Sat., 6/6/09 Craaaamps, mooooaaan, aargh

Still no AF, but cramps abound.  Thanks for the Darvocet, Dr. Breen!  You’re my favorite OB/GYN ever.

I’ve worked in the lab for a cancer center (just went thru a merger and now it’s called Texas Oncology)  for almost 10 years now, and for the past 2 1/2 years I’ve been doing a little moonlighting, working the night shift at Westlake Hospital on Friday and Saturday nights.  Last night everything went smoothly, as usual.  I couldn’t ask for a better 2nd job, as far as the work, pay and co-workers go.  But lately there’s been a lot of stress for the full-timers, and it’s starting to affect everyone.  It’s a small staff and they’re pretty stretched already, but on top of that, there have been two women out with medical issues for over two months, and one of them isn’t giving any real information about when or even if she’ll be back.  Because of this, everyone is overworked, tense and stressed out. 

My boss has been asking me to take on more responsibilities and work more, but I’m already maxed out.  I hafta save the free time I have left for family, friends, and baby-making!  I’m starting to worry that he might let me go so he can get someone who will work more.  As well as really liking the job, Troy and I are both working hard to reach some financial goals, and I don’t want to quit.  I just don’t know if I should approach my boss and ask him if we could set aside some time to talk about it, or if I should let it go and see if tensions ease over time?  Hmm, I just don’t know what I should do.

On to happier thoughts … today has been such a nice, relaxing day.  I got home around 7:30 this morning, crashed out, and got up around 1:30pm.  The doggies are snoozing at my feel and I’ve got Annie on one side and Poppy on the other.  Lila’s sunning in the window while I blog and catch up on the way-too-full DVR.  Troy is in Dallas helping his folks put a new roof on their house.  I miss him already!

Dude and Dobbs take a nap

Dude and Dobbs take a nap

Sweet Annie

Sweet Annie

Poppy always gets the sunny arm of the chair

Poppy always gets the sunny arm of the chair

Oh, and my bestest friend Judy got me new shoes for my birthday!  (which isn’t ’til the 21st, actually)  I LOVE the peace signs!  My new shoes ROCK!!!
New shoes! Love me some peace signs!

New shoes! Love me some peace signs!

Earlier Dobby, Dude and I picked some more veggies from the garden.  We got a mongo zucchini and more squash.  And, our first red tomato!  It’s a little cherry tomato!

zucchini and squash from the garden

zucchini and squash from the garden

 

our first tomato, a cherry tomato from the garden

our first tomato, a cherry tomato from the garden

I’d better get a shower and get ready to head back to work.  I’m looking forward to tomorrow.  Troy will be home in the evening, and in the afternoon Judy’s coming over to just hang by the pool.  Maybe I’ll sneak in a nice margarita or something with ice and Malibu since my next cycle hasn’t come around yet. 🙂  Mmmm, alcohol, sun and good friends.  Doesn’t get any better!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 10:34:04

    Dude and Dobbs are way cute! Hoping those cramps you are feeling aren’t AF. thinking positive for you!

    Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 12:21:08

    thanks! we think they’re the cutest doggies ever! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

