Tues., 6/9/09 #2 (clever title, I know)

Another nurse (not Kerri) called back from Dr. Silverberg’s office to go over the plan for this cycle.  Apparently I have to have another ultrasound before starting the Clomid.  They require it each cycle to check for cysts, as Clomid will cause the cyst to grow. 

If I do have a cyst, does that mean we can’t try this cycle?  I forgot to ask that!  Aarg, I don’t want to wait another two months!  I guess I’ll find out on Friday.  They were able to get me in for the U/S at 8:45 on Friday, or as soon as I drop off Troy’s specimen (fortunately both clinics are in the same parking lot).  Man, the timing is going to be tight! 

I also asked her about taking Clomid for longer than 5 days.  As I’ve perused various forums and articles on the ol’ ‘net, I’ve seen that when ladies have cycles as long as mine, sometimes the RE will prescribe Clomid for 7 or even 10 days.  But Jenny (I think her name was Jenny) said that usually if someone is going to respond to Clomid, they’ll respond within the 5 day time frame.  And if they don’t, the RE’s prefer to either up the Clomid dose or go to injectables, rather than increase the number of days that Clomid is taken.  So that answers that question.

Lastly, I asked her about taking Metformin in addition to the Clomid.  It seems to be fairly common for larger ladies trying to ovulate to take both.  Jenny said that that several of Dr. Silverberg’s patients do take Metformin for the duration of the time they are trying to conceive, and she is going to ask him about it for me.  I’m sure I’ll hear back about that on Friday, too.

So, come on Friday!  I’m ready!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 12:16:37

    How long have you been on Metformin? How long did they ask you to stay on it before they added Clomid? i’m curious since I have a doc appoint in 2 weeks and want to have enough information to either accept her assertions or argue.She said in the past before I got pregnant on Met alone, that to get Clomid I’d need to try on Met for three months, then get an HSG test done and Jack would need to do a sperm analysis. Did you go through the same process?

    Good luck to you Stacey!

    Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 14:19:25

    Kate – Wow, it seems like every doc has a totally different protocol! Very frustrating. I’ve never taken Met, I’ve just read about it online. So I asked my gyn/onc about it, but he said they only use Clomid OR Met, but not both. So now I’ve decided to ask my RE about it, and his RN said several of their patients take both, so she’s going to ask for me. I haven’t heard back about that yet, but I have an appt. early Friday am.
    I haven’t read about anyone taking ONLY Met. It might be age related – for younger folks I could see that the doc might want to try Met first to see if you’d ovulate without a stimulant. Since I’m so old, I’m hoping they’ll let me do both! Troy does have a sperm analysis this Friday am, too. I have to say, if I was you I’d go in armed with as much info as you can get. Three months on Met alone seems too long to me.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 10, 2009 @ 14:24:03

      Oh – I have an HSG (my first!) next Wednesday. I stuck with my gyn/onc way too long before asking to be referred to an RE. And best of luck, to you, too! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Kate
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 12:05:30

    I hope you post about your HSG experience .I’ve heard some mixed things about it.

    So why do you wish you’d gone to the RE sooner? I’m still with an OBGYN and debating switching but I’m trying to figure out what more they can do that an obgyn can’t?

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 11, 2009 @ 22:34:34

      I’ll definitely write about the HSG and each step along the way! I love my ob/gyn, and I can’t wait to go back to him when I’m good and preggers! 🙂 But when I started seeing him for IF, he just prescribed Clomid, and that was it. It was up to me to figure out if I had ovulated or not, how to time baby dancing,etc. They didn’t even tell me what side effects to expect! Now, with the RE, every step is planned for me. They sit down and talk to me about all the options and the pros and cons of each. They answer all my questions the same day! And they’re not afraid to be aggressive with treatments, which at my age I really appreciate. Insurance is a big deal, though – be sure you know how much your insurance will cover – some folks have more coverage for the ob/gyn than the RE.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

