Catching Up

Hi!

almost got close enough to taste the camera!

 

Yeah, I’ve been AWOL.  It’s a combination of life gettin’ busy and needing a break from the conception obsession (that’d be a good name for a (in)fertility blog).   I’ve thought of you guys often, and I’ll be catching up with you guys all week.  But I had to break the funk, move on.  It surprises me how deeply I was sucked right back into it.  I thought it’d be easier this time around, since we have Davie, but it was just as hard – in a different way.  Davie is a real comfort and joy and having her makes it better in some ways.  But it’s harder, too – when those embryos don’t take, I know just exactly what I’m losing.  I feel like a failure not just as a woman, but as a mother.  Ah, the joys of finding new levels of heartache in this journey.

But enough on that … for now, anyways.  Time to soak up family, friends and the holidays!

My brother Chris turned 36 on Nov. 18th.  He and his wife JoAnn rented an RV and we all went camping at the Renaissance Festival in Plantersville, Texas.  We had so much fun!  The only draw-back was because of the drought, we couldn’t have any campfires this year.  I love the smell of the campfires on the cool air!  The four of us got there the first night and set up the camp.  JoAnn’s baby bump is so cute!  Troy and I slept in a tent.  I love sleeping in the outdoors! 

Does bringing your own toilet really count as camping?

 
 

The next night, Mom and Dad brought Davie and my nephews, Cayle and Andon.  My brother’s friend since childhood, Mark, arrived with his wife Jen and their three kids:  Jacob, who is Cayle’s age, and their two year old twins, Andrew and Lauren.  Dad carried Davie in a backpack carrier we borrowed from friends (I think they got it at REI).  She LOVED it!  She was so excited, she’d kick and squeal!  People would look around for the squealing baby, and would just laugh when they saw her!  She wasn’t scared by any of it, she had a blast!  We had a great time chowing down and people-watching. 

Pop, Nana and Davie Ann

 

Where are reins on this thing?

 
 

men with funnel cake are sexy

 

Mark, Jen and Andrew

 

Cayle, Andon and Jacob

 

too much excitement

 
 

More big news:  Davie now has TWO teeth!  She doesn’t like to show them, but they are so tiny and cute!  I found the Leap Frog activity table on Craigslist for $15.  It’s hardly used and has all the parts.

I can feel my teeth with my tongue!

 

I just found treats in my table! Woot!

 

teeth like to chew on nipples

 

The next week was Thanksgiving.  Chris and JoAnn hosted it at their house, and JoAnn and her mom made the turkey.  Everything was so good!  JoAnn’s brother, her sister and her boyfriend all came, too.  We took Davie’s walker, and Cayle ended up pushing her in a circle around and around the living room.  She had such a blast!  She screamed and hollered for more! 
 

The next day Troy had to work, but Mom, Dad, Andon and I put up the tree.  (Cayle was addicted to a video game and we couldn’t drag him away.)  Davie was glad to help, too.  She mostly tore up packing paper as we unpacked decorations and ornaments.  We got the tree up, made a “Winter Wonderland” on top of the entertainment center, and a nativity on the fireplace.  I still need to hang the stockings (gotta get some of those stick-on hooks).

Yay! Decorations to eat!

 

Davie-proof ... so far ...

 
I got the fence hardly used on Craigslist for $40!
 

Our "Winter Wonderland"

 

Nativity on the mantle

 

Sunday was actually cool out!  We broke in Davie’s new coat.  It’s an adorable red coat with ruffles and a matching red cap with a bow on the side.  I got her all bundled up and she just sat there for a few long seconds just trying to figure out if she could still move!

..can't ... feel ... arms ...

 

I can't bend my elbows. Would you wipe my chin?

 
Poor baby girl had a rough holiday weekend. First,  Mom had set her on the table right in front of her and was feeding Davie cottage cheese.  Davie got so excited (the girl loves her some cottage cheese) that she jumped and slid right off the table!  Mom caught her mid-air but it scared the crap out of all of us!  None of us got much sleep that night.  We all watched her all night long.  She didn’t have a single bump or bruise the next day, thank goodness!  Troy was watching her the next afternoon, and caught her with a leaf in her mouth!  It must’ve come in on someone’s shoe.  He got the leaf out of her mouth and set it on the coffee table.  Davie went for it and ended up hitting her chin on the table!  She has a little red bump under her chin, and she cut her tongue on her teeth.  It was so heartbreaking to see a little trickle of blood come out of her mouth!  The next morning we were getting ready for church, and Davie was playing on the floor of the bathroom.  I thought she was behind me and I reached out to shut the door to the closet, but she was actually trying to get into the closet and I bonked her head with the door!  Arrrgh, it was so horrible.  Again, it didn’t leave a mark, but I feel like such a bad parent!  Poor baby girl might not survive us all.
 
Then I was folding laundry and looked up to see this:
 

it seems safer in here ...

 
I swear, she got in there by herself!  She probably feels safer in there!
 
Next up, we got a LOTTA Christmas shopping to do!  Baby girl is ready for some walking/riding toys and some new shoes. :)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 14:34:33

    Glad to see an update. I’m sorry for what you’re going through, and understand the need to grieve and take a break.

    It sounds like you had a wonderful last few weeks with the Ren Fest and Thanksgiving :) And my goodness, Davie is so adorable. Love the photos!

    Reply

    • Anonymous
      Dec 01, 2011 @ 22:56:59

      She IS a cutie! :) It’s been a good two weeks. Good to get some perspective. Good to hear from you, too!

      Reply

  2. Another Dreamer
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 09:18:09

    Okay, you haven’t posted in awhile… hope you’re just super busy with the holidays. I’ve been thinking of you, please update your blog when you can!

    Reply

  3. Sweet Georgia
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 15:19:59

    Hi, just catching up. It’s been a while since I’ve been online too! Hope everything is still going well. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

