Monday, 6-1-09 Geriatric Gravida

This weekend I read “Taking Charge of Your Fertility” and discovered that a first time mom over 35 (which I hope to be) is considered to be having a “geriatric pregnancy.”  OUCH.  June is my birth month, and this month it’ll be 38 years since I was born.  Forty is WAY too close.

On the other hand, I saw an online horoscope that pridicts that I’ll have “something to announce after June 20.”  Probably it’ll be that I’m now 38, since my birthday is June 21st.  Awesome.

I’m feeling a bit on the discouraged side today.  Even though I figured I hadn’t ovulated, the low progesterone result last week was harder to see than I thought it would be.  I guess my hopes were up a little more than I realized. 

Those achy feelings in my ovarian area and the vague cramps are gone.  Troy and I dutifully have kept up the baby dance at least every other night, so if I did already ovulate we should have it covered.  I’ve still not had one positive ovulation kit.  Maybe I’m ovulating, but I’m not dropping the egg?  Still no period, either, and this will be my 5th week since the last one.

However, this is the week mymonthlycycles. com predicted I would ovulate, with peak day being Wednesday.  So Troy and I are going to do the baby dance every day, starting last night (Sunday).   So who knows, maybe there will be something good to announce after June 20th. 🙂

Last week was the usual blur of work and housework and gardening.  We’re still drowning in zucchini and squash, but the tomatoes still haven’t turned red.  Maybe this week.  Oh, we have tons of pretty new green peppers now, too! 🙂 

Last Sunday we decided to just take it easy all day, then meet up with our good freinds Melissa and Aaron in the evening to see the movie “Up.”  But somehow by noon we had a houseful!  My brother Chris, his new wife JoAnn, and his two kids Cayle and Andon arrived first.  They’d gone to a little neighborhood kid’s water park, only to have it shut down on them without explanation only 20 minutes after they got there!  So they headed straight to our house to hit the pool.  Aaron and Melissa came early, so we all ended up playing in the pool.  Sometime mid-afternoon we fired up the grill and finished cooking up all the left-over burgers and hot dogs from Memorial Day.  It was the perfect lazy afternoon!

In the evening we did finally make it to the theater to see Up in 3D.  Such a cute movie!  But sadder than I expected!  Especially the part where they find out they can’t have kids. 😦

I took today’s OV kit test at 12:30, and got the usual negatory response.  Following advice from “Taking Charge of Your Fertility,” I’ve been checking my cervical fluid, but no eggwhite yet.   I’ve decided not to check my “cervical position and texture,” which she does recommend but I’ve read too many other articles that say the risk of infection is too high, it’s better not to mess with the cervix.  I’ll start charting my basal temp tomorrow (I keep forgetting to do it before I move in the morning).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stacey
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 18:16:33

    Thanks so much for making contact on my blog. Looking forward to following your story as well. Love your blog title! 🙂

    Reply

  2. katery
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 18:59:11

    thanks for the compliment. it doesn’t seem fair that people like us who actually wait until we are ready to have children have to have such a hard time doing so. we should be rewarded with getting pregnant super easy and complication free pregnancies!

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 08:38:17

    good luck! Take Charge of Your Fert. is an awesome book and what helped me realize my body was not working normally. I noticed the weird fluctuations, the EWCM not being on a cycle, etc… and it ultimately helped me get diagnosed with PCOS.

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 10:25:41

    Stacey – we even both have the “e”! 🙂
    Katery – I know, right?!? That’s exactly what I think, too!
    Kate – from all I’ve read, I think that’s probably what I’m dealing with, too. If I have another period (no success) I’m going to ask to be referred to an RE so I can find out for sure.

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 12:54:25

    A good OBGYN can diagnose you with PCOS if you are concerned you have PCOS. It’s a simple blood test and a vaginal ultrasound of your ovaries. I recommend you try going through an OBGYN first due to the fact that an OBGYN will be covered by insurance as treating you for abnormal periods… an RE will automatically cost you more for the same information. Just my opinion though 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

