven’t seen each other since we got married 4 years ago!  They just recently moved to San Antonio, about 3 hours from us, but Schlitterbahn is right in between!  It’s going to be a great day!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katery
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 07:53:38

    sounds like things are going well for you. my husband’s first analysis had a lower volume too, i think it mainly due to the fact that he had to do it into a cup.

    Reply

  2. D
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 09:53:13

    congrats on the clear US! and yay for starting clomid. praying that this is your month! have a great time at schlitterbahn!

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 13:15:31

    Sounds like you had a really great day. Congrats on the US!

    Reply

  4. Sweet Georgia
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 13:58:08

    Glad that all the tests went well so far. I’m so jealous that you’re going to a waterpark. I love waterparks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

